Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
108 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

My daughter, age 11 was granted a wish to go to Disney World. Give Kids the World did an awe inspiring job with that- but that is not what makes this organization so special. My daughter wanted a family vacation, she wanted more than anything for us to all have a good time. And that is where Give Kids the World excels. I never had to worry about a thing. Even on check in when my wish child was given a gift her sister also was given a gift, and that theme continued. Siblings are not left out at all. And while the wish child is made to feel super special the siblings feel special too. As a parent I loved the free meals, ease of access and fun and parties around every corner. They called and made sure we had everything we needed. Not one detail was lacking from the most amazing trip of my families life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not one thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

My son was born with a life threatening heart condition and in partnership with Make a Wish,we stayed at Give Kids the World. It was an absolutely amazing place we never wanted to leave! the grounds are wonderful and well maintained,the staff are all excellent with people,the food,services,accomdations and amentites could not have been better. it truly is "heaven on earth". the volunteers that run this orginization do an amzing thing. we can't wait to go back to add our volunteer time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 30, 2012

My daughter has been diagnosed with a terminal illness for which there is no cure. When I heard this, I was devastated. She does not know this. I submitted her name to Make a Wish Foundation becaus... more

October 22, 2013

I couldn't have asked for a more wonderful time for my daughter. EVERYTHING about the Village was absolutely great! The people were all more than helpful and very, very nice. Everyone couldn't do enough for you. I've never experienced anything like this before.
This was truly an experience
to remember. From the Make a Wish Foundation making this happen at GIve Kids the World, to everyone that helped to make this a true wish, we will be forever grateful.
If children could visit again, my daughter would be one of the first in line!
Thank you ALL SO MUCH!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes at all are necessary!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

My daughter has been diagnosed with a terminal illness for which there is no cure. When I heard this, I was devastated. She does not know this. I submitted her name to Make a Wish Foundation because she wanted to desperately go to Disney World. Because her illness (Juvenile Hunington's Disease) takes away you ability to do everything, including walking, talking, eating, etc., I was hoping that she would have an opportunity to go before she became too immobolized to do so. Make a Wish set us up at GIve Kids the World and spoke so highly about it. I watched the video before hand and was in awe. They literally take care of everything for you. Everything is geared toward the children. The workers were phenomenal, all staff was as well, and the volunteers were eager to help in any way. The little apartments that we stayed in were perfect. The kids had the big bedroom and bathroom, with a whirlpool tub and all! There were pools all around to swim in and little snack bars along with the kitchen. One of the biggest attractions was the ice cream store that opened at 7:30AM so you could literally have ice cream for breakfast .... and we did! This was truly a dream come true and I can't recomment staying here highly enough! Thank you so much for all that you do for our children :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Our only child, Helena, was diagnosed with a malignant brain tumour, medulloblastoma, within a week of her sixth birthday. Following two surgeries, six and a half weeks of radiation and nine cycles of chemotherapy, all of which spanned nearly fifteen months of treatment, we were given the opportunity of looking forward to something which would bring her some happiness ... a stay in Florida with trips to the Disney parks & SeaWorld, which otherwise would not have been possible as I gave up contract work to care for our daughter and my husband was finishing a university degree. Give Kids The World gave our family the chance for Helena to be a kid again, to forget about cancer for awhile and enjoy life. After our week's stay in August of 2011, we returned for a brief visit in early 2013 and spent the day touring their site. The volunteers and staff are tremendous and go out of their way to make one's experience to remember a lifetime.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish every family who has a child with a life-threatening illness would have the opportunity to stay at this phenomenal place!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Our 14yo son, Ben, had Sea World as his wish. Give Kids The World was the gift to the entire family!! We were in the midst of his devastating illness, and this was a week of complete spoiling and pampering for all of us.
The boys were 14 and 17, and we even had Grandma & Grandpa visit us from
their Florida home. What an unforgettable week we were given!
While that was THIRTEEN years ago, our family still feels deeply connected to GKTW.
*Grandma & Grandpa go back and visit there now and again.
* Family members still buy Christmas Cards from GKTW and donate.
* Some of our most memorable times and photos are from GKTW and are always prominently displayed in our home.
Bless you who give and make these moments possible. I can say it is a week that lasts a lifetime.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Somehow, get the message out to tell everyone that REAL people, your neighbors, your family and your friends, are the ones who will use this gift. Sadly, too many children are diagnosed with Life-Threatening illnesses, and this is an extraordinary gift to the families who must go through it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

