Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 15, 2014

more

February 15, 2014

One of the first times I got involved with GlassRoots was in arranging an event for Girl Scouts from the city of Newark to participate in making beads in the open flame workshop and making coasters in the flat glass workshop. Not only were the staff members and volunteers great with the girls, but the girls all made great artwork, had a wonderful time, and were able express themselves through their art work. And, best of all they were able to take the art home to share! Working with the staff there was great in setting up the program and being flexible, especially when a snow storm hit that day. I have worked with and in non profits for roughly 15 years and was immediately impressed by their professionalism and passion, making it easy to accept the offer to join their Board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 6, 2014

more

February 6, 2014

I was particularly proud of the GlassRoots staff and students in June when we had our Business & Entrepreneurship program competition. Student teams who had worked for months on designing and producing glass products presented their work and the marketing plans for selling what they had made. GlassRoots students know: production, design, market demographis, variable margin, and public speaking!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I'd make it bigger, so more students can participate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 30, 2014

more

January 30, 2014

GlassRoots has an amazing staff of artist-educators who have created a unique set of programs that teach at risk youth glassmaking skills, but also, more importantly, teamwork, focus and resilience. For many of the students, GlassRoots becomes their community and our staff their mentors. The lessons they learn - from the science of glass, to faith in their own creativity, to how to make a power point, can, and often does, make a huge difference in their lives. Everyone who works at GlassRoots and for GlassRoots feels priviledged to be able to make that kind of difference.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 17, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 17, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

The staff, volunteers, Board, funders and students all are committed to this charity’s success. The charity has turned around the lives of youth who were out of options and out of hope. Because of this program, not only have children improved their artistic skills, but they have developed self-esteem, business skills and a love of learning. Students have gone on to travel overseas and attend college, all because of this program. If you are not familiar with GlassRoots, then you should stop by the hot shop and see the students hard at work. I promise it will inspire you to become a stakeholder in this charity’s success!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I see it everytime I interact with the students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Of course, I would love to see this charity have more funding to help it better fulfill its mission.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers