Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.871795
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 4, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 26, 2013

My second summer with GEEO was just as wonderful as the first! I traveled through Morocco, Portugal and Spain with two great groups of teachers and knowledgeable guides. The itineraries were packed wi... more

September 4, 2014

I just spent my 3rd summer in a row traveling with GEEO--for a total of 7 trips. Summer 2014, I went to Thailand, Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia. It was the best trip I have ever taken! The trips were well-planned and allowed me to get to know more about the culture and meet the people of the places I visited. The experiences I had with the kids in Laos is something I will never forget. Traveling with other teachers increases the learning experience. I made many new friends who I know will be life-long friends. GEEO is definitely the way to go! It will cause you to fall in love with travel! I can't wait for my next GEEO trips next summer!
August 26, 2013

My second summer with GEEO was just as wonderful as the first! I traveled through Morocco, Portugal and Spain with two great groups of teachers and knowledgeable guides. The itineraries were packed with adventure and meaningful local experiences, while still leaving time for us to explore on our own. GEEO provides global learning experiences for teachers so that they in turn, can bring those experiences to life in the classroom for their students.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2012

I had a great summer with GEEO in Russia, Mongolia and China! Jessie made sure we were well informed and prepared for the trip, booking and planning was easy with the information provided. The guides were wonderful and the itineraries were well planned. Our experiences covered all bases--tourist, local, adventure and time to explore on our own. Being a single traveler, I still felt comfortable and welcome with the groups. As teachers, we always find a common thread. Looking forward to traveling with GEEO again next summer!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I went to Greece through GEEO. It was an amazing experience and I would do it again in a heartbeat. I met some amazing teachers and we got along very well. Our leader was knowledgable, funny and strived to give us the best experience possible. I would love to travel with GEEO in the future. I would highly recommend GEEO to teachers that want to have and share these experiences with their students.
September 3, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 22, 2013

There is no better way for an educator to see the world. I've taken four different trips with GEEO. The program is designed to give you a lot of freedom to either participate in group activities or ... more

September 3, 2014

I have done five GEEO trips. Each one was a great experience. Traveling with fellow teachers you get an opportunity to immerse yourself in a foreign culture in a meaningful and thoughtful way that you can bring back into your classroom. It has made me a better teacher.
August 22, 2013

There is no better way for an educator to see the world. I've taken four different trips with GEEO. The program is designed to give you a lot of freedom to either participate in group activities or venture off on your own. They also do a pretty good job avoiding touristy hotels by using hotels that are locally run. This helps you get a better feel for the local culture and probably helps keep the costs down a bit. Each of the tour leaders I've had have had very different personalities but they have all been very friendly and knowledgeable. GEEO is also very sensitive and tuned-in to the needs and interests of their travelers. They always send an email following each trip asking for your feedback and on a few occasions the Executive Director has even called me directly to get my thoughts. It's fun; it's affordable and it makes me a better teacher.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If anything, they need to do a better job promoting themselves. More teachers should take advantage of this opportunity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2012

GEEO is a great way to see the world and experience the true flavor of a foreign culture while also catching the major tourist sites. They generally avoid the Americanized hotels; opting for more local accommodations that not only save you money but, gives you an opportunity to interact more closely with the local people in a more authentic way.

I also like the fact that they give you a lot of freedom to plan much of your own time. You may opt to take-in one of their recommended activities or just go off on your own. The tour guides really know their stuff and do a great job of looking after your safety while encouraging you to be adventurous.

GEEO is also very helpul as you prepare for your trip. They recommend good books to read before hand and they setup a facebook event which allows you to get to know your fellow travelers before you actually meet face-to-face. Many of us stay in touch after the trip and even plan future GEEO trips together.

The first time I booked a trip with GEEO, I ended up getting a Fulbright-Hays award to Senegal and I was unable to take the GEEO adventure I had planned to China. Fortunately, I notified them in time and they allowed me to apply my deposit to a later trip. They were very easy to work with. I have been on two of their programs and I have already booked another trip for next summer.

My only complaint is that the summer went too fast. I can't wait for my next GEEO adventure.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I had an amazing experience. I met 7 other teachers in Greece whom I had never met before. We all got along beautifully. We had an extraordinary experience hiking, shopping, eating our way through Greece. At the same time we were learning so much about the history and the current culture it was truly fascinating. The tour guide and Geeo planned everything for us. The travel was made so simple for us. The transfers and tours were all prearranged. The accommodations were great.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I have taken six tours with GEEO and plan to take another next summer. I enjoy traveling with other educators and seeing schools in other countries when possible. The guides have been fantastic and the itineraries full but also with some free time. I also find the prices comparable if not less expensive than what other agencies offer. The fact that the trip counts for staff development allows me to claim the expenses on my federal income tax returns. Try it, you'll like it!
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

Traveling with GEEO was a great opportunity. Super organized and always there to answer questions. I highly recommend.
August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

I've traveled through GEEO the last two summers to Vietnam and India/Nepal. Both times have been excellent. The guides they provide you are top notch and are an encyclopedia of knowledge. We stayed at some great hotels and we got to see some amazing things. GEEO is awesome and I plan on traveling with them in the future.
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

GEEO is an excellent company that works with educators to foster greater global awareness. I have traveled on five GEEO tours and have made memories that will last my lifetime.
August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

This summer, my husband and I traveled to New Zealand with GEEO on our first tour in 27 years. We have traveled quite a bit, but always on our own. We tried GEEO because all of the arrangements were taken care of to explore a country we really knew nothing about and they included a focus on education and bringing information back to the classroom. We found the tour fully supported and well organized, with enough flexibility for individual choice in activities. The Director answered every question we had with amazing speed and friendliness. The guide was very professional and there is nothing to replace seeing a country with a local. The teachers in the group had similar interests and extensive travel experiences, making for great conversations. We would certainly travel with GEEO again!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any changes to suggest.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

This summer was the 6th trip taken with GEEO. This year it was Vietnam, which is now in my top three of favorite destinations. Traveling with teachers/professors, administrators, former/retired teachers, spouses of same, makes for a much more interesting and stimulating tour than traveling with a bunch of tourists. Getting out of "tourist mode" to visit schools, museums, cultural programs, and local families, provide for an experience that is more than just souvenirs and snapshots.

But just as important as the opportunities to visit and learn so that the experiences can be brought back and shared with your classroom, church group, civic group, or just a dinner with friends, is the knowing that you are supported every step of the way. Not just with trained and experienced tour leaders while in-country, but with GEEO itself at virtually any time of the day or night that a problem or question arises.

Don't know where we're going in 2015, but you can bet we're going somewhere... too much fun not to.
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers