Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.925
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
March 8, 2013

more

March 8, 2013

I've seen first-hand how the GlamourGals Foundation changes lives. I've been involved with GlamourGals since 2008, first as an intern and later as a board member. During this time I've had the pleasure of attending makeovers and hosting leadership seminars for our volunteers. It's inspiring to see how the girls grow and mature throughout their time in the program. Many are excited but apprehensive at their first makeover - not really sure what to expect. Within minutes the room lights up, and both the teen volunteers and the elderly residents are smiling and chatting. Over time, the girls build bonds with the senior women they visit and learn distinct life lessons from another generation, while also blossoming into strong, capable leaders in their communities.

As a GlamourGals board member, I've hosted the annual Glamour in the City fundraising event, given leadership presentations to the volunteers, and developed the first iteration of the board charter. There are many opportunities to get involved with GlamourGals from a leadership, volunteer and/or financial position in a meaningful and rewarding way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 6, 2013

more

March 6, 2013

One of the most prominent things this fellowship has taught me thus far is the impact of effective interdependence in the workplace. Three times a week, I have the honor in joining forces with phenomenal individuals. As a team, we tailor a movement of compassionate teenagers ready to serve their community. I am truly grateful to have the opportunity to touch the lives of teenagers nationwide and help evoke that same revelation in them that occurred in me in high school all while developing professionally. Since the start of my fellowship, I have strengthened my communication skills and enhanced my adaptability in the workplace. My new and improved work ethic has transcended in my academic and personal life as I am indubitably more efficient and bolder than I was a few months ago. I am fortunate to have had an experience thus far that has syndicated passion with hard work. Every day, I grow increasingly motivated whether it is through interactions with the GG Team or through interactions with volunteers. Without a doubt, the GlamourGals program is capable of breeding more trailblazers and world-changers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 5, 2013

more

March 5, 2013

"I have grown immensely both personally and professionally in the course of my summer with GlamourGals. I have developed a passion for the mission and I know that this will not be the end of my relationship with GG. This summer, I was able to accomplish more than I ever imagined and the internship has exceeded my expectations. I really enjoyed working with the GG team and I can say that I definitely learned something new every single day. Though I learned a lot this summer, I also had a great deal of fun. I really enjoyed coming to work every day!"

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 4, 2013

more

March 4, 2013

Do you have a grandmother? Do you know anyone who lives in a senior home/nursing home? Were you ever a teen girl who was a bit insecure and needed guidance and inspiration from some cool women who'd "been there/done that"? Were you ever a teen girl who loved beauty products? If you're a guy, are you the dad of a teenage daughter, or the uncle of a teenage niece? Okay, enough questions... I would imagine you've said yes to at least one of them. GlamourGals is an amazing organization that teaches leadership skills to teen girls by allowing groups of them to visit female residents of senior homes and provide them with makeovers--manicures, facials, etc. The girls get to know these older women and see for themselves that the elderly still have a lot to offer in terms of advice, inspiration, and just plain old great stories--once upon a time, these octo- and nonagenerian women were young women who loved to share beauty advice and yes, liked to talk about boys—just like teen girls do today. I have been involved with GlamourGals as a member of the Advisory Board for about 10 years now, and I have also served as Secretary of the Board of Directors for the past few years. Anyone who hears about GG sees the brilliance of it, and wants to help it grow. And we have many ways you can do just that: Want to write a big check to help support us? We'd love you to! Want to help at one of our events? We'll tell you what volunteer opportunities we have. Work for a company that sponsors events for good causes? Let us know—the press loves GG so your company will get great exposure. My enthusiasm for GlamourGals never flags. I promise you if you get involved, you will have a smile on your face every time you talk about it. Check out glamourgals.org for contact information for our tireless staff, who can guide you based on your area of interest.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

GlamourGals is a unique foundation that unites teen and the elderly though complimentary beauty makeovers. Teens form local chapters affiliated with their high school or college/university and partner with a local senior center to provide this incredible service. It's amazing to watch both the volunteers and seniors light up each time they meet and to see how both are uplifted from the gentle touch of a hand to sharing intimate stories about their lives. Each time I attend a GlamourGals function whether it be a makeover, fundraising event or board meeting I well up with pride to be part of such a compassionate organization and knowing I am making a difference in the lives of two special generations. Kudos to GlamourGals for providing training and support to the volunteers, creating scholarships and for the thoughtfulness of the needs to the elderly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at an event. Become a GG Visionary (takes 5 minutes) and share it with their friends! Volunteer