Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.964295
Write A Review
September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

I have always known that I wanted to work with nonprofits, but I wasn't exactly sure of what niche was the right fit for me. After looking on Idealist, I came across Givology and was extremely moved by their effective model of giving. Givology works with partners who aren't that well known yet and really gives these schools & kids a chance at receiving a better education. An awesome aspect that separates Givology from the rest is that donors actually have the chance to write letters and create a relationship with students they are helping. It is incredible. I have worked with Givology for a few months now and wouldn't change any part of my experience. The people are warm and inviting as well as open to new ideas.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Givology is a fantastic organization that emphasizes targeted giving in its efforts to foster education across the world. The Organization aims to create a transparent system connecting the donor and the recipient by funding worthwhile grassroots causes, then providing constant feedback in the form of pictures, videos and letters. With Givology, more so than many other charitable organizations, you really see where your dollars and/or efforts are going.

On top of its worthwhile goals, Givology is very well run and has expanded dramatically since it was started on a college campus several years ago. With its updated website, straightforward guidelines on starting a new chapter and 100% volunteer philosophy, the Organization is built to scale quickly and effectively without straying from its core mission.

I've only been a part of Givology for a couple months but look forward to becoming more involved with future projects.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

Givology is a tremendous organization with great leadership. The organization has effectively scaled and seems to be just scratching the surface of its potential. Givology offers a sound avenue to learn about many different areas such as nonprofits, marketing, fundraising, social media, finance, and leadership.

It operates as a virtual organization, but you get to know the people involved and one has an opportunity to leave a footprint of leadership with anything they are involved with. I encourage prospective volunteers to participate in living out Givology's mission as a position is an immensely rewarding experience.

I have been involved for a few months now and already I have traveled to places I otherwise would not have traveled, enjoyed conversations I would not have had, and made friends I would have never made. The organization is generally very supportive and willing to help one grow. A position with Givology is a microcosm of life - you get out what you put in!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly think Givology does about the best it can given the context it operates in as primarily a virtual organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I've always wanted to give back in some way to an international cause. When I found Givology on Idealist.org and learned more about its mission to help children globally achieve better access to an education, I was hooked. I've also been so honored to work with an amazing team of dedicated volunteers, and it's great to be able to use my professional skills to help benefit the organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more working professionals to volunteer. We could use more expertise in certain areas. This would be a great way to provide even greater mentorship to our interns and volunteers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more

September 26, 2013

I have been lucky enough to join the Givology team through my close friend, Jenn Chen. She introduced me to this organization and I immediately felt close to the cause. It has been an absolute honor to work with a team that is so passionate about truly moving a needle that needs to be moved. Seeing what can be done with only the strength of volunteers has been an eye-opening experience that I cherish each and every day.

In a world where it can seem easy to lose faith in humanity, it is organizations and people such as Givology and its team that are shining lights of hope for us all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 5, 2012

Givology prides itself on offering complete transparency to donors on where their money is going. Its partnerships with amazing grassroots nonprofits are all personally vetted, diligenced, and careful... more

September 26, 2013

Givology is still able to maintain its grassroots mission to serve the organizations with no voice in the most remote parts of the world - it's ability to do this on a 100% volunteer base is admirable in this day and age!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase its PR efforts

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2012

Givology prides itself on offering complete transparency to donors on where their money is going. Its partnerships with amazing grassroots nonprofits are all personally vetted, diligenced, and carefully chosen. When reading through the student and project profiles, I cannot help but feel like I'm immersed in the stories of those thousands of miles away. Getting involved in Givology is the best decision anyone of any age could make in their volunteering lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2010

This organization is truly one of a kind in the ideals it is pioneering - it sits at the cross-section of the future of philanthropy and the potential for individual change to occur on a personal level across continents. There are a few distinguishing factors: 1) It is crowdsourcing donations from all individuals: not specific to gender, age, economic status 2) Donations span from $1 to thousands of dollars: so giving back can start small 3) Informational transparency is the crux of its mission: the free flow of information from students/ non profit grassroots partner to donor is all publicly displayed and scanned into updates online. Letters that are handwritten by children are shown in their original form. Authenticity, accountability, and information disclosure are the exchanges for a donor's time and money 4) Person-to-person direct connections are established: donors scan and choose their students based on their own personal reasons and communication among other donors and across Givology staff/ Givology partners / and Givology sponsored students exist on Givology's platform 5) Volunteerism and giving what you can is the central mission: the core team is a base of 20-25 volunteers who have given Givology countless hours of their "extra time" ... spread across the nation and internationally, Givology leverages people's talent and small dollar denominations to achieve the highest impact 6) Scaling and continual diligence: Givology's biggest struggle is having chapters be self-governing and not just fundraising arms. How to best offer continual diligence for its grassroots partners and also continual internal growth is difficult without adequate dedicated full-time staff and funding for Givology Fellows to go to partner sites directly for research and data recording.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

- Hiring and Recruitment - Partner Diligence and Management - On-site diligence - Event Marketing / Fundraising - Chapter and Team Building

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

Interning at Givology has been an incredible experience. Everyone in the organization is extremely talented and they utilize their volunteer base very efficiently. Whether they have been working with the organization since its founding or only began a short time ago, volunteers are all extremely dedicated to Givology and willing to endlessly devote their time, despite the various commitments they may have. The amount of achievements Givology has been able to earn as a 100% volunteer run organization, that collects virtually no overhead, never ceases to amaze me and I believe it is a true testament to the enthusiasm of their team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

As an intern at Givology, I see the effort and the dedication of the Givology team each and every day. Givology strives for such a global and profound impact, and it has inspired me to want to work hard to make the world a better place. The message that Givology promotes and lives by is one that has inspired me more than I had ever imagined. Everyone is supportive, dedicated and passionate. The hours are flexible and the environment is great for anyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 20, 2013

more

September 20, 2013

Interning at Givology is incredibly engaging and has provided me with so many opportunities. Everyone on the team is so invested and talented; I couldn't imagine working with a better group of individuals! The environment is supportive, and you really get a chance to show your creativity! As one of the younger people on the team, there was never a moment where I felt anxious to voice my opinion. I really look forward to continuing my work with Givology in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

Givology has been engraved in my heart. This organization is helping me give to learn and learn to give.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers