Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.818185
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

When I was first asked to join GlamourGals as my school's rally girl, I was hesitant and nervous. It took until my first makeover when I had the most touching experience of my high school career to shake the nerves off. I was doing a Spanish woman's nails, who only spoke Spanish, when at the end of the makeover she grabbed my forehead, leaned down, kissed it, and said "que Dio te bendiga"-that God bless you. Although my peers are probably tired of hearing this story, it has remained my favorite and I know I won't ever forget it. When volunteers go to makeovers, it's more than a chance to do some makeup and practice doing ladies' nails. It's a chance to give lonely ladies new families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

My journey with GlamourGals started in 2007 when I was a Freshmen in college and continues to this day. Joining this organization was the best decision! I've learned how to take the little things in life and appreciate everything thrown my way. Those smiles from the residents when you walked in the door definitely make the journey to the nursing home well worth it. Outside from the actual action of going to a nursing home, GlamourGals help to build leadership, confident, and inspiration to my generation as we grow!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

GlamourGals is a wonderful organization. While its main goal is to bring company and enjoyment to the elderly in nursing homes it does so much more. It bridges the gap between two generations that don't have many interactions with each other. Lessons are learned both ways. I started a GlamourGals chapter during my senior year of high school. This was a pivotal time in my life where I was growing up and becoming an adult. I give credit to GlamourGals for helping me become a confidant young woman. Their mission is unique and a service to the entire community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

GlamourGals has changed my life. Through my work with this organization I have been able to learn, grow, inspire, and become someone I never thought I could be. I began my journey with GlamourGals when I was a sophomore in high school. Many bottles of nail polish later, I can honestly say that joining this program was one of the best decisions that I made as a young woman. I am currently the president of the Hunter College GlamourGals chapter as well as an alumni council member. After high school graduation my involvement with GlamourGals did not stop, in fact it got stronger. During the Summer of 2012 I had the honor to intern with the organization and have been provided with various opportunities to grow and develop as a young professional since then. I consider myself to be a "GG Lifer", I am a better person because of GlamourGals and will always be committed to the work that we do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

Glamour Gals was my first involved community service organization. In 2007, I was introduced to Glamour Gals and fell in love with the elders and the mission of the organization. Glamour Gals allows you to feel good about life and promotes more for helping our elders feel wanted, welcomed and cherished. I thank Glamour Gals for helping me embrace my passion for community involvement and opening career opportunities for me as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

I've been a part of GlamourGals since high school and actually helped start our chapter here at Ohio State University this past fall. Since we've started here, we've been going to two nursing homes about once a month and the experiences have been amazing!

The women and gentlemen I have met
have been such a blessing in my life and I'm sure the volunteers and I have truly brightened their days. The residents love to just sit and talk with the young ladies of GlamourGals and I can say that I enjoy it so much.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

Since becoming involved with Glamour Gals in 2005, the program has taught me so much about myself, life, and the rewarding experience of giving back to others; especially those who it effects the most: the elderly. Every time I surround myself with other GG volunteers, I am reminded of the amazing amount of power and influence we all have and the potential to make a difference.

As the Alumni Council Chair I have had the privilege of working with the core of the organization and the wonderful women/entrepreneurs that are a part of it, which is such an amazing opportunity. I feel like I can learn from these powerful and successful women to make a difference in my life and the world.

The compassion that Glamour Gals volunteers bring to the nursing home is unique and not found through any other non-profit organization. What we learn through this program offers life skills necessary of a true leader.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

I've been involved in GlamourGals since 2005. I think I've enjoyed the moments I've made as part of the GG family because of the people that are apart of the organization. Not only have I enjoyed the company of the elderly men and women I've met at makeovers but I truly enjoy meeting new volunteers too.

The vision and drive behind the GlamourGals organization is why I think so many people want to get involved and stay involved after they've graduated high school. Not only does it empower young students, it allows them build relationships, leadership skills and gives them opportunities to connect with future role models.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 8, 2013

more

March 8, 2013

I've seen first-hand how the GlamourGals Foundation changes lives. I've been involved with GlamourGals since 2008, first as an intern and later as a board member. During this time I've had the pleasure of attending makeovers and hosting leadership seminars for our volunteers. It's inspiring to see how the girls grow and mature throughout their time in the program. Many are excited but apprehensive at their first makeover - not really sure what to expect. Within minutes the room lights up, and both the teen volunteers and the elderly residents are smiling and chatting. Over time, the girls build bonds with the senior women they visit and learn distinct life lessons from another generation, while also blossoming into strong, capable leaders in their communities.

As a GlamourGals board member, I've hosted the annual Glamour in the City fundraising event, given leadership presentations to the volunteers, and developed the first iteration of the board charter. There are many opportunities to get involved with GlamourGals from a leadership, volunteer and/or financial position in a meaningful and rewarding way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2013

more

March 6, 2013

One of the most prominent things this fellowship has taught me thus far is the impact of effective interdependence in the workplace. Three times a week, I have the honor in joining forces with phenomenal individuals. As a team, we tailor a movement of compassionate teenagers ready to serve their community. I am truly grateful to have the opportunity to touch the lives of teenagers nationwide and help evoke that same revelation in them that occurred in me in high school all while developing professionally. Since the start of my fellowship, I have strengthened my communication skills and enhanced my adaptability in the workplace. My new and improved work ethic has transcended in my academic and personal life as I am indubitably more efficient and bolder than I was a few months ago. I am fortunate to have had an experience thus far that has syndicated passion with hard work. Every day, I grow increasingly motivated whether it is through interactions with the GG Team or through interactions with volunteers. Without a doubt, the GlamourGals program is capable of breeding more trailblazers and world-changers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at an event. Become a GG Visionary (takes 5 minutes) and share it with their friends! Volunteer