Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

Hello there.

My name is Alex W. Ellis, I mildly on the Aspergers Spectrum, and I work for the Global Autism Project. I was diagnosed with mild Aspergers in the Fall of 1992 when I was 6 years old. Molly O. Pinney is the founder of the Global Autism Project and she is also my supervisor. I
have been working for her in this organization from Mar.-May., 2010 and since Nov., 2013. Ever since I've been working for Molly she has shown me some nice and productive things to do as a volunteer. She has shown me how to get along with my co workers and how to work in peers. She has shown me computer skills, and how to mail donor letters to people from Skill Corps. She has also shown me how to deliver things to the post office.

One of my co workers who I like a lot and who volunteers with me is a man named Russell Hornig Rohan. One of my best memories was when Russell and I went to the A.B.A. International Convention at the McCormack Center in Chicago, Illinois in May., 2014. This is basically what I do at the Global Autism Project and I really enjoy working here.
October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I always wanted to travel the world and create meaningful changes using the skills i learned and the science i love, Global Autism Project gave me exactly that! as i traveled with them to Nairobi, Kenya last august.

Being an international student living in a foreign country, i am very
particular and careful when dealing with people from different backgrounds and cultures. i don't ever want to impose my views, ideas and what i "think is right" to those who do not share mine. Thankfully, this organization shares that and i felt it first hand. we did not go there with a plan to duplicate a pre-selected model. Instead, we observed and worked with what is there already to improve it. it was challenging, exciting, rewarding and a great learning process for everyone involved.

From my short experience with this organization, i can confidently say that creating a sustainable change is possible and is very much beautiful to see! Thank you Global Autism Project for the coolest, most rewarding, adventurous trip so far!
October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been fortunate enough to travel to India this past summer as a SkillCorps member and I am leaving on Friday for the first Dominican Republic trip with the Global Autism Project ever!!! I am so excited. This organization is doing truly amazing things and I am so happy to be even the smallest bit of help in their mission. This organization is so close to my heart. :)
October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered with the Global Autism Project last year right after I had quit my job at another nonprofit. I was coming from a job where I felt undervalued and overworked. At the Global Autism Project I was able to bring my skills and find my own place. I made my work there important to me on a personal level as well as for the organization. Their model of sustainable capacity-building was an important element of why I was drawn to the organization. I loved my time here!
February 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was fortunate enough to travel to Kenya with the Global Autism Project in October of 2013. All I can say is do it! I think about and relive portions of my trip on a daily basis. It added so much meaning and value to my life to be able to see this beautiful world and some of the miraculous people who inhabit it. The students at Kaizora are delicious, the staff are passionate and dedicated, and the friends I made and colleagues I met as a result of GAP are just irreplaceable. I can't wait until I'm able to travel with this wonderful organization again and again and again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I had the opportunity to travel to Kenya with the Global Autism Project in October 2013. It was an amazing experience to be able to work with the team at the school in Nairobi and to work with and learn from the other professionals on the trip. I have been involved in a number of international development trips with various organizations and what I value about the Global Autism Project is their commitment to fostering local, sustainable services for children, youth and adults with ASD in developing countries. I am really looking forward to traveling with them again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My trip to Indonesia with the Global Autism Project was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I met people from around the world and they were all as passionate about Autism and ABA as I am. I went on the first trip and while there were some unknowns as I got on the 30 hour plane ride, when I arrived and as the trip went on all the puzzle pieces fell into place. I am hoping to go on another Global Autism Project trip again soon!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The SkillCorps Kenya trip was one of the most meaningful and impactful experiences of my life. I had the privilege of spending 2 weeks working alongside a very talented group of clinicians, all of whom were there for the same reason as me - to make a difference in the lives of children and their families. The Kaizora school is an amazing program and with much support from the founder/director, the SkillCorps team had the opportunity to work side-by-side with the staff in both training and program implementation. One of my favorites parts was the time we spent together with the school staff and kids, learning more about their culture, families and experiences. It was also great having time to experience many of the local sites - especially the animals! I have memories and a new group of friends that will last a lifetime! For those looking to do international work that will make a meaningful difference, I highly recommend the Global Autism Project and SkillCorps!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I feel very fortunate to have been able to take part in the SkillCorps Kenya trip for a number of reasons…
• I was given the chance to work with other skilled professionals in my field from home and abroad as well as make new friends!
• I was given the chance to travel to a part of the
world that I have never been to. I had amazing experiences that include going on a Game Drive, feeding giraffes, seeing baby elephants, eating new foods, and meeting new people!
• I had the privilege of working alongside the wonderful staff at Kaizora Consultants! Each of the staff had a great rapport with the students, a hungry appetite for learning, and made me feel right at home. I was unbelievably impressed with the education and support that is provided to their students and families!
• It was a chance for me to grow professionally – a give and take. I was able to share some of what I’ve learned through my schooling and work experience as well as learn from Kaizora’s creative and resourceful staff. Working at a local school provided me with an authentic Kenyan experience. My eyes were opened to how autism is viewed and treated in another part of the world. The work that the Kaizora staff is doing is inspiring. It makes me thankful for all of the resources I have as well as want to work harder and do more.
I’ve learned through this experience that the Global Autism Project is a patient one. They understand the great value of putting time and effort into partnering with a local school and being the support that is needed. I look forward to remaining apart of this organization and seeing what’s to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

My experience in Kenya was absolutely amazing. The director of Kaizora was inspirational in terms of her commitment to her school, the children, and the larger autism community. The staff members were intelligent and dedicated individuals who were so open to collaboration with us. They were very insightful, worked very well with the students, and had some wonderful questions for us. The other SkillCorps members were talented and passionate behavior analysts from whom I learned a great deal. It was an excellent fit, and we had so much fun together. Apart from the work there, the country was gorgeous and the people were very friendly. I would highly recommend traveling with the Global Autism Project!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist us in the office with mailings to our supporters, translate docs for us, assist us with social media efforts, assist us with phone calls, all kinds of great stuff can happen in three hours in our office.