Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.870975
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

GHA has had a sustained service commitment (30+ years) improving lives of people in the rural and mountainous areas of Haiti through community health education. This past April I had the incredible privilege to witness GHA in action in rural Haiti. In contrast to many NGOs operating in Haiti, the entire GHA staff in Haiti is Haitian.

I love GHA's goat project, where Haitian staff run a goat station which includes breeding Haitian goats with hardier goat species and then giving pregnant goats to beneficiaries living in rural, mountainous isolated communities in Haiti. Each impregnated goat provides a sustained impact on improving the lives of the beneficiaries, who are now in a position to sell some of their goats for purposes such as materials for a roof or education for a child. The GHA goat station staff trains community animal health workers, who live in the same communities as the goat recipients and these animal health workers provide assistance and advice in raising goats and if a goat is sick in their community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe collaborate with larger NGOs operating in Haiti to leverage more resources to expand community health and development in Haiti. GHA has a long term relationship, expertise and trust with Haitians that some other NGOS might not have, but the other NGOs might have more funds available.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

As an educator, I find Global Health Action to be a wonderful community partner for our students. They are able to volunteer providing Welcome Receptions for visitors from across the globe, while putting to practice the language skills they are studying, and they learn about countries like Haiti and see first-hand the impact on a family there by purchasing a goat through the Haitian Goat Project. As our school's Community Service Coordinator, I always look for ways for our students not only to volunteer but also to learn about the ways they can make a difference in becoming involved in the needs and concerns of others. That is exactly what GHA does -- by serving the poor and improving the health of communities around the world. Our students truly see that the work they do impacts us all! Stan Moor

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

From my first day volunteering with Global Health Action I have been impressed with the work that they do in Haiti and have done throughout the world. Global Health Action has years of experience in working to improve health and economic development in rural communities throughout Haiti. Their programs are implemented by local Haitians from the communities in which they work. Global Health Action is very focused on vulnerable populations within these communities, and works continuously to improve maternal and child health through programs such as training community health workers and traditional birth attendants as well as women's empowerment initiatives. They also have a very successful goat program that has been in place for over two decades. This program provides families with a starter goat and training in animal care, and many families have capitalized on this to improve their economic status. Global Health Action is a committed organization with knowledgeable employees both in Haiti and in Decatur with a proven record of implementing programs that truly make a difference in people's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My family and I have been involved with Global Health Action for more than 25 years. We remain impressed by the work done. Local folks are involved in all levels of the work. Training of local health workers and a long close association make the work in Haiti very effective.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer, donor and board member. I have traveled 2 times in past 2 years with this group to Haiti. Once with just Robin Davis, director. The second trip in September with 5 others was truly outstanding and rewarding. We met with the staff, went out in field to witness firsthand their commitment and dedication to those they were helping. They have an all Haitian staff. We went to observe at a clinic 2.5 hours from Port a Prince monthly meeting health care workers and mom's and their children. They were there to get shots and or inoculations and to be educated on what else was needed to keep their children healthy. 30-40 mothers and children were there. Even though i spoke no French or Creole we were able to interact with the folks in a positive and fun way. It went on for 4-5 hours.

Another day in another town or village we observed a meeting of birth attendants who walked from as far as 8 hours away to get new supplies, get update or review on their skills. 45-60 birth attendants came. It blew me away how proud they were of who they were , their dedication to providing quality healthcare in their village and what a difference they were making in peoples lives there.

A third day we were in Darbonne to observe training of farmers who wanted to supplement their income by obtaining a pregnant goat from Global Health Action. They were trained for 2 days how to care and raise goats. 15 came from many hours away for the goats.

The staff in all cases does follow ups with all of the farmers to be sure they are caring for goats.

In the other programs they also follow up medical attendants and birth attendants to be sure they continue to educate or reinforce what they have learned. Folks with serious health issues to larger cities to get treatment.

They are very good stewards of monies that are given to them. They have checks and balances that protects against theft or graft or waste. They have been in the business of helping people for 40 years in Haiti with a specific interest in health and education and training of locals. They are involved in China., India as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find new ways to raise funds and to educate others about this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

We went to Haiti this year and was a great experience. The work that Global Health Action is doing in that country is amazing. The goat farm program and the traditional birth attendants training programs are a blessing to the communities. They offer hope and education for a brighter future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

GHA has a long history of service to Haiti, India and other developing countries. I have served on the Program Committee for many years. I have also been involved in reviewing mini-grants for local development projects. Leadership training has been a key activity, and the approach to training has been state of the art. This non-profit - small and compact - does make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

GHA is a great place to learn more about international nonprofits and gain experience working with fantastic program managers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I worked with GHA staff in Democratic Republic of Congo in 2007 to run a training on AIDs prevention for members of the Presbyterian Church. The church members, mostly laity and some pastors, impressed me deeply with their spirit and commitment. I was also impressed with the trust that GHA has earned over the years so that the Church invited them to give this training. GHA has similar networks in many countries, where people know the value of the participatory training method GHA uses with such skill and heart. Right after the earthquake in Haiti, where GHA has long and deep involvement, friends were kept informed of the safety and health of the local staff - not only of the expats who work there. This is another sign to me of GHA's commitment and connection to the people of the countries it works in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers