Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 2, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 18, 2011

Global Backpack Project does an amazing job of making a tremendous difference in the lives of so many children, with a limited amount of funding. Most of us do no not realize that for those children a... more

November 2, 2013

Global Backpack Project continues to do a great job of making a difference in the lives of so many children, as far as Africa and as close as Portland. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2011

Global Backpack Project does an amazing job of making a tremendous difference in the lives of so many children, with a limited amount of funding. Most of us do no not realize that for those children a uniform and school supplies may make the difference between being able to get an education or not.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing the commitment and dedication of the Global Backpack Project members.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Global Backpack Project has donated hundreds of backpacks to New Avenues for Youth. New Avenues is a service provider for local homeless and at-risk youth in the Portland area. One of our youths' most fundamental needs is backpacks whether for their personal belongings or for their academic careers. GBP has been a key partner of ours and allowed us to fill a huge void for our youth. We're very thankful for all that they've done to support us in this way! Thank you from New Avenues!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Global Backpack Project is an amazing organization that is focused on providing backpacks and school supplies to kids who would otherwise be without. I've been lucky enough to be a part of this organization as a volunteer for 3 years now. I became involved with GBP during a backpack drive at my sons' school... and today, I am still inspired by the commitment exhibited by its founders, volunteers, community partners, donors, supporters who believe in what GBP does and who cares deeply about ensuring that all children have a chance to succeed in school. GBP also welcomes volunteers of all ages - it's been wonderful to have my kids take part in helping put backpacks together for children both locally and abroad.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I started volunteering for Global Backpack Project last year. They were starting their first annual Back to School Fun Run. The spirit in this organization sees the need and rises to meet it! I have gotten to pack some of the backpacks and it's such a good feeling to know someone will be cherishing them soon! My favorite part of getting ready for school was always packing up all the new school supplies. I also love that there is absolutely no overhead costs in this organization and all the money goes to the kids who need it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2011

more

June 9, 2011

I'm Stephen Ssemutumba the Executive Director of Butakoola Village Association for Development(BUVAD) a community based organization operational in Kayunga District of Uganda(East Africa)
Global Back Packers Organization has helped us serve the orphaned and disadvantaged children at Bwetyaaba
Primary School, in Kayunga District. Kayunga District has been least attended by international Non -profits though with acute challenges as unearthed in our baseline survey Link: http://buvad.org/app/download/1808222204/BASELINE+SURVEY+verB.pdf

GBP has been exceptional reaching out to our cause and with their support we have in the first phase been able to enable over 100 orphaned children to return to school giving them school uniforms, backpacks(school bags), scholarstic materials like exercise books, pens, geometry sets, colored pencils and dry pencils.

This is just the beginning, we are targeting 2500 children and any support extended to GBP will go directly to support these needy children in our focal area.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've personally experienced results of this organization in distributing;104 school uniforms to 104 unfortunate children whom were missing out on attending the government Universal Primary Education UPE at Bwetyaaba P/S, 42 of whom were girls and 62 were boys, 120 geometry sets, 1800 exercise books, 750 ink pens, 120 packets of colored pencils and 576 dry pencils. We thank the Global Back Packers USA for having made us move this far.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would further extend the dollar to the beneficiary area by purchasing project items from the home country. In my case Uganda.

June 8, 2011

more

June 8, 2011

I am from the US but live and work in Uganda. Part of my job here is acting as Organizational Capacity Builder for a local Community Development Organization here called Butakoola Village Association for Development (BUVAD). BUVAD works in central Uganda in a very neglected rural area. We made a partnership with one of the local primary schools and then with GBP.
Our experience with GBP could not be better. Our efforts are ongoing and we have recently completed the first phase of the project. Part of that first phase resulted in enabling over 100 kids to return to school. GBP are flexible, dedicated, attentive, great communicators and determined to see the project through.
GBP are worthy of any efforts that can be made in their behalf.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Bwetyaba Primary School, Kayunga District, Uganda

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

consider buying products for all programmes local to the area of implementation as much as possible.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Host a potluck backpack drive this summer, asking guests to bring a backpack with school supplies.