Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.871795
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

Geeo is the adventure of a lifetime! The guides are experts on their country, they are usually natives and quite enthusiastic. They can manage special requests and are flexible and organized. I have visited countries I never would have tackled on my own. Peru is the trip of a lifetime as is China and our last trip, Vietnam was a cultural delight. We have also enjoyed Ecuador, Costa Rica and Eastern Europe. All have fallen within our budget and exceeded our expectations. My husband and I look forward to our yearly trips with this fabulous organization.
Susan Helldorfer
September 7, 2014

more

September 7, 2014

This summer, I took my first GEEO adventure to Peru, where I had the most wonderful traveling experience I've had in years. I have trekked with many different organizations to many different areas of the world, but GEEO was the first experience where I felt as though I was truly engaging with local culture, as opposed to simply visiting a country. Through GEEO I visited local schools, helped on farms, studied history, culture, and language, and hiked the Incan Trail. I traveled with a group of educators from around the US, ranging from mid twenties to early sixties, and I learned from each and e very person I traveled with. GEEO handles everything to the tee, and you never worry about your travel plans once there. It was a truly amazing experience, and I'd encourage anyone with the opportunity to travel with GEEO to seize it!
September 6, 2014

more

September 6, 2014

I went on an exciting adventure with GEEO to a country many people don't know about--Uzbekistan.
We saw some of the most exciting Islamic architecture in the world and were fortunate to travel with a Yale professor and local guide who taught us a lot along the way. Everything was
well-organized and the head of the organization was helpful every step of the way.
As an educator, I would definitely travel with GEEO again and would recommend them to anyone who wants an amazing experience.
September 4, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 26, 2013

My second summer with GEEO was just as wonderful as the first! I traveled through Morocco, Portugal and Spain with two great groups of teachers and knowledgeable guides. The itineraries were packed wi... more

September 4, 2014

I just spent my 3rd summer in a row traveling with GEEO--for a total of 7 trips. Summer 2014, I went to Thailand, Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia. It was the best trip I have ever taken! The trips were well-planned and allowed me to get to know more about the culture and meet the people of the places I visited. The experiences I had with the kids in Laos is something I will never forget. Traveling with other teachers increases the learning experience. I made many new friends who I know will be life-long friends. GEEO is definitely the way to go! It will cause you to fall in love with travel! I can't wait for my next GEEO trips next summer!
August 26, 2013

My second summer with GEEO was just as wonderful as the first! I traveled through Morocco, Portugal and Spain with two great groups of teachers and knowledgeable guides. The itineraries were packed with adventure and meaningful local experiences, while still leaving time for us to explore on our own. GEEO provides global learning experiences for teachers so that they in turn, can bring those experiences to life in the classroom for their students.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2012

I had a great summer with GEEO in Russia, Mongolia and China! Jessie made sure we were well informed and prepared for the trip, booking and planning was easy with the information provided. The guides were wonderful and the itineraries were well planned. Our experiences covered all bases--tourist, local, adventure and time to explore on our own. Being a single traveler, I still felt comfortable and welcome with the groups. As teachers, we always find a common thread. Looking forward to traveling with GEEO again next summer!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 4, 2014

more

September 4, 2014

I went to Greece through GEEO. It was an amazing experience and I would do it again in a heartbeat. I met some amazing teachers and we got along very well. Our leader was knowledgable, funny and strived to give us the best experience possible. I would love to travel with GEEO in the future. I would highly recommend GEEO to teachers that want to have and share these experiences with their students.
September 3, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 22, 2013

There is no better way for an educator to see the world. I've taken four different trips with GEEO. The program is designed to give you a lot of freedom to either participate in group activities or ... more

September 3, 2014

I have done five GEEO trips. Each one was a great experience. Traveling with fellow teachers you get an opportunity to immerse yourself in a foreign culture in a meaningful and thoughtful way that you can bring back into your classroom. It has made me a better teacher.
August 22, 2013

There is no better way for an educator to see the world. I've taken four different trips with GEEO. The program is designed to give you a lot of freedom to either participate in group activities or venture off on your own. They also do a pretty good job avoiding touristy hotels by using hotels that are locally run. This helps you get a better feel for the local culture and probably helps keep the costs down a bit. Each of the tour leaders I've had have had very different personalities but they have all been very friendly and knowledgeable. GEEO is also very sensitive and tuned-in to the needs and interests of their travelers. They always send an email following each trip asking for your feedback and on a few occasions the Executive Director has even called me directly to get my thoughts. It's fun; it's affordable and it makes me a better teacher.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If anything, they need to do a better job promoting themselves. More teachers should take advantage of this opportunity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 14, 2012

GEEO is a great way to see the world and experience the true flavor of a foreign culture while also catching the major tourist sites. They generally avoid the Americanized hotels; opting for more local accommodations that not only save you money but, gives you an opportunity to interact more closely with the local people in a more authentic way.

I also like the fact that they give you a lot of freedom to plan much of your own time. You may opt to take-in one of their recommended activities or just go off on your own. The tour guides really know their stuff and do a great job of looking after your safety while encouraging you to be adventurous.

GEEO is also very helpul as you prepare for your trip. They recommend good books to read before hand and they setup a facebook event which allows you to get to know your fellow travelers before you actually meet face-to-face. Many of us stay in touch after the trip and even plan future GEEO trips together.

The first time I booked a trip with GEEO, I ended up getting a Fulbright-Hays award to Senegal and I was unable to take the GEEO adventure I had planned to China. Fortunately, I notified them in time and they allowed me to apply my deposit to a later trip. They were very easy to work with. I have been on two of their programs and I have already booked another trip for next summer.

My only complaint is that the summer went too fast. I can't wait for my next GEEO adventure.

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

This past summer I went on my first GEEOadventure. It far exceeded my expectations. The trip to India and Nepal was very well planned, our tour guide was outstanding. He went out of his way to make everyone feel important and he did not seem to mind answering our many questions. Traveling with a small group of educators from all over the United States made the trip exceptional. I am looking forward to another great adventure next summer.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I had an amazing experience. I met 7 other teachers in Greece whom I had never met before. We all got along beautifully. We had an extraordinary experience hiking, shopping, eating our way through Greece. At the same time we were learning so much about the history and the current culture it was truly fascinating. The tour guide and Geeo planned everything for us. The travel was made so simple for us. The transfers and tours were all prearranged. The accommodations were great.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I have taken six tours with GEEO and plan to take another next summer. I enjoy traveling with other educators and seeing schools in other countries when possible. The guides have been fantastic and the itineraries full but also with some free time. I also find the prices comparable if not less expensive than what other agencies offer. The fact that the trip counts for staff development allows me to claim the expenses on my federal income tax returns. Try it, you'll like it!
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

Traveling with GEEO was a great opportunity. Super organized and always there to answer questions. I highly recommend.
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers