Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.870975
Write A Review
October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been donors to Global Health Action for many years. I know firsthand of the good work they have accomplished in Haiti through their community health and development programs. The goat program has helped to improve the lives of rural Haitians by providing a sustainable source of income.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

GHA has had a sustained service commitment (30+ years) improving lives of people in the rural and mountainous areas of Haiti through community health education. This past April I had the incredible privilege to witness GHA in action in rural Haiti. In contrast to many NGOs operating in Haiti, the entire GHA staff in Haiti is Haitian.

I love GHA's goat project, where Haitian staff run a goat station which includes breeding Haitian goats with hardier goat species and then giving pregnant goats to beneficiaries living in rural, mountainous isolated communities in Haiti. Each impregnated goat provides a sustained impact on improving the lives of the beneficiaries, who are now in a position to sell some of their goats for purposes such as materials for a roof or education for a child. The GHA goat station staff trains community animal health workers, who live in the same communities as the goat recipients and these animal health workers provide assistance and advice in raising goats and if a goat is sick in their community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe collaborate with larger NGOs operating in Haiti to leverage more resources to expand community health and development in Haiti. GHA has a long term relationship, expertise and trust with Haitians that some other NGOS might not have, but the other NGOs might have more funds available.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Global Health Action (GHA) was founded over 40 years ago by two Atlanta visionaries, Virginia Proctor and Ada Fort. Their mission to improve the health and well-being of individual communities in under-served areas continues to be accomplished through community-based health programs and livelihood opportunities to this day.

A brief look at the positive impact and accomplishments of GHA follows:

Thousands of GHA graduates in 97 countries are addressing the most pressing health care needs in their communities and nations!

In Haiti, GHA has trained over 1200 Community Health Workers and more than 4000 goat farmers. (See more on the Goat Project at globalhealthaction.org. Truly it is a unique program focusing on livelihood opportunities. )

In China, more than 600 Chinese national and provincial health leaders have been trained in management and leadership!

More than 900 health leaders from around the world are graduates of GHA's international health management courses held in Atlanta, Georgia!

Twenty countries have been the recipients of customized in-country training and workshops.

300 program directors and managers from 32 African countries have completed the GHA HIV/AIDs course!


This is just the tip of the iceberg of the ongoing programs and accomplishments, of which there are many. The budget constraints are immense. The success of this organization is due to a small, unusually dedicated staff of individuals who live the mission of GHA, and Robin Davis, RN, MN who has been CEO almost since GHA's inception.


As a health expert, donor, and member of the Board of Directors of GHA, I am honored and humbled to be part of this phenomenal organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

educate any and all persons/organizations as to the mission and accomplishments of GHA. The budget would be unlimited (wishful thinking). Tap individuals/organizations to donate as much money as is feasible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I first became aware of Global Health Action in 2005 at a United Methodist Women's retreat in North GA. I am pleased to now serve on the Board of Directors for GHA. Imagine the USA in the 1800's no available healthcare, or immunzations, or even assitance with birthing. This organization trains Community Health Workers to serve in their villages, providing immnuzations, education, and birthing assistance to remote villiagers who other wise would not have care. GHA also sponcers the Goat project were we give a pregnant goat to a family, teach them how to care for it, and how to bread etc. so that they will have a source of income, and sustance. I am very proud of the Board and Staff of GHA for all they conitune to do for those in Haiti

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to increase the amount of donations coming into this orgainization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

As an educator, I find Global Health Action to be a wonderful community partner for our students. They are able to volunteer providing Welcome Receptions for visitors from across the globe, while putting to practice the language skills they are studying, and they learn about countries like Haiti and see first-hand the impact on a family there by purchasing a goat through the Haitian Goat Project. As our school's Community Service Coordinator, I always look for ways for our students not only to volunteer but also to learn about the ways they can make a difference in becoming involved in the needs and concerns of others. That is exactly what GHA does -- by serving the poor and improving the health of communities around the world. Our students truly see that the work they do impacts us all! Stan Moor

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

From my first day volunteering with Global Health Action I have been impressed with the work that they do in Haiti and have done throughout the world. Global Health Action has years of experience in working to improve health and economic development in rural communities throughout Haiti. Their programs are implemented by local Haitians from the communities in which they work. Global Health Action is very focused on vulnerable populations within these communities, and works continuously to improve maternal and child health through programs such as training community health workers and traditional birth attendants as well as women's empowerment initiatives. They also have a very successful goat program that has been in place for over two decades. This program provides families with a starter goat and training in animal care, and many families have capitalized on this to improve their economic status. Global Health Action is a committed organization with knowledgeable employees both in Haiti and in Decatur with a proven record of implementing programs that truly make a difference in people's lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In September 2013 I led a team that traveled to Haiti to see the work of Global Health Action. We saw a vaccination clinic, traditional birth attendant training, medical clinic, goat farmer training and goat distribution. I must commend GHA for all the years they have invested in the people of Haiti – over 30. Haiti is not an easy place to visit or serve and GHA has had a continuous presence there. After the earthquake of 2010, GHA played a leadership role in getting aid where it was needed. With an all Haitian staff GHA is known as an agency that truly cares about the health and welfare of the Haitian people. I consider GHA an excellent steward of donations, accounting for all funds and very willing to share all financial records. I wish more people had an opportunity to see the work of GHA first hand as we did.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My family and I have been involved with Global Health Action for more than 25 years. We remain impressed by the work done. Local folks are involved in all levels of the work. Training of local health workers and a long close association make the work in Haiti very effective.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer, donor and board member. I have traveled 2 times in past 2 years with this group to Haiti. Once with just Robin Davis, director. The second trip in September with 5 others was truly outstanding and rewarding. We met with the staff, went out in field to witness firsthand their commitment and dedication to those they were helping. They have an all Haitian staff. We went to observe at a clinic 2.5 hours from Port a Prince monthly meeting health care workers and mom's and their children. They were there to get shots and or inoculations and to be educated on what else was needed to keep their children healthy. 30-40 mothers and children were there. Even though i spoke no French or Creole we were able to interact with the folks in a positive and fun way. It went on for 4-5 hours.

Another day in another town or village we observed a meeting of birth attendants who walked from as far as 8 hours away to get new supplies, get update or review on their skills. 45-60 birth attendants came. It blew me away how proud they were of who they were , their dedication to providing quality healthcare in their village and what a difference they were making in peoples lives there.

A third day we were in Darbonne to observe training of farmers who wanted to supplement their income by obtaining a pregnant goat from Global Health Action. They were trained for 2 days how to care and raise goats. 15 came from many hours away for the goats.

The staff in all cases does follow ups with all of the farmers to be sure they are caring for goats.

In the other programs they also follow up medical attendants and birth attendants to be sure they continue to educate or reinforce what they have learned. Folks with serious health issues to larger cities to get treatment.

They are very good stewards of monies that are given to them. They have checks and balances that protects against theft or graft or waste. They have been in the business of helping people for 40 years in Haiti with a specific interest in health and education and training of locals. They are involved in China., India as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find new ways to raise funds and to educate others about this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

We went to Haiti this year and was a great experience. The work that Global Health Action is doing in that country is amazing. The goat farm program and the traditional birth attendants training programs are a blessing to the communities. They offer hope and education for a brighter future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers