Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
168 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 5 6 7...17 |
Write A Review
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

We visited GKTW in April this year as my little boy has Muscular Dystrophy. It is the most amazing place with first class facilities and volunteer staff. Everyone is made to feel so special and there are some truly wonderful volunteers that work there. My son has his special star placed in the tower that will be there forever. We didn't want to leave after a week and my children all talk about it all the time. One day I would love to go back and volunteer myself. Thankyou GKTW for the special memories.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Give Kids the World is one of those places that is so amazing that when I look back on our time there I wonder if it really truly happened. My daughter's Disney wish was granted in June 2010, and before we even set foot in the village we experienced its magic- a volunteer greeter met us at the airport, helped us get our luggage and rental car, and sent us on our way. It's like walking into a fairytale, every single person in GKTW is there to make sure that the wish child and their family feel like the most important people on earth. The village looks like something straight out of a storybook in all of its buildings and decor. What stands out the strongest for me is on our last night there, a Friday, it was Pirate and Princess night. My daughter has multiple disabilities and uses a wheelchair, so I am used to hanging out with her on the sidelines at parties, etc. But the hosts were having none of that, as we were pulled into the middle of a circle of dancing, singing children. At that point in her life, I had never before seen her be part of the action, part of the fun. I am weeping now just seeing the moment in my head. Soon after I was able to wheel her across the stage as she was crowned a princess. That crown and certificate still sit on a shelf in her room, a reminder of the moment that I truly realized there is more than just "existing" out there for her, there is joy. Her wish came after a very difficult period in her life, multiple surgeries and a 3 week hospital stay, and it refreshed our entire family in a way I can't even explain. God bless the volunteer angels of GKTW for giving us something I'd never thought we could have.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

This place is magical!! My son was born with half of a heart and has had 3 open heart surgeries in his 6 short years of life. He has also been living in heart failure for the past 3 years. He was granted a wish with the Make-A-Wish Foundation and chose Disney World. You have the choice to stay at Give Kids the World or a Disney Resort. We chose Give Kids The World and I am so happy we did. This place was beyond amazing. They have the best Volunteers and staff. They always have activities going on there so you are never short on the fun. They have Christmas, Halloween and Birthday celebrations every week. They have a great pool, horse riding and playgrounds, along with mini putting and arcade room. This was the trip of a lifetime. My son and the rest of our family will NEVER forget this vacation.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

In February 2008 for my brother's 13th birthday we went to Florida an stayed at GKTW. It was our last holiday with him. I cannot explain what this holiday meant. They treated him like a human, an ordinary person and he felt normal. All his dreams came true and he loved it so much. This place spoils the whole family and it is so magical. There is no place like this and there should be more places this. The staff are amazing, the parties, the food, everything.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

My daughter was given a Make A Wish last year. She loved water, wind and horses. The Gift Kids the World facility and people there gave her all she wished for and more. My daughter will bite and cry and grab when upset. This happens several times a day every day. This did not happen at all at GKTW. It's magical and no one talks about the challenges the kids and families are dealing with. We are all there to have fun. She was smiles the entire time. Its amazing what happens at this place. From the youngest volunteers to the oldest, we were welcomed. Not one item was overlooked.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

My family and I were there just a few weeks ago. Truly is an amazing place. My kids loved it so much, that we skipped the parks one day and spent the day at GKTW enjoying the carousel, train, pools, amberville, and the nightly activity. The villa was beautiful, and they went above and beyond to accommodate everything they possibly could. For nearly a week, my 7yr old who has been on chemo for the majority of her life got to be a "normal" happy child. Her siblings thoroughly enjoyed it also, and talk about it daily.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

My husband and I are the proud parents of a 16 yr old and 13 yr old identical twins. The twins have autism and life threatening seizures. I'll call them twin a and twin b for privacy reasons. Twin A was granted a wish trip through A Special Wish Foundation last Sept/Oct! We spent a wk at GKTW, and let me tell you, oh what a wk it was! For the first time we had no worries, no dr appts, no medical tests, no details, no work!!!! Instead we had ice cream, boy did we have ice cream!!! We had fun, we had angels waiting to help in any way they could! We had tickets to all the amusement parks, but I'll be honest, GKTW is where the real magic is!!!! We had two pools, our own villa, game rm, carousel, train, mini golf, the list goes on and on! We made so many memories that wk, memories we will forever cherish!!!! We are heading there again for twin b's wish trip this coming Sunday, and we cannot wait!!!! Some people ask, why go to the same place? You can go anywhere!! I say, because this place is where dreams are fulfilled, where Knowone is an outcast!!!!!
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

My daughter was granted a wish to go to Disney World in 2008 and we stayed at GKTW. Initially, I had hoped they would let us stay on Disney property, but after actually being at the village for only a few hours, I knew the magic at the village was even greater than at WDW. One of the things that struck me initially was the mix of volunteers...there were retired folks who lived in the working alongside great numbers of college students who had given up part of the school break to come help. And even though this was my daughter's wish trip, they treated my son just as wonderfully as they did her. They treated us ALL like royalty. My kids never stopped talking about it after we left. We went back in 2012 to visit and were welcomed like long lost family.You really can't imagine how wonderful it is until you are there. It's a place that speaks directly to your heart. The smiles on the kids' faces tells you everything.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

As a student studying child life I have had opportunities to volunteer in many different enviornments, but my favorite volunteer sight is Give Kids the World! They are so appreciative of there volunteers and truly care for every single child and family member who enters the village. I was touched by the magic that the village provides for every family by going above and beyond to make this the perfect, stress free experience. I am always looking for excuses to return to the Orlando area so I can experience the magic of volunteering at Give Kids the World again.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Our family visited GKTW in August of 2013. Words could never explain how amazing this place is. Our son's Make-A-Wish was to visit Disney World and GKTW accommodated us through the week. Every single aspect of this place is just awesome. Our family didn't want to leave after our week here. Our children absolutely LOVED this place. I think they actually enjoyed GKTW more than Disney. Just seeing all those other families that are there as well just warms your heart. So many unfortunate things happen to kids and to know there is a place where they can go that can put a smile on their faces is just awesome.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

serve ice cream to our families in our whimsical Ice Cream Palace, operate our Enchanted Carousel, check-in families as they arrive at the Village or deliver daily gifts to our children. Volunteer