Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.870975
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Global Health Action (GHA) was founded over 40 years ago by two Atlanta visionaries, Virginia Proctor and Ada Fort. Their mission to improve the health and well-being of individual communities in under-served areas continues to be accomplished through community-based health programs and livelihood opportunities to this day.

A brief look at the positive impact and accomplishments of GHA follows:

Thousands of GHA graduates in 97 countries are addressing the most pressing health care needs in their communities and nations!

In Haiti, GHA has trained over 1200 Community Health Workers and more than 4000 goat farmers. (See more on the Goat Project at globalhealthaction.org. Truly it is a unique program focusing on livelihood opportunities. )

In China, more than 600 Chinese national and provincial health leaders have been trained in management and leadership!

More than 900 health leaders from around the world are graduates of GHA's international health management courses held in Atlanta, Georgia!

Twenty countries have been the recipients of customized in-country training and workshops.

300 program directors and managers from 32 African countries have completed the GHA HIV/AIDs course!


This is just the tip of the iceberg of the ongoing programs and accomplishments, of which there are many. The budget constraints are immense. The success of this organization is due to a small, unusually dedicated staff of individuals who live the mission of GHA, and Robin Davis, RN, MN who has been CEO almost since GHA's inception.


As a health expert, donor, and member of the Board of Directors of GHA, I am honored and humbled to be part of this phenomenal organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

educate any and all persons/organizations as to the mission and accomplishments of GHA. The budget would be unlimited (wishful thinking). Tap individuals/organizations to donate as much money as is feasible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I first became aware of Global Health Action in 2005 at a United Methodist Women's retreat in North GA. I am pleased to now serve on the Board of Directors for GHA. Imagine the USA in the 1800's no available healthcare, or immunzations, or even assitance with birthing. This organization trains Community Health Workers to serve in their villages, providing immnuzations, education, and birthing assistance to remote villiagers who other wise would not have care. GHA also sponcers the Goat project were we give a pregnant goat to a family, teach them how to care for it, and how to bread etc. so that they will have a source of income, and sustance. I am very proud of the Board and Staff of GHA for all they conitune to do for those in Haiti

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to increase the amount of donations coming into this orgainization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I got involved with Global Health Action because my father was one of their first supporters 40 years ago, and he always said they did more good with less money than any organization he knew. When I was asked to be on the board, I immediately said yes, and have found out that his assessment is even more true today. GHA trains primary health care workers in Haiti, family planning workers in China, and those who work with the millions of Left Behind Children in China. Their mission has evolved as the needs of the world have changed, but there is always a need for the hands on approach GHA has promoted.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get the word out to many more supporters and broaden the work we are able to do in Haiti.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 7, 2013

Global Health Action is a remarkable organization that has a long history of work in and for many countries around the world. A long-time focus has been the Haiti with China a more recent, but very i... more

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Global Health Action is a remarkable organization that continues to contribute to health lives and communities around the world. Its flagship program, which has been active in Haiti for decades, is a prime example of the patient and persevering, but also innovative, work that GHA does. GHA has been in Haiti through thick and thin over the years. Importantly, GHA understands the importance of building local capacity, and it has done this over the years at the level of the community and community health workers, as well as that of the health system in Haiti. During the recent earthquake that devastated so much of Haiti, including the region where GHA is working, this organization helped to both relieve the immediate suffering, but also has worked to build anew for the long-term. Its innovative goat husbandry program has made a difference to thousands of Haitians and their families over the years. On the other side of the world, its efforts with health education for women and improving the health and lives of the "left-behind children" are remarkable as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to work hard to obtain more support fro this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

Global Health Action is a remarkable organization that has a long history of work in and for many countries around the world. A long-time focus has been the Haiti with China a more recent, but very important addition. GHA is committed to building local capacity of health professionals and to helping them develop more affective approaches to promoting health and preventing disease. GHA also works to develop the capacity of community residents to provide more for their families. A notable example of this is the goat project in Haiti. GHA works quietly and effectively to make real change that is sustainable and transformational.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a Board member for approximately seven years (including services at the Board Chair, but even before that, over many years (as INSA and then GHA, I have watched the work of GHA closely and even directly participated in some its teaching and other humanitarian efforts. Founded by two very special nurses some 40 years ago, GHA's great strength is in building capacity among health professionals and has done this with great success over that period. Success can be measured in the establishment of an independent parallel effort in India (INSA-India), as well as highly effective, on-the-ground programs in both Haiti and China. The individuals from all over the world who have participated in GHA's programs represent a lasting and transformative legacy, the impact of which is difficult to measure fully. It is, however, huge. Building capacity in health professionals and helping them to think innovatively is not glamorous work in the public eye, but it is the essential work that must be done if measurable, sustainable progress is to be made. GHA, and its committed staff (including Robin Davis as its Executive Director), GHA's Board, and partners around the world, are examples of just what the world needs if global health is to be measurably improved. I give GHA the highest possible rating. There is much more work that needs to be done, but GHA is committed to making a difference. There could nothing better than to help make it grow. It uses resources incredibly well! It is a privilege to be part of, and contribute to, the GHA effort

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

Global Health Action betters the lives of individuals and families around the world through community health initiatives and a "train the trainer" approach. To combat malnutrition in children in rural areas of Haiti, GHA has provided more than 4,000 pregnant goats to families thus enabling them to become self-sufficient. In fact, after decades of work in Haiti, GHA had the staff and infrastructure in place through its community health workers to provide immediate assistance in the aftermath of the 2010 earthquake in Haiti. On the other side of the globe, GHA is educating the children left behind by migrant workers in China's rural provinces about those health issues impacting young people worldwide. Over the past 40 years this organization has leveraged its dedicated staff and limited resources with partners around the world to change the lives of thousands of poor and underserved, especially women and children.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Global Health Action continues to fulfill its mission through training community health care workers in areas of the world that are under served. As a board member I marvel at the efficiency and the fiscal responsibility with which the organization operates. The organization helps people to improve the health and living standards through education and training. The goat project gives families hope and sustenance; the women's health initiatives in China are changing and improving vast numbers of lives. For the board members Global Health Action provides informative and productive meetings.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012

more

October 12, 2012

I have worked with several nonprofits, including those with local impact as well as serving broader geographic areas. My experience with GHA has impressed me far more than any other organization with which I have worked. The organization has only one goal - improve the lives of the people it serves, without any political agenda. It accomplishes more than any organization I have ever observed with limited resources. It's employees and volunteers are dedicated and committed to service and it's impact in Haiti has need phenomenal. It s having a similar impact in rural China.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012

more

October 12, 2012

As a new Board member, i came to know GHA in 2006. What GHA has done is amazing considering the scope of its involvement on Health issues. I actaully attended several of its programs and they are top notch!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers