Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
108 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

We participated in the yearly mAAgic Flight this year via Dream Factory and stayed at GKTW Sept 20-26 2013. The kids had a wonderful time and so did us parents! It was very relaxing and we even spent a few full days at GKTW!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

My son has kidney failure and a subsequent kidney transplant. We had our trip to GKTW about 6 mo's after his surgery. It was a dream come true to be there. The people were awesome, the service was awesome, the grounds were amazing, and words really cannot express our experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing I would change at all.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When my son was four months old he was diagnosed as a failure to thrive. After many tests he was diagnosed with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy at nine months old. His whole life has been a lot of doctors appointments, very little good news followed by a lot of bad news and bad expectations. In August 2013 Jacob was approved for a Make-A-Wish trip to Disney World and we had no clue what to expect. They provided EVERYTHING that we needed. We got to stay at Give Kids the World Village. It was AMAZING. We had a whole week of no worries about any personal or medical problems. They provided us with three free meals a day and Jacob could have Ice cream anytime he wanted it. He also got to "drive" their personal train. They left a gift on the table for Jacob every day we went out. We all played putt putt golf and participated in their daily activities. He really enjoyed it and had a great time. There was so much to do at the Village that if we wanted to just stay at the Village it still would have been a fun filled and relaxing trip. It was his first ever vacation and it was honestly the best trip we could have imagined for him. He was the center of attention for the whole week everywhere we went. We were so grateful to have been blessed with this trip and Give Kids the World Village, their staff and their volunteers were so amazing and made the trip so much better!! We thank them SO much.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not make any changes. They go above and beyond to make their guests feel special.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our son was diagnosed with a rare form of dwarfism not considered compatible with life. Though it was predicted he would not survive birth, he not only survived but was released from the hospital at six month of age. Initially, he need 24 hour nursing care. When he was three years old, we were blessed to be nominated for a wish with the Make A Wish foundation. The wish was to go to SeaWorld. The foundation arranged for us to stay at Give Kids The World during our week stay. 1.) I was extremely touched by the volunteer staff...their kindness, warmth and loving acts of service surpassed all expectations. Our son, though the only child there on a ventilator, was greeted kindly by every member of the staff. 2.) The accommodations were first class...a kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms and a bath with a walk-in shower able to fit a wheelchair and a sunken tub. Breakfast, lunch & dinner, served by volunteers with donated food from Perkins Restaurant was a treat. The all you can eat ice cream parlor was a hit. My son ate his first bite of ice cream there. He got his first brain freeze too. Disney character's came to take pictures with us. There are so many wonderful things about the village, I'm just touching on a few wonderful things. 3.) The surprise for us was learning how to travel with our extreme special needs child. We went out three times a day (at home it was once a week). We learned how to be sure we always had his emergency equipment with us including oxygen, suction equipment, ventilator and a fan which mounted on top of his stroller. I (Mom) was so protective, I didn't want to take my son out anywhere. The trip to Give Kids The World opened my eyes to the possibilities and changed our families life for the better. That week was like experiencing heaven on earth. It was truly a blessing for all of us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, that I can think of. The villa's were amazing, the volunteer staff were exceptional, the village itself was Disney-like...perfect for the kids.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

