Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My trip to Indonesia with the Global Autism Project was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I met people from around the world and they were all as passionate about Autism and ABA as I am. I went on the first trip and while there were some unknowns as I got on the 30 hour plane ride, when I arrived and as the trip went on all the puzzle pieces fell into place. I am hoping to go on another Global Autism Project trip again soon!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The SkillCorps Kenya trip was one of the most meaningful and impactful experiences of my life. I had the privilege of spending 2 weeks working alongside a very talented group of clinicians, all of whom were there for the same reason as me - to make a difference in the lives of children and their families. The Kaizora school is an amazing program and with much support from the founder/director, the SkillCorps team had the opportunity to work side-by-side with the staff in both training and program implementation. One of my favorites parts was the time we spent together with the school staff and kids, learning more about their culture, families and experiences. It was also great having time to experience many of the local sites - especially the animals! I have memories and a new group of friends that will last a lifetime! For those looking to do international work that will make a meaningful difference, I highly recommend the Global Autism Project and SkillCorps!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I feel very fortunate to have been able to take part in the SkillCorps Kenya trip for a number of reasons…
• I was given the chance to work with other skilled professionals in my field from home and abroad as well as make new friends!
• I was given the chance to travel to a part of the
world that I have never been to. I had amazing experiences that include going on a Game Drive, feeding giraffes, seeing baby elephants, eating new foods, and meeting new people!
• I had the privilege of working alongside the wonderful staff at Kaizora Consultants! Each of the staff had a great rapport with the students, a hungry appetite for learning, and made me feel right at home. I was unbelievably impressed with the education and support that is provided to their students and families!
• It was a chance for me to grow professionally – a give and take. I was able to share some of what I’ve learned through my schooling and work experience as well as learn from Kaizora’s creative and resourceful staff. Working at a local school provided me with an authentic Kenyan experience. My eyes were opened to how autism is viewed and treated in another part of the world. The work that the Kaizora staff is doing is inspiring. It makes me thankful for all of the resources I have as well as want to work harder and do more.
I’ve learned through this experience that the Global Autism Project is a patient one. They understand the great value of putting time and effort into partnering with a local school and being the support that is needed. I look forward to remaining apart of this organization and seeing what’s to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

My experience in Kenya was absolutely amazing. The director of Kaizora was inspirational in terms of her commitment to her school, the children, and the larger autism community. The staff members were intelligent and dedicated individuals who were so open to collaboration with us. They were very insightful, worked very well with the students, and had some wonderful questions for us. The other SkillCorps members were talented and passionate behavior analysts from whom I learned a great deal. It was an excellent fit, and we had so much fun together. Apart from the work there, the country was gorgeous and the people were very friendly. I would highly recommend traveling with the Global Autism Project!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 13, 2013

more

March 13, 2013

Recently, I volunteered with the Global Autism Project and their partner site in Peru. My two weeks spent there was phenomenal. Not only was everything accomplished with the center, there were many opportunities for personal and professional growth. I can't even begin to sum up everything about the trip, but every day was well-spent. Leaving Peru, the center, their amazing teachers, and the Gap team was definitely difficult.

Furthermore, I really appreciated the model that GAP follows. They do not give and leave. Instead, the work on making a sustainable difference by giving sites the tools and knowledge to do it themselves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2013

more

March 6, 2013

I volunteered with the Global Autism Project on the SkillCorps trip to Peru in February 2013! My experience was more than I could have ever imagined. The Global Autism Project does an amazing job building relationships with their international partners to set the foundation for effective SkillCorps trips. During our time in Peru, we worked closely with the staff and students at a small school in Lima and also provided workshops for parents and staff. It was an amazing opportunity to share information on autism and applied behavior analysis to a part of the world that such information is not commonly available. The staff and parents were very eager to learn and have questions answered! The Global Autism Project made this opportunity possible, and their work worldwide is truly remarkable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 5, 2013

more

March 5, 2013

My name is Shilpa Kooken and I traveled with Global Autism Project in February of 2013. I visited a small school that taught children with autism in Peru. When we arrived the staff were so happy and appreciative that we were there. They literally hugged us before even knowing our names. Over the next two weeks we taught them pivotal skills in applied behavior analysis that helped them teach their students. They were very engaged in the learning process. I will never forget my trip with the Global Autism Project and would encourage everyone to take part in their efforts. It was a truly remarkable experience that has forever changed me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered for the Global Autism Project for two and a half weeks in February, 2013 as part of their SkillCorps team in Peru. During this time, our team trained staff at a school providing early intervention services based on the principles of Applied Behavior Analysis at a school in Lima. Given that this is the only school of its kind in the area, the staff were very excited to work with us and were enthusiastic and active participants in all aspects of our training. I feel so fortunate to have had the opportunity to travel with such a skilled group of professionals, and to have been able to collaborate with such a caring team of teachers and amazing students. I can honestly say that I have grown personally and professionally during this incredibly rewarding experience, and am looking forward to traveling with them again soon!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

February 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I interned with the Global Autism Project in the summer of 2011, and it was one of the most rewarding jobs I've ever had. The Global Autism Project does amazing work both in the States, by employing volunteers with autism and holding events for people of all ages, and abroad, where the sustainable partnerships they have built have helped hundreds of children worldwide. Working for the Global Autism Project gave me my first exposure to this population, and I am hoping to work with children with developmental disabilities in the future as a result of my experience. If given the opportunity, I would absolutely work for and/or travel with the Project again in the future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

The Global Autism Project is a great non-profit that is having a huge impact on children with autism around the world. I volunteered with the Global Autism Project in Ghana in 2007. It was a wonderful, life-changing experience and I'm so proud of how much the organization has grown since then! The focus on sustainable solutions really sets them apart from so many other non-profits. Molly and the other staff are so passionate about what they do, and I would absolutely recommend the Global Autism Project to anyone!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist us in the office with mailings to our supporters, translate docs for us, assist us with social media efforts, assist us with phone calls, all kinds of great stuff can happen in three hours in our office.