Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
289 Reviews
1234.94815
Previous | 1 2 3...28 |
Write A Review
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

I can't say enough about Global Links. This organization not only saves lives but also the environment while doing so. They carefully assess the medical needs of people in developing or disadvantaged countries or disaster areas and then work closely with local hospitals, nursing homes and other medical facilities to gather excess medical supplies that would otherwise end up in our landfill. Through the help of volunteers like me, they sort, separate, pack, and ship the appropriate materials where they are needed the most, such as small clinics or areas hit by natural disasters.

One of the things I love the most about Global Links is that they post pictures, videos and newsletters that show the people we help using the materials we've sent them. The things we take for granted here, such as an IV pole or crutches, can mean the difference between disability or self-sufficiency, life or death. We can see the benefit of our work and we know that every little thing we do and item we send is truly making a positive impact on people.

In my eyes, there is no more worthy cause or feeling of gratification than that of volunteering with this amazing organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put a Global Links facility and program in place in every major city across the US and get more people involved in this movement!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am in Boston for second time in my professional career.

I am at the Children Hospital Boston receiving training with in the department of pediatric neurosurgery.

I live in a developing country also it isn’t easy for me to travel over here. I am a Cuban
physician.

Thanks to the wonderful work of Global Links and their help to developing countries everything is possible and when I travel back my patients will receive a medical care of the first level, Global links became dream true.

Dr. Julio S Brossard Alejo.
Head and Principal Professor
Neurosurgery
Hospital Infantil Sur
Santiago de Cuba

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The BIG FIX Uganda is an organization which has been fortunate to receive help from Global Links. Working in one of the most impoverished areas in the world, we provide free veterinary services (including spay/neuter) and animal welfare education in Northern Uganda's remote villages. It might be difficult to believe that an expired suture can make so much difference but to us, that one suture is the means to allow us to sterilize 3 male dogs or to stitch up a serious wound or to remove an infected eye. Sutures are difficult and costly to obtain in Uganda and if we did not receive suture donations from Global Links, we would have great difficulty serving the hundreds of animals we help every month. We are extraordinarily grateful to Global Links for their kindness, responsiveness to our communications and for working with us as valued partners as we seek to relieve the suffering of animals in Uganda.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

When my wife passed away last year, I looked for a non-profit that could put to good use the medical equipment and supplies that we had acquired for her care. Global Links turned out to be perfect for this. I am very impressed by their mission and it meant a lot to me that they were able to reuse this equipment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 16, 2009

Global Links is the most successful nonprofit organization around. With a small staff and very low overhead, they recycle medical supplies from hospitals (which would have thrown these supplies out) ... more

October 17, 2013

I've been volunteering at Global Links for almost ten years, after going to volunteer with a group of friends. I now go twice a week, and help sort donated supplies and organize and pack outgoing boxes of supplies. It is very rewarding because you know you are both helping people in the developing world--and in a real way, with deliveries to actual small hospitals visited by Global Links staff. Nothing sits on a dock where it is stolen. Also, you are helping to keep medical supplies out of Pittsburgh landfills, where all these supplies were going to end up until Global Links founder Kathleen Hower thought of this ingenious idea. I have met wonderful people volunteering there, and have formed friendships with other volunteers who go when I do and staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

A year ago I would have said try to help them move into a larger space where they could combine warehouse, offices, supply packing storage, and volunteer working spaces. But now Global Links has achieved that in their new Green Tree headquarters. Good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2009

Global Links is the most successful nonprofit organization around. With a small staff and very low overhead, they recycle medical supplies from hospitals (which would have thrown these supplies out) and send them to specific partner hospitals (mostly in Latin America) which are desperate for basic medical equipment, including beds and sheets! Directed by talented staff members, volunteers do all the sorting and repacking of supplies for shipment, each day and many evenings.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

working with the other volunteers and the staff members, and helping keep tons of medical supplies out of landfills and helping to save lives.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I've been volunteering at Global Links for a while now, and I can't believe the enormous amount of medical supplies Global Links processes.

It's my very favorite place to volunteer: the joyfulness of the people who work there, the gratitude and sweetness of everyone who works there, the
efficient way things are organized, and fun that it all turns out to be.

Amazing!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing. not change a thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Wonderful homegrown nonprofit which combines hands-on service work with important donations of medical supplies to health programs in developing countries

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide even more opportunities for hands-on service work for high school age students which accommodates their schedules.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Global Links is AWESOME!!!! They worked very closely with us in trying to get a dental clinic set up and stocked in Honduras. They even had a local dentist come in and help us decide what we needed since we are medical, not dental. They are a wonderful source of supplies and assistance for our medical work in Honduras!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it grow even bigger! So wonderful to see medical equipment recycled to others who desperately need it instead of filling the dumps & landfills!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

I initially volunteered with Global Links for its healthcare efforts in developing countries. Since then I have found a whole other side to its mission; i.e. environmental stewardship/sustainability. I have also discovered that the staff are essentially committed to this mission (Sharing Surplus/Saving Lives) and live it. The result? A very well run organization that keeps trying to make itself better (less wasteful, more efficient, more collaborative to name just a few traits). Having spent the better part of my 40 year career in either non-profits or government, I recognize the extreme difficulty of paying attention to and developing such things as governance (structure, risk-management, legality, etc) while also pursing a mission. Global Links does this extremely well from what I can see. Example: Over the last year or so, they have consolidated three facilities into one new location -- with their own staff and volunteers -- while also maintaining the work of the organization. They have their values , as well as their heads and hearts and efforts, in the right place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the donor and volunteer base. They are attempting to fill a vast void with very meager resources.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 13, 2013

more

September 13, 2013

I was required to do volunteer hours after an alternative spring break trip with my university. We had initially visited global links for educational purposes, but then I decided I wanted to volunteer there as well. I had a fantastic experience learning about the amazing projects Global Links did across the world and talking with other volunteers. I felt so comfortable around all the volunteers and enjoyed talking and working together. I recommend this to all college students who need volunteer hours because it doesn't even feel like work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

change the hours for volunteering, they do not always work with my schedule.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...28 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Make a practical contribution to our operations while at the same time learning about global health inequities; pack boxes of needed medical supplies; clean and prep hospital furnishings for an upcoming shipment; clean and match crutches to send to Haiti; lead a collection for needed supplies at their workplace, school, or place of worship; attend a tour of our facilities to learn more about our mission and operations. Volunteer