While we were on my son's Wish Trip in Orlando we were able to stay at Give Kids The World and we loved our stay. As soon as we arrived the volunteers gave my children stuffed animals and played with them while we read through the paperwork and checked into the village. Next they showed us to our villa and the place was so well thought out. A full kitchen with some dishes in case we wanted to fix a meal ourselves but we didn't because there was plenty to eat throughout the day. An ice cream shop that opens at 7am encourages everyone to have ice cream for breakfast at least once. Daily! Yummy! There is also a bigger cafeteria that serves a full breakfast and full dinner. Also there is a smaller walk up window that serves Boston Market during lunch hours, there is a pizza delivery service and a cookie cart that delivers cookies to wherever you are. Don't forget the poolside party and cook out. All of the food was delicious and the entertainment throughout the village is so amazing that during our first hour there, the kids thought they were already at Disney! Give Kids The World provided a stroller for us to use while we were in Orlando so we didn't have to pack the one from home. When my son barfed on the floor in the ice cream shop the people volunteering in the shop handled the entire incident so well and told us we could just take care of our child and they would take care of the throw-up. I really appreciated that because I know it's hard to clean barf, especially when it belongs to a complete stranger. My kids still talk about how they thought it was cool we were able to drink whatever we wanted throughout the day while we were at The Village. Everything there is amazing. The carousel, the miniature train, the put-put golf course, the game room, the castle.....and everyone working in those areas were so enthusiastic and loved playing with the kids. I was very impressed with everything.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know how expensive it would be to let the families UPS/FedEX their luggage to The Village instead of checking luggage at the airport...but if a deal could be worked out to ship luggage to The Village and back home, that would be great.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Our family came from Australia to have a week in the most magical place on earth. Our son had battled Leukaemia for over 3 years and spents 20 months straight hospitalised, so this trip was very special to us all. The Village is a place that dreams are made of! We honestly spent each day with the biggest smile on our faces, in complete awe of how a place and it's workers and volunteers could be this incredible! Nothing was too much trouble for anyone, there were themed parties for the children every night and everyone guests and staff alike, always had smiles on their faces. There will never be a holiday for our family like our week at Give Kids the World Village....we will treasure it always :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.....nothing needs changing. Except maybe they could look into a village like this in Australia!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Give Kids the World Village is the greatest place on earth! My family was lucky enough to spend our son Grant's Make a Wish trip there in July 2011. Grant was diagnosed with a very high risk form of leukemia in May 2009. He spent more than 200 nights in the hospital; spent dozens of days in the clinic; received very high doses of chemotherapy and suffered significant side effects of treatment. Our trip to GKTW took place 2/3 of the way through his treatment but at a time when he was feeling good and strong. My wife and worried constantly for the 2+ years between Grant's diagnosis and our trip to GKTW. Sometimes the worry was paralyzing. Because of the wonderfulness of GKTW we spent an entire week worry free. It was the greatest week of our lives. It was like we were in a different world, protected from all of the horrible things we had experienced. The volunteers were amazing. They treated us, especially Grant, like royalty. We spent every day at the theme parks but every night there was a wonderful activity at GKTW. And every morning there was ice cream for breakfast! We will always love GKTW. We miss it so much and we talk about it all the time. We even had a chance to go back for a day in March 2013 and volunteer. That was a very special day. We will be back to volunteer again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cant imagine how anyone could improve GKTW Village.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

We were there in April of 2013 with our daughter who was a wish kid!! We all had such an amazing time and could not have asked for anymore! The volunteers and staff were absolutely amazing. Words cannot express how greatful we are to everyone that was involved. Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Give Kids the World went far above and beyond what we expected. My daughter was granted a wish to go to Disney World and meet the princesses, and we were told we would be staying at Give Kids the World Village. I thought it would just be a "hotel room" type place, but when we arrived we realized it was sooo much more! The kids almost didn't want to leave the village to go to Disney World there was so much for them to do. The volunteers/staff were welcoming and amazing. There was nothing my daughter or I could have asked for that was not already thought of and done. Again...AMAZING!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

my family was awww struck , bye the service , kindness, , the dedication of all the staff volenteers , my son felt like a king the whole week ! we could of stayed there just for our trip it was so nice !the food and condo was also amazing ,and the museum and stars in the building really bring life into focus and changes everything for me and my family .I couldn't thank these people enough in a life time for all it meant to me and my family !!1

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

serve ice cream to our families in our whimsical Ice Cream Palace, operate our Enchanted Carousel, check-in families as they arrive at the Village or deliver daily gifts to our children. Volunteer