Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.871795
| 1 ... 4 5 6...8 |
Write A Review
August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

I have just completed my sixth trip with GEEO, a wonderful non-profit for teachers traveling overseas. I have loved each adventure, met some wonderful people and have grown as a human being. I've shared first hand accounts of the places I've traveled with my students, introducing them to different cultures and customs, as well as seeing the things we all have in common. My photos have been worked into lesson plans expanding their vision of the world and the magic of exploring it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

GEEO is a wonderful service for teachers and their family and friends who want quality travel experiences with some service options. My wife is a high school AP World History teacher and I am a retired high school administrator who now works in teacher education at our state's land grant university. We have both traveled extensively, particularly my wife, and we have pretty high expectations. We traveled with GEEO last summer to Peru and had a wonderful experience. My review of last summer's trip is also posted on this site.

This summer we elected to join the second India/Nepal tour. We went to India four days early and Jesse from GEEO helped make arrangements for us to stay at the hotel where the tour members later met. We extended our tour for several days in Nepal and Jesse again helped with the arrangements there as well.

Our guide Abhi was outstanding, meeting varied needs of group members with cheerful,can do attitude. He made arrangements for optional activities which added so much to our experience. Two tour members became ill and he made arrangements to help them recover quickly.

Hotels met our expectations for budget travel in developing countries. The Hotel Bissau in a wing of a former raja's palace looked like a movie set, the game lodge at the Chitwan Nature Reserve was charming, and, with the exception of some lacking adequate hot water, met or exceeded expectations.

The ability to have laundry done inexpensively and quickly was a great asset traveling during the monsoon! Jesse's revised packing list is really accurate. Pack less and have the laundry done frequently; this will make you a happy traveler!

As soon as we got home, we went to the website and started talking about where to travel with GEEO next summer!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Service by Jesse is outstanding. He is helpful, kind, responsive, and frank when asked questions about additions or changes to itinerary.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

Because of how affordable GEEO made their trip to Peru, I was finally able to travel out of country and get a deeply enriching experience! Not only that, I enjoyed this in the company of enthusiastic professionals who treated us to a thorough and carefully planned itinerary.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

I've traveled with GEEO two summers now and plan on using them again. I enjoy traveling with fellow educators and GEEO makes it easy for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

I went on a GEEO trip to the Galapagos, and loved it! The guide was fantastic, the activities were well-planned and incredibly memorable, and it was a great experience to travel with teachers from all over the country (I didn't know anyone before I went, which was totally fine!). I especially loved the school visits, which is something I will never forget.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

I have been on not one...not two...but FIVE GEEO trips since 2008. And I'm not crazy. It's just a really great experience. Peru/Inca Trail, Tunisia, Panama, Southern Africa and India/Nepal. The great thing about GEEO is that they're constantly tweaking and reevaluating their tours to make sure that they are well-suited for teachers and a great learning experience. You get the best of both worlds: off-the-beaten-path travel, while still feeling safe, comfortable and well-informed. Our tour guides have always been phenomenal and I know the GEEO makes sure they hire the guides with the best ratings. I was most impressed in India this past summer, where I noticed that we got to experience the hectic, vibrant culture of the country, while still feeling comfortable in hotels and with AC on our transportation. At the same time, the GEEO staff prepared by being honest and candid about less-comfortable experiences such as the overnight train ride...but we were all so well-prepared that it was no sweat! I also have to say that teachers are excellent travel companions. We're curious and open-minded. We can tolerate bumps in the road. We have realistic expectations. We ask lots of questions and are eager to share our experiences with our students. If you're hesitant about traveling in a group, don't worry about GEEO...you'll find great travel buddies. Traveling with this organization is a great deal. You won't regret it. Next summer...I'm thinking Thailand and probably more!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No suggestions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

" My heart grew three sizes that day"...... It's a quote I stole from the Grinch, but I have no other way to express the fantastic life changing and eye opening adventure I was engaged in through GEEO, a non profit travel organization for teachers. GEEO gave me the opportunity to swim the Aegean, Black Sea, visit the geo thermal pools Cleopatra swam in. I was in awe when visiting the house Virgin Mary lived in, experienced the ancient city of Ephesus and had the opportunity to understand the workings of Islam visiting many breathtakingly beautiful Mosques. These small adventures were just part of the GEEO experience. I was able to share this adventure with like minded educators, and had the most wonderful knowledgeable, gracious guide who added to the ambiance of the adventure. I feel in love with Turkey and its gracious people. I am not a novice travel. I have traveled many interesting destinations but.... and its a big but....... I felt animportant member of this adventure . MY thoughts and ideas were listened to and the CEOs were responsive to any communication. I will travel with GEEO again........ you see,,,,,, GEEO ( and our guide) gave me a new pair of eyes to view the world

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be part of the organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

Morocco was my 2nd GEEO trip, the first being Peru. Both trips were fantastic. In both cases our guides were from the country and provided insight into the culture and were not only very willing to answer questions, but encouraged us to ask them too. In addition to seeing the typical tourist sights we saw how the people lived. We stayed at local hotels and ate at the local restaurants interacting with the locals. The trips were very well organized. Traveling with GEEO is a fantastic way to see and learn about other countries with like-minded travelers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

GEEO enabled me to travel to areas that I wouldn't be able to go to otherwise and provided me with tools and life changing experiences that I could bring back to the classroom. I traveled with GEEO in 2012 and 2013. My students love to see pictures of schools from other countries and I really appreciated traveling with and meeting teachers from all other the world!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage others travelers to better read the information about the trip before they go.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 22, 2013

more

August 22, 2013

My recent trip to Thailand through GEEO was great! It was nice to have group to travel with and I really enjoyed seeing a culture 1/2 way around the world!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

| 1 ... 4 5 6...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers