Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.944445
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Global Hydranencephaly Foundation continues to give hope to thousands of family members of individuals with hydranencephaly everyday. GHF provides inspiration and countless resources for those who previously felt only desperation and despair. No longer do families need to feel alone and without answers. GHF has truly touched THOUSANDS. Words cannot express the gratitude GHF deserves. You truly are one of a kind and bring new meaning to words like “life”, “help”, and “support”. Thank you.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

We adopted our son, Logan, as a newborn with hydranencephaly. We had never heard of it before, but because Logan is now 14 years old, we have lots of experience. We love being able to learn from others as well as share our experiences with new parents who have recently heard of hydranencephaly for the first time. I can't begin to express how much it means to us to be able to stay in touch with other families who are dealing with the same problems and prognosis that we deal with every day. It's good to know that you're not alone!
October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My nephew, Jayden, was diagnosed with Hydranencephaly and Macroencephaly shortly after birth in Harare, Zimbabwe. For anyone, this is a difficult diagnosis to understand and accept and we were advised by his doctors to "just ignore him till he dies as he will be nothing more than an irritant in our lives"!!! This is a baby! A life, that we were blessed to be given to look after. We had little help with knowledge and no support until we came across the Global Hydranencephaly Foundation. They have reached across the ocean between us to support us in every way possible and given us hope and sent gifts for Jaydens special needs whenever possible. For example, Jayden will be asleep and suddenly jerk awake unless we physically held him close whenever he slept, and th Global Hydranencephaly Foundation suggested we get a weighted blanket for him... wait, a what? We had never heard of such an item and things like this are not available in Zimbabwe. After we requested a pattern to make one for Jayden, the GHF sent us a weighted blanket through the post, which has really helped. We have received a few other items from them as well. Please support this amazing non-profit so they can assist families WORLDWIDE just like us.
October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2013

When our adopted daughter was 7 weeks old we got the diagnosis of Hydranencephaly! The Dr wrote her off his book immediately!!! All he said to us, while looking at our healthy 7 week old, was that s... more

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I want to thank Global Hydranencephaly Foundation for all of their dedicated and hard working people. They truly have been a God-sent for so many families struggling to find a positive side to this very grim diagnosis. My personal favorite is all the love and support GHF shows for it's "children" and families!
Thank you for all of your hard work, dedication and love that you show daily!
April 5, 2013

When our adopted daughter was 7 weeks old we got the diagnosis of Hydranencephaly! The Dr wrote her off his book immediately!!! All he said to us, while looking at our healthy 7 week old, was that she would not live to see 1 year of age! She would never show emotion, she would never recogize any one she is ever around!! She smiles so much now, laughs out loud, and KNOWS who we are!!! We were told by friends NOT to look up Hydranencephaly on line!! All the information was horrible, very grim, very much not a friendly tone at all!!
Then we found our FAMILY from the Global Hydranencephaly Foundation, who are always so supportive, who have so much information, who offer advice whenever anyone asks for advice. They share the good, the bad and there is always someone who has been through what you are going through!! This wonderful group is our family, and they go through the same things we do! We have a much better understanding ofhow to care for our special needs, hydran daughter! We learned alot from them about the type of equipment we would need for her, in the future! It is so wonderful to ask questions and know we have an answer coming soon!
To be totally honest, we never make a decision on anything concerning Serena, until we get advice or confirm it with our Hydran Family first!! They are awesome and have been our backbone for the last 3 1/2 years! :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful


When I found global hydranencephaly foundation, my son was already a teenager, but the relief of finding other people in the same situation as us was great, the support you find, especially when he is ill, is great, and you can normally speak to someone who has been in the situation you are
going through at the time, you can be totally open and frank, and know someone will reply without judging you. I am so thankful to everyone at GHF and really love hearing how their kids are keeping, and how they are coping, though it us very hard when a child gains their wings, especially when you have been through it yourself. The good thing about it being world wide is no matter what time day or night there is always someone their to help, comfort, advise when you are feeling overwhelmed, or just need to chat and boast about something your child has done, and everyone rejoices with you!! I dont know how I managed with my sons the years before I discovered GHF
October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am honored to be able to Volunteer for the Founder to help her vision to help other reach out and spread the word about Hydranencephaly.
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When our daughter, Charlie, was diagnosed with Hydranencephaly we were given no hope whatsoever. No hope for her to live, no hope for her to have any quality of life, no hope that she would be aware of her surroundings or even to know who we are as her parents. We were discouraged from seeking out information online as her doctors were afraid it would lead to "false hope". Eventually, I began searching and found GHF. It was one of the best decisions I have ever made. We were instantly welcomed and accepted as family. Any questions, fears, concerns or triumphs we had were answered with enthusiasm. Charlie is now four years old and remains a fighter, she has scared us so many times, but with the help of other families and their input I feel confident that any situation that may arise can be conquered with the knowledge and insight of our amazing Hydranencephaly family. The support is unlike any other, we are so blessed to have such an amazing group of people in our lives. Hydranencephaly is a devastating diagnosis, but with a foundation such as GHF, it is a miraculous experience that few people have the privelege of understanding. We love our "bee" families so wholeheartedly, that each one has become an integral part of our lives.
October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My angel Brayden was and still is the brightest star in my life. He taught me to always slow down and take one day at a time. My grandson is my superman and his mommy is his robin, Alicia will be there for all, to help and by the families.

October 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 29, 2012

Global Hydranencephaly Foundation has given me the support I need to help me take better care of my child with hydranencephaly. Whether its seeking medical advice or venting about situations they are ... more

October 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am proud to have a 14 year old daughter with Hydranencephaly and we love the support we get from other families and also being able to share what we have learned with other families with children with Hydranencephaly. We are so thankful for this foundation. They are a great resource to have and we wouldn't be this far without their support.
September 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Global Hydranencephaly Foundation has given me the support I need to help me take better care of my child with hydranencephaly. Whether its seeking medical advice or venting about situations they are always there for me. It is nice to be able to return the favor when someone else is in need as well. We are like one big family looking out for each other and sharing the same journey. No matter what stage we are in in the hydranencephaly diagnosis I can always depend on Global Hydranencephaly Foundation to be there for our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found this site shortly after having a second child diagnosed with hydranencephaly. Unfortunately our sweet daughter Bristol earned her wings when she was twelve days old. Her sister, Bailey, was fourteen and also had hydran. I had never met anyone that had a child similar to my daughter. I was amazed as I read what other mothers wrote about their children and how similar they were to Bailey. I finally felt like I had someone to relate to. I love how encouraging everyone is and how much they love and are blessed by these children. Unfortunately, our princess Bailey passed away three weeks before her fifteenth birthday. It has only been four months and I am just barely surviving without her being here. I do not know what I would do without the love and encouragement from GHF. It puts a smile on my face to see Bristol and Bailey's hydran brother and sisters loving life and smiling. I especially love the giggles.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help create/design informational flyers; contact families via telephone to address concerns/gather information if in need of patient advocacy; network families to local resource connections; seek out available grants to support our efforts; build YouTube Volunteer