GKTW is truly the most amazing place on earth. We were blessed to stay there while on my son's Wish trip a few years ago. It was truly the best week of our lives and that was thanks to the amazing staff and volunteers at GKTW. Everyone was genuinely friendly and compassionate, treating my son like he was the most important person on earth. They had tons of amazing activities for the kids every day as well as many a gifts waiting for us when we returned back to our villa for the evening. They think of everything you could possibly need to make the experience as enjoyable as possible for everyone. Everything can be modified so that no matter what the child's abilitities and restrictions are, he or she can still make the most of everything they offer. When we arrived the told us their goal was to spoil us like we had never been spoiled before and they did just that and then some. It truly was an amazing experience and has given us so many great memories that will last us a lifetime. We will always be grateful to GKTW and all who helped give my son a week to just be a kid and have the week of a lifetime!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing, they at amazing!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

It is difficult to put into words the way I feel about Give Kids the World. My family and I were residents there for one week in August as part of my son's Make-a-Wish trip. While we loved Disney World, Universal Studios, Seaworld, and other major Orlando attractions, all of them put together cannot begin to compare to the experience we had at Give Kids the World. Hundreds of volunteers, young and old, permeate this lovely place, all with the exclusive purpose of making our trip one to remember. And remember it we will. How could we forget daily carousel rides? Or the many gifts that would show up in our villa while we were out each day? Or free ice cream every day? Even the Castle of Miracles had my husband and I believing that magic really exists.

Because it does in this place. We are so blessed to have had the chance to experience it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! It would be nice if they allowed "alumni" families to stay there a second time, but I totally understand why they can't. Either way, we are definitely going back to visit and volunteer sometime in the future.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

GKTW is one of the most magically places in the USA! They have helped my family not once but twice, my cousin who suffed from bone cancer in the mid-90's and now my son in 2012. They brought such joy to us on our visit, the whole villa was amazing, the staff & volunteers were nothing but close to being angels. They provided nothing but the best while we were there. The thing the touched my family the most was when my skn's father was unable to make it they opened there arms and hearts to my sister and nephew! That made my son very happy because when all was said and done it was about him and they achieved that. They made such a huge impact that in plan on volunteering in the near future!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do absolutely nothing. They are amazing!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

My family and I stayed at Give Kids the World during my son's Make A Wish. It is the most amazing place I have ever visited. My kids have been begging me for a year now to go back and visit/volunteer. If I had a chance to do our Make a Wish all over again we would chose to go to Give Kids the World again. It was the best part of our whole trip passing all the parks and activities we did outside the village. We have made lifetime friends/family. For the first time in my sons life he didn't feel left out or different and the whole family felt special. I can't wait to be able to go back and volunteer, it truly is the happiest place in the world. Dreams really come true at this special village.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only changes I would make is that I would have a hotel or camp grounds located on site that volunteers and families of past trips could rent while they volunteer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

GKTW is the best place we could of went on vacation....They made us feel like we were at home and family! My family has decided once all the kids get old enough to volunteer we plan on doing that as much as we can. They make all kids of any size, shape, medical condition, etc feel like they are NORMAL! Not to mention GKTW gives parents a piece of mind that everything will be OK no matter what and give the parents a break from their daily routines of caring for their children and just to HAVE FUN!!! There was a Youth group from Minnesota that was there the week we were at GKTW and they make us feel like we were part of their family and took to our kids like they were one of their own. I could not thank that youth group enough that week for everything they had given to us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

serve ice cream to our families in our whimsical Ice Cream Palace, operate our Enchanted Carousel, check-in families as they arrive at the Village or deliver daily gifts to our children. Volunteer