Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.818185
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

I recently joined GlamourGals as an Advisory Board member and am so excited to be part of this great program. I think the mission of GlamourGals is unique by bringing in women of different generations and having them build a lasting friendship. I've heard some of our young volunteers speak about they're experience with GlamourGals and how it has changed their lives; how it has helped them become compassionate, strong, driven young women. The advisory board is another great part of GlamourGals and brings together some great women professionals who are all interested in helping GlamourGals become a great organization and continue to fulfill its mission. I look forward to being part of GlamourGals for years to come.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I have been involved in GlamourGals just for this past summer, and it has already had a profound impact on the way that I approach service and community outreach. The way that the program engages and serves women of all ages is innovative and really important in the world today. Attending a GlamourGals makeover was one of my favorite parts of the summer, and I would certainly encourage anyone to get involved in the program in some way. I hope to remain involved in GlamourGals for years to come!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

keep extending GlamourGals reach to the even more states!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

When I started a high school GlamourGals chapter with my friend Deana 5 years ago, I had no idea the huge impact it would make on my life. Not only has GlamourGals given me the opportunity to develop a voice and leadership skills, but also it has helped me realize that I want to work with senior citizens. If you told me 5 years ago that I would have best friends almost 5 times my age, I probably would've laughed. But now, I'm proud to tell people that I have 90 year old best friends. I'm so fortunate that I was able to start a chapter at my college as well, so that my GG experience doesn't have to end! I know I will stay involved even after college, because GG is an amazing organization that gives senior citizens and its volunteers such happiness.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I have been a GG volunteer for 5 years now. Starting a chapter of GG in my high school was the defining experience for me of my high school career. GlamourGals inspires me because of its ability to connect people from different generations through the simple joy of makeup and of feeling beautiful. I understand the mission of GlamourGals to be deeper than just providing makeovers. The purpose of the GlamourGals organization is to create opportunities for young people to develop into compassionate and servant leaders--leaders who will incorporate the lessons they have learned about humanity and genuine connection to other areas of their life. GlamourGals is an organization that at its core believes that every person in life just wants to be validated, cared for and loved.

That is why I am a member of the Alumni Council--to support this mission of empowering people of all ages to develop bonds with each other. I believe, and GlamourGals believes that these bonds strengthen the spirit of each individual who makes them and the social fabric of our society more broadly.

I would highly recommend anyone become involved in GG in any capacity possible. It is truly a unique organization that provides an unforgettable experience for both its volunteers and the elderly citizens it serves.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I have been a G/G volunteer for the past 14 years. Being involved has enabled me to meet many wonderful people. I am always impressed with the teens who donate countless hours visiting the seniors in their senior homes. Their visits enable the seniors to have a "special moment" chatting and laughing with a teen. It is a truly important organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want every teen who is a member of a chapter to be able to attend the Glamourgals leadership conference that takes place each November in New York City. They can learn so much!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 7, 2014

GG neglects to engage the 1400 volunteers they claim to have. My sister ran a chapter of over 40 girls but only 3 were actively going to makeovers yet they had non active members displayed on the site. The mission sounds great in theory but in practice isn't all that great. They claim to help low income neighborhoods but most chapters are in middle class neighborhoods

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the leadership of the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2014

more

July 24, 2014

I learned about GlamourGals in a memoir written by Jen Lancaster, and I had to google to find out more. I think this is one of the most creative, helpful and inspiring volunteer organizations I've ever heard of, and I am hoping this will become part of my community. I remember how my Grandmother preened when I complimented her lipstick. That memory will forever melt my heart. I think it's beautiful that other women and teenagers get to experience a moment like that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

GlamourGals is a heartfelt and inspiring organization that has truly touched my life. GlamourGals was my gateway to many relationships I established and built through makeovers. Because of GlamourGals, I was able to experience the joy of putting smiles on countless faces by just being myself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I worked for GlamourGals for five years and it is truly a life changing and inspiring organization. As a teacher, I was able to see such change in my students who participated as volunteers. As an employee, I was able to work first hand with teens and seniors to discover how beautiful and necessary their interaction with one another is. As a woman with elderly grandparents, I know how crucial it is for seniors to come in contact with youth and to feel important and accepted in society.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

Glamour Gals is an original and inspiring organization that fills a great need in society that is often missing. Glamour Gals not only influences the women in the senior homes that receive attention and compassion from younger generations but also the volunteers who learn the value of giving back to others. As a former volunteer, Glamour Gals greatly influenced me and inspired me to continue to work to improve our society. With its unique events, Glamour Gals does a great job of attracting young and motivated leaders and helping participants and supporters feel appreciated for their hard work and dedication to the mission of GG.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer at an event. Become a GG Visionary (takes 5 minutes) and share it with their friends! Volunteer