Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
108 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I was lucky enough to be able to go down to Give Kids the World for a week and volunteer. As soon as I got there I knew this place was an amazing place. I was able to meet some of the families that were there on there wish trip and with talking to all of them there was one thing that they all were saying, This was a place for their child not to have to worry about being sick or having to worry about going to the doctor, for that week they just got to be kids. For a lot of these families a trip like this would be out of the question because there are so many medical bills. I am so fortunate to have gotten to go down to this magical place, and I cant wait until my next trip down there to volunteer again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I didn't want to go on the trip with my college, Pfeiffer, and tried to get out of it. I went anyways and my life was changed. I was humbled and fell in love with GKTW and all the children. I have found my dream job and now want to come back here for the rest of my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing at all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was lucky enough to volunteer one evening here with some coworkers. Just setting foot on the property was uplifting-we all knew this was a special place indeed. After a tour and some background information, we were let loose in the Ice Cream Parlor. And what fun we had-milkshakes, sundaes, banana splits. Ice cream for breakfast, anyone? Families laughing, kids trying to make up their minds what flavor, how many scoops. We were busy, we worked hard, but boy it was the very best volunteer experience of my life, and I have done many. Saw many families that evening, but I never knew which child in the family was ill. And I didn't want to know. Because that is what is truly wonderful about Give Kids The World-a week to come to a magical place, with a delight at every turn; houses and buildings guaranteed to make the Grinch smile, a staff that does everything possible to make it the trip of a lifetime. When I say it was a life changing experience, it was. I literally cannot talk to others about this place without tearing up, that is how impressed I was with everything. I moved too far away to volunteer now, but I wish when I retire I could go live here and help every single day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I volunteered here over a year ago and it was the best experience I ever had! I was in florida for my annual Disney vacation and I decided the help out. I heard about Give Kid the World by accident , I was looking through you tube videos and I would watch make a wish videos and some of them mention make a wish village. So I decided to look into it and I was in awwww!!!! This village is amazing!! My volunteer position was to drive tractor that looked like a train and I drove around the village many times picking up wish families and bringing them to their destination with in the village , I saw many smiling faces from the kids, parents and the biggest smiles were from the volunteers. This place is magical !!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Give Kids the World is a magical place. Some say that Disney is the most magical place on Earth, but I strongly disagree with that. There's no other place like GKTW. This 70 acre storybook village gives kids that are battling illness HOPE. It gives them a week of pure bliss. These children make life long memories at GKTW and it is something they will never forget. I've never seen a child that wasn't running around with a smile on their face. Give Kids the world is not a place that can be described and summed up in words. It's a place that you have to physically go to in order to experience this magic. Words just do not do it justice. Give Kids the World is the best non for profit organization I have ever come across.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make to this organization. In my eyes it's perfect already. I would say that they could expand on the size so that more kids can enjoy it at one time, but they are already working on that!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

it took a Caribbean Cruise and dynamic dinner table mates to introduce us to the Magical Place called "Give Kids the World Village". Since that time we've had the honor and pleasure of volunteering at GKTW. The staff makes us volunteers feel welcome and important, that is good. However the families we are there to welcome and make them feel at home give us so much more than we ever expected. My husband and I have done almost everything, ice cream for breakfast, the carousel, Gingerbread House for breakfast or dinner, Katie's Kitchen, train rides, gift givers, we were even pool attendants. The magic is anywhere you look. We are "snowbirds" and when we are up north we miss our times at the Village. We can't wait to get back to Florida to volunteer. Henry founded this awe inspiring place to provide a trip of a lifetime for those families dealing with devastating illnesses, does he know what he provided to those of us who are fortunate enouogh to volunteer? God Bless the families and God Bless Henry and family. Not only are we Volunteers, we are donors as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The slogan for Give Kids the World Village is "Where Happiness Inspires Hope". This is a great slogan for this wonderful place. It is the most positive place that I have ever spent time at. Everyone there is happy to be there, and very supportive of the guest families, from the volunteers, to the staff to the families themselves. I honestly come home from every shift, feeling that I have just met or worked with some of the nicest people on the planet. I am very proud that I just broke the 500 hour mark for volunteer hours since April 2011. The more time I spend there, the more I want to be there. The local community is so very supportive of this organization, which is apparent when you hear that they fill over 1400 volunteer shifts - per week! I have the pleasure of working as Guest Services volunteer, and it is such a thrill to be able to greet the families and introduce them to the Village, show them their home-for-the-week and to tell them how spoiled they will be. The whole family is treated like royalty there, and there are so many details that are taken care of to ensure that every single guest has a wonderful stay. My other favorite shift is with the Characters. The families can sign up to have one of the bunny mascots come over at bedtime, in their bunny pajamas, to tuck the children into bed for the night. It is so wonderful to see that interaction with the families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'm a retiree who had time on his hands. Several neighbors introduced me to Give Kids the World. Thanks to them, I have been volunteering for about six months. What a great experience it has been! The staff and the other volunteers have been exceptionally friendly and patient. My volunteer hours have been relaxing and worthwhile. The guest families have been wonderful and seem to deeply appreciate us. I look forward to spending many years helping out at Give Kids the World. It makes me feel good about myself. George W. Bush (No relationship to the ex president)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering at GKTW always brings a sense of purpose to our lives. It's impossible not to be passionate about their mission and every volunteer opportunity brings you closer to that mission. Serving breakfast at the Gingerbread House and the character program are our favorites! We love GKTW and will continue to support the program any way we can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

This place is simply phenomenal. The experience and mission they provide for volunteers and the kids is priceless. GKTW is a wonderful organization that deserves the top recognition!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

serve ice cream to our families in our whimsical Ice Cream Palace, operate our Enchanted Carousel, check-in families as they arrive at the Village or deliver daily gifts to our children. Volunteer