Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.413045
Write A Review
December 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Rachel Doyle has told people that teenagers lie, that they are sneaky and that girls are mean to each other. Who wants to support a leader like that!? As a girl volunteer myself, I would never trust her leadership or organizational skills. I also know someone who used to work there and said that she said mean things about her employees to other employees. Not a very "women supporting women" way to behave.
November 15, 2014

more

November 15, 2014

I have been an avid supporter of GlamourGals for the past 11 years, attending both makeovers and events. Having worked as a mental health professional in nursing homes with elderly suffering from depression and loneliness, I experienced firsthand the great need for organizations such as GlamourGals. It is incredibly rewarding and heartwarming to witness the profound impact the makeovers have on the women. The organization is run beautifully by an extraordinarily compassionate, intelligent, and inspirational woman who has changed the lives of thousands of youth and elderly.
November 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I just want to put this out there so everybody knows. My friend volunteered for this organization for several years, was an intern and worked here until she finally couldn't take it anymore. She was treated terribly by the president, and never had staff in their positions long enough for them to support her. Literally Rachel Doyle turned over FIVE staff members in 1 year. Like take a hint. You're running a sh*t show and you need to read up on leadership. How are you supposed to so called "mentor" young teen girls when they never are able to talk to the same person twice? Take a bite of some humble pie RD. You suck to work for. This non-profit could skyrocket but instead its going down the toilet because its your way or the high way.
November 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I've volunteered for this organization for 4 years. My chapter has a lot of fun together at the senior homes. But once the president and founder came to visit our chapter and it was actually a little weird. She just seemed like she liked the attention and kept taking selfies and telling us to write journals. We work really hard to make our chapter the best it can be and volunteer almost every Sunday, but all the president did was talk about herself. And everytime we tried to get in touch with someone throughout our four years as a chapter, it was ALWAYS a different person who answered. We wanted to build relationships with people on staff to help mentor us, but they were always leaving. Doesn't seem like it was probably a fun place to work. Anyway, love volunteering with my girls!
November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I love the idea of this nonprofit. A bunch of my friends have volunteered in another high school and told me about their experience at the senior homes, I wanted to start my own chapter. But we do everything ourselves! There's no real need to talk to the organization because they ask for a $100 registration fee to become an official chapter, but we realized that we can fundraise and buy our own supplies for cheaper and we don't have to wait for them to arrive. Plus my friend from the other chapter said that the organization calls them too much and it's annoying. So i say go for it! But not worth it to become official.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I never write reviews and much less give my hard earned money to others. Well now I am doing both.
Not only was I inspired by the mission but I was and still am impressed with the way things are run. I must admit that I grilled the founder for quite some time before giving. Not only was she
present but was more than happy to share her vision with me.
Awesome mission and great leadership.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

After listening to an inspiring story about this organization, I made a decent sized donation & after it was like a black void. I never heard from anyone, and when I called in several times, no one followed up. I asked to speak to the president directly or the treasurer to see perhaps what the funds were used for or how I could further contribute, but the president never called me back. Unfortunate misdirection of funds that would have been better used elsewhere. Check out She's the First, Girls Who Code & the Girl Effect.

Also, Alana B - read the community guidelines - If you comment about individual staff members or volunteers, it asks you to use their job title. Do not post their full name or other personal details.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

I am a long term donor and supporter of GlamourGals. I cannot write enough wonderful things about this organization and its president, Rachel Doyle. GlamourGals makes a huge difference in the lives of so many older women and young teens. The programs run by GG are exciting, stimulating and wonderful. I have also been to makeovers at the elderly homes. Rachel runs the organization beautifully. Rachel is an inspiring and excellent public speaker. I am proud to give my money to such a wonderful, important cause and plan to be a supporter indefinitely.
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

Terrific organization led by teen volunteers all geared up towards a great cause. I wish I had been exposed to such an organization when I was in my teens. Way to go GlamourGals, keep up the great work! Kudos to all the people doing this work.
October 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

One of my friends worked for this organization for several months. On the whole, the volunteers make this organization what it is. Perfect example of a charity being someone's pet project to make themselves feel good. Huge turn over rate due to terrible management. In general, shady finances from the organization point of view - would never donate. And overall, lacking in transparency. Could use a few more staff members. Could use new leadership in general.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Replace the President & Founder and change the name.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at an event. Become a GG Visionary (takes 5 minutes) and share it with their friends! Volunteer