Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.866675
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

GICS is meeting a critical and underserved need addressing the conservation needs of island endemic or geographically isolated species. A solution based organization, Global Insular Conservation Society has demonstrated commitment to doing a project well and committing to the follow up needed to ensure that the conservation outcomes are sustainable for years to come. The organization is growing at a sustainable rate so as to be able to build a successful suite of conservation programs. I believe the organization will make great inroads in biodiversity preservation and will continue to partner sound science with meaningful actions in all of the projects it takes on.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have long term financing in place (a challenge most programs have!) so that Director, Edgar Fortune, can move from performing his role in a volunteer capacity to full time employment and to bring on a small number of staff to coordinate with the science and conservation partners GICS engages with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Frank J. Bridges II
October 29, 2013

October 23, 2013
GreatNonprofits
I’m writing this letter in support of the great things that Global Insular Conservation Society is doing to protect the Sandy Cay Iguana. GICS has taken on a task that not many people know about or even care,
All the attention goes to the large Apex animals such as the Lions, Elephants and Black Rhino. GICS’s approach to this issue by using education and hands on work to show how evasive species like the Australian Pine Tree can have a big and nonreversible effect to a eco system and will effect the native wildlife like the Sandy Cay Iguana.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

There are a lot of nonprofits in the world, but very few who hold onto their primary focus of making change. So many get side-tracked by getting funds to allow them to create a large staff, then ensuring they keep the staff. The overhead starts creeping up (30%, 50%, even more) so that donor funds are primarily paying for the running of an office. GICS is an exception. GICS is driven by motivated scientists who care deeply about preserving ecosystems and endangered species. They don't want to create an empire. They want to preserve ecosystems. And they hold on to their primary purpose, even though they currently receive little funding and rely on volunteers. And they are making change. They are increasing awareness among minority and at-risk youth in the Pacific Northwest (a group that is usually ignored by environmental efforts) in addition to actually restoring balance in several islands. GICS is an organization with heart. They are making a difference and deserve support and recognition.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

provide resources to ensure that the direct efforts are adequately funded and that the model is expanded. I am not talking about creating a large infrastructure (that is not their goal). But this group deserves support that will allow them to continue their efforts and to expand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

I am pleased to serve as a board member of The Global Insular Conservation Society. Edgar Fortune has used his experience, imagination and passion to (1) identify invasive organisms in insular environments, (2) initiate appropriate remedial actions, and (3) publish his initial finding in a review format. I look forward to continued activity as this organization grows and expands under his leadership.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Initiate annual meetings to keep board members updated and cross reactive towards more effectively applying their collective expertise.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I began volunteer work under Edgar Fortune at the Woodland Park Zoo in August of 2007. Edgar's commitment and passion to conservation inspired in me a new way of looking at the earth and wildlife. Edgar and his team at Global Insular Conservation Society are great ambassadors of promoting the preservation of fragile island ecosystems throughout the world. I am confident people will be eager to support GICS projects after learning more about their ideals and vision for the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

The Global Insular Conservation Society is a non profit organization founded by Edgar Fortune in hopes of preserving endangered species and there habitat. His focus is not only in North America but Global. I think this is a wonderful non profit organization, they not only work to help save and preserve species and habitats but, they also work with the minority youth around the world by educating them on the seriousness of conservation. They also work together with the local Biologists and Zoologist. This is a very important organization trying to make a difference. For further information go to www.islandecosystems.org




Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get more followers and more Donors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

I was asked a few years ago to donate my time as a lawyer to help Global Insular Conservation Society with its initial organizational efforts and establishment as a 501(c)(3) non-profit corporation. It has been a rewarding experience to be associated with a such a dedicated group of people involved in such important work. If you've read Song Of The Dodo, you know the importance of island biodiversity. GISC has taken on and is successfully confronting threats to native island species in the Western Hemisphere. It's a great organization, and deserves support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

The Global Insular Conservation Society (http://www.islandecosystems.org/home) is a small, but highly effective, 501 c(3), nonprofit organization focused on fragile island ecosystems and their native flora and fauna. GICS staff and partners use sound science as a basis for the conservation of threatened and endangered indigenous species and their habitats. GICS has a major focus in the Caribbean, but has projects in other areas of the world as well. I was recently appointed to the Board of this organization, which also includes world-famous wildlife photographer Art Wolfe and founder Edgar Fortune. The organization has organized several on-the-ground projects and has been highly effective given its small size and limited resources. Our ultimate goal is to be able to expand the important work GICS is doing to ensure a future for unique island ecosystems, flora, fauna and cultures.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

In order to reach its full potential, GICS needs additional human and financial resources. It has developed some excellent governmental and non-governmental agency and organizational partnerships, which could make it very effective in carrying out important and much-needed conservation work on islands. We are currently working on a long-range strategic plan, which will outline the mission, specific goals, and needs of the organization for the next five years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

My name is Simon Ward and I represent Biri Initiative Org., a non-profit striving to restore coral reefs, promote sustainable fishing methods, and introduce alternative forms of employment to fishing on the tiny island of Biri, Northern Samar, the Philippines.

GICS heard about our work,
took the initiative, and made an offer to help us in any way it can. In next to no time, GICS began promoting us via its website. Thank you very much, GICS! We small NGOs need to work together, and since our goals overlap, I hope this is the start of a long and fruitful relationship. Certainly the other reviews here, from people with greater experience of GCIS, fill me with optimism!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

My name is Maurice Ward and I have had the privilege of experiencing GICS presentations for over the past 5 years. It has been a pleasure having Edgar provide information and knowlege to myself and the hundreds of youth that I serve in the community. This is a unique program that has adapted to todays youth culture and Edgar has made environmental protection a beatiful concept for youth and the community. Thanks for all you do for the world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not make changes other than increase it's world footprint to better protect our ecosystem.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers