Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
108 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 5 6 7...11 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter was diagnosed with her 2nd malignant brain tumor in 2009,after her treatment we applied to make a wish because it was her dream to go to Disney.We were sent here by our organization.I can not possibly say enough wonderful things about GKTW.It is a truely magical place.We spent and incredible fun filled week here just full of surprises.We stayed in a wonderful little bungalow that even had a whirlpool tub that the kids looked forward to every night,we would come home after a day out at the parks and find surprise gifts left on the table everyday.The place itself always has something fun to do , horseback riding, playground,arcade,huge pool,train rides free ice cream all day!!! But they also have parties, parades, character meets from the parks.They provided us with more park tix than we got to even use and also had cameras and camcorders for us to use to record our trip and put them on disks for us at teh end that was especially special for me as I did not own on of my own and those are the best souvineers..We were fortunate enough to go back this year for an afternoon visit and it was like coming home, we were welcomed back, given lunch and let loose to play all afternoon my only regret was not getting there earlier in the day to really take it all in.Everyday that we were there in 2009 was filled with so many special things I still get teary eyed looking back and both of my kids still remember every detail of that trip, it will stay with them forever! We look forward to the day when we can go back and give back by being volunteers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

it took a Caribbean Cruise and dynamic dinner table mates to introduce us to the Magical Place called "Give Kids the World Village". Since that time we've had the honor and pleasure of volunteering at GKTW. The staff makes us volunteers feel welcome and important, that is good. However the families we are there to welcome and make them feel at home give us so much more than we ever expected. My husband and I have done almost everything, ice cream for breakfast, the carousel, Gingerbread House for breakfast or dinner, Katie's Kitchen, train rides, gift givers, we were even pool attendants. The magic is anywhere you look. We are "snowbirds" and when we are up north we miss our times at the Village. We can't wait to get back to Florida to volunteer. Henry founded this awe inspiring place to provide a trip of a lifetime for those families dealing with devastating illnesses, does he know what he provided to those of us who are fortunate enouogh to volunteer? God Bless the families and God Bless Henry and family. Not only are we Volunteers, we are donors as well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The slogan for Give Kids the World Village is "Where Happiness Inspires Hope". This is a great slogan for this wonderful place. It is the most positive place that I have ever spent time at. Everyone there is happy to be there, and very supportive of the guest families, from the volunteers, to the staff to the families themselves. I honestly come home from every shift, feeling that I have just met or worked with some of the nicest people on the planet. I am very proud that I just broke the 500 hour mark for volunteer hours since April 2011. The more time I spend there, the more I want to be there. The local community is so very supportive of this organization, which is apparent when you hear that they fill over 1400 volunteer shifts - per week! I have the pleasure of working as Guest Services volunteer, and it is such a thrill to be able to greet the families and introduce them to the Village, show them their home-for-the-week and to tell them how spoiled they will be. The whole family is treated like royalty there, and there are so many details that are taken care of to ensure that every single guest has a wonderful stay. My other favorite shift is with the Characters. The families can sign up to have one of the bunny mascots come over at bedtime, in their bunny pajamas, to tuck the children into bed for the night. It is so wonderful to see that interaction with the families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'm a retiree who had time on his hands. Several neighbors introduced me to Give Kids the World. Thanks to them, I have been volunteering for about six months. What a great experience it has been! The staff and the other volunteers have been exceptionally friendly and patient. My volunteer hours have been relaxing and worthwhile. The guest families have been wonderful and seem to deeply appreciate us. I look forward to spending many years helping out at Give Kids the World. It makes me feel good about myself. George W. Bush (No relationship to the ex president)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteering at GKTW always brings a sense of purpose to our lives. It's impossible not to be passionate about their mission and every volunteer opportunity brings you closer to that mission. Serving breakfast at the Gingerbread House and the character program are our favorites! We love GKTW and will continue to support the program any way we can!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My husband and I were there in early October with our daughter and grandson, Liam, for Liam's Make A Wish fulfillment - going to Disney World. We had a wonderful time visiting all the parks, but what really captured our hearts is Give Kids the World Village. We didn't even know where we would be staying before we left, but it didn't take long to fall in love. All the people are so wonderful, giving themselves selflessly 24/7. Simply put, it is Heaven on Earth. Thank you Give Kids the World for all you do! I hope to go back some day and volunteer. From Cindy B. in Texas

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My 6 year old daughter who was diagnosed with leukemia at the age of 2 and later on relapsed at she 5 asked to visit the princesses in Disney world. We had no idea we were going to be staying in such a magical and wonderful place. I think staying here was what my daughter liked the most. The people here were so nice! This place helped build memories that will last us a lifetime. Every time my daughter is asked what was her favorite part of the trip her reply is"staying at the mushroom house!!" Thank you for the wonderful memories and magical experience. You guys are awesome!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

My son was almost 8 when his wish to Disney was granted!!! It was not only a dream come true for Kyle but also for me & his siblings:) Kyle is 18 now and still looks at those pictures everyday and smiles!!! We loved every second at the Give Kids The World village!!! We have a lifetime of memories in just that one week:)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

November 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My son was 2 1/2 years old when we stayed a week at Give kids the World. We had no idea what to expect , other than hearing it was a magical place. My son and his 3 siblings had a blast. It far exceeded our expectations. All our kids were treated as VIPS. Not once did anyone stare or show us pitty. Our son and all of us - were treated as a normal/typical family- no stares, no pitty. They enjoyed every twist and turn and couldn't wait to see what the next day offered. My husband and I were so greatful for all the donors and volunteers that support this place. We did not relaize til we were there how much this magical place helped heal out family. It was the best medicane our family could have asked for. To this day- once a month we do Ice Cream for Breakfest and talk about our trip in November 2011. We so want to go back and visit someday and volunteer. Thankyou to everyone who helped to make my son/families dreams magical. My 2 1/2 year old was granted his wish because, he has Down Syndrome, a trach, o2, vent, gtube and was literally at deaths door from AML M-7 Leukemia- all by the age of 1. He was not able to finish chemo due to Acute Respitory distress syndrome. Thank God his remission is currently holding and we noticed a turn around in his health AFTER our trip to GKTW.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Amazing place! My son, when presented with his one wish, wanted to go to Disney in Florida. We had NO idea that not only would my son have the time of his life, but that our whole family would. From the time we got there until the time we left we were treated like royalty. Imagine going to breakfast (or lunch, dinner) and go to pick up your tray to take it to a table and someone say "Let me take that, your not going to lift a finger while your here..Enjoy being on vacation. You do so much all year round that this is the least that I can do for your family"... I was in shock. I actually had a hard time getting my kids to stay at the Theme parks because they wanted to get back to the village. Whether it was riding on the carousal, eating ice cream at 7am, or playing pirates and princess they were just surrounded by so many wonderful, loving, caring people who volunteer. No one makes them be there. In our times I often say that you can't find any good people in this world, well that's not true. Just seeing the love that Give Kids the World had for each and every child and child's family brought me to tears. During my son's hospital stay following brain surgery, we watch the video's of the village and the time we had. It really kept his spirits up during such a rough recovery. I wish I lived closer so that we could go volunteer to give back just a little of what they gave us...My son's star will forever live in that wonderful place so I know that part of him is still there, reminding everyone who see's it just how magical of a place that it is. God bless Give Kids The World and all of the volunteer's as well as those who donate to them!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

serve ice cream to our families in our whimsical Ice Cream Palace, operate our Enchanted Carousel, check-in families as they arrive at the Village or deliver daily gifts to our children. Volunteer