Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
168 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 4 5 6...17 |
Write A Review
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Our son Lukas was having severe headaches, &then half his vision in his right eye was going half white, half normal for a few seconds at a time off &on.The morning he was in the shower 10/21/2013,he yelled for me because it switched to have black. He went on to school,as I called his eye specialist at Children's. They said to bring him in the very next day!
October 22,2013, my mother &I picked him up early from school for his appointment at Children's. DR. Bloom took one look in his eye, without even dialating it, &told us he could see spinal fluid behind his eye. They walked us down to imaging for an immediate catscan. We didn't leave the hospital again until November. Lukas had 3tumors &the spinal fluid on his brain was killing him. Dr Kleiner his Neurosurgeon, performed surgery the very next morning at 7am. He said his spinal fluid hit the ceiling &all over his shoes.HE took 4samples of the tumors. 3 days later he went back into surgery to place his shunt! ! It took another 3 1/2 grueling week's to get his final diagnosis. Due to the different ^one very odd one It took 4 pathologist to diagnose him. Children's, then ST JUDE, then Sloan Kettering,Cleveland CLINIC.
He has HIGH GRADE III GLIOMABLASTOMA, neurocytoma, &pineal tumors. He did his 6 weeks straight, everyday severe head radiation, along with every day TEMADOR (Chemotherapy pills) !!!!! He was fast graded due to his prognosis for his SPECIAL WISH. WE arrived at GIVE KIDS THE WORLD on February 28,2014!IT was the best place in the world! !!!! We flew there for 7days 6nights! ! We spent more time there than at all the other park's that were a part of his gift! !!! We want to go back a volunteer, as soon as we can! !!! The HALL FAMILY
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

My daughter had been hospitalized 7 times between October 2013 and July 2014. It was a rough time and she was granted a wish in July. Give Kids the World is an absolutely amazing place. It is a much needed break for children with life threatening illnesses. The people there are above and beyond helpful and truly try to make it a kids paradise. For five days my daughter got to be a kid, but more importantly she was in a village with other kids and families that understood what she was going through. She says "it was the best time of my life and it is the greatest place on the earth." I think our whole family agrees it was the only time since her diagnosis in 2011 that we as a family just got to be a family with no worries and the stresses of everyday life. This is an amazing place that really brought our dreams to life.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

My son was granted a make-a-wish trip in December, 2010. We had the privilege of staying at GKTW, and will be forever grateful! The staff and volunteers showed nothing but love and compassion for every family there. They made my son feel like he was king of the world by making every day fun and exciting. For the first time, he was able to forget about all of his scary surgeries and doctor visits. He was able to focus on just being a kid and he loved every moment of it! We plan on coming back someday soon for a visit, and to once again thank everyone for their kindness. We were more than pleased with our stay at GKTW!
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

My daughter was a Children's Dream Fund child that was sponsored to spend a week at the Village. I can't say enough about GKTW. They made a week of memories for my family that will be cherished forever. The staff is second to none. Smiles everywhere you go.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Went on my make-a-wish trip to Disney world in 2009 and stayed at give kids the world with my brothers and parents- amazing place!! We talk about GKTW more than Disney! Every small detail was amazing and the love was so appreciated!
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

We can never thank the people at Give Kids the World enough for our wonderful stay there. People don't understand the financial strain of having a child with a life threatening disease. These families wait years to be able to afford a vacation. GKTW makes it possible for families to have these much needed vacations from treatment and hospitals. Seven years after her stay there my daughter will still tell you it is her favorite place in the world!
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Our daughter was diagnosed with a rare blood disease known as Fanconis Anemia with bone marrow failure at the age of 3 in January 2011. We visited give kids the world that summer, after 6 months of being in and out of the hospital 4 days a week and not being able to take her out in public due to low blood counts. To say we were stressed is an understatement. When we arrived we realized quickly that we had literally nothing to worry about here other than spending quality time with our family...and Bella got to have actual FUN!!!! There were parties every night, meals and ice cream whenever we wanted, Disney came to us, a pool to enjoy, mini golf, makeovers and so much more. The staff and volunteers were wonderful and my girls begged to go back there every summer:) But it got better, now nearly 4 years later my daughter is still in treatment. She has had a hard road, but since grandma moved to Orlando we now visit GKTW village every spring break and are welcomed back to enjoy the village just as warmly as we were on that wish trip. Bella jokes that GKTW is the one good thing about getting sick... I think that speaks for itself.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

I love Give Kids The World! From the moment Kadyn's social worker told us that she had referred him to Make A Make-A-Wish Mid-South, I knew his wish was going to be to meet Buzz Lightyear and all the other characters he who helped occupy his time when he was getting chemotherapy. Disney World is a common wish for MAW kids, and I'm so glad we made it too. It's not all about Disney though. Ask any MAW parent and I'm sure they would agree. Disney World was magical, but Give Kids the World (the 70 acre resort where MAW families stay) truly was the most AWESOME place on Earth. Every guest is a MAW family; you feel as though you are surrounded by people who understand. The grounds, the villas, and the architecture are all wonderful and whimsical. The staff and volunteers are beyond measure. They truly are the heart of GKTW. Volunteers come from all over to be a part of the magic. We talked to one young man who came all the way from Germany to volunteer for a whole month! All the children, including siblings, are made to feel so very special at every turn. I could type for the rest of my life and never say enough good things about what amazing things the people at GKTW are doing everyday for these children and their families. There is always something for the kids to do: a party every night, mini golf, swimming, arcade, train, playground, the list just goes on. Every where you look there is a little touch of magic to make you smile. I can't wait to come back and find my son's star on the ceiling of the Castle of Miracles.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

My family and I were at gktw back in 2007. The memory's they made for my family is unexplainable. We turned down several theme parks just to spend the day at gktw. We lost our wish child a year after our visit. Then this year we got to go back and see his star. Nothing has changed in the seven years that has past. Everyone greets you with a smile, makes you fill at home. There is just no other place like this in the world. I know when me and my husband retire exactly were we will volunteer our time.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

My sons Make-A-Wish trip was to visit theme parks in Florida. When we were told we would be staying at GKTW we looked it up and it looked amazing. When we got there in May 2014 it was so much more than we could have ever imagined. They not only treated my son wonderfully but also never left out his 3 siblings. With one sick child sometimes the others don't get all the attention they should but GKTW treated all of them the same. They still talk about like it was yesterday. Everyone there is so kind and helpful. I just have too much good stuff to say about them.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

serve ice cream to our families in our whimsical Ice Cream Palace, operate our Enchanted Carousel, check-in families as they arrive at the Village or deliver daily gifts to our children. Volunteer