Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
108 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 4 5 6...11 |
Write A Review
October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

We were blessed to have a week vacation at GKTW last November. This is the truth: We would pay to go back there again. My son, who was 3 at the time, always refers to our trip (in which we went to all 4 Disney parks, Sea World and Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure) as the one to Give Kids the World. He still asks, a year later, when we can go back to the "blue house where we drove the white van and played 'dinosaur miniature golf' and ate ice cream."

From the time he made his Wish known to go to Orlando and Disney World, we felt a part of the GKTW Family. No place on this earth has made us feel more special. I cried during our debriefing at check out time! We were fortunate to be able to extend his Wish trip by a few days (we stayed at a hotel and paid out of pocket) but he missed GKTW so much that, on our departure day, we took him back for a quick visit before we headed to the airport. Note, out of all those other wonderful parks and experiences, he wanted to go back to Give Kids the World! They were so sweet, upon our return. They let him play golf again at Marc's Dino Putt and eat ice cream until it was time for us to go.

The volunteers are what makes this wonderful place go round. They are amazing and selfless and just made our experience magical! From being waited on in the Gingerbread House to having my son comforted prior to meeting Mickey Mouse, they were so wonderful and accommodating! He even got a behind the scenes look at the expansive model train display in Amberville!

Did I mention that we did not have to pay a dime for any of the wonderful things we enjoyed there? Three meals a day, free camera/video camera rental (they even put pictures from my personal memory card on discs for me!), character meet and greets, wonderful parties, a birthday celebration for our son...just so wonderful! I have tears in my eyes as I type!

A testimony to how much GKTW means to us? We are surprising our son with a trip back to Walt Disney World next month on his Wish Anniversary (never would we have dreamed we would be going back so soon!). I can assure you the highlight of the 9 days of our trip will be the one we spend at GKTW as an Alumni Family! We are having to rent a car or hire a taxi to get us from our resort and back, but we can't go to Orlando and not visit our favorite place on earth!

We've always felt our boy is special (what parent doesn't?) but we've never had an entire group of people do so much to make us ALL feel special! Not only will we visit as often as we can, but we also plan to volunteer once our little boy gets older. You just can't help but want to give back once you leave. I encourage whomever is reading this- if you want to find a place "Where Happiness Inspires Hope," go volunteer at Give Kids the World. You won't be the same!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it HUGE so that families can pay to return for a week ;-)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

My 6 year old daughter has a heart defect. She was granted her wish through Make-A-Wish and we were able to stay at Give Kids the World. GKTW was more than I ever expected and really was one of the highlights of the trip. To say the volunteers are amazing is an understatement. Everyone made each child feel special and wonderful. During the activities each night, all of the children were included, mobile, non-mobile, special needs, all of the kids felt special. GKTW has something for everybody and really has paid attention to the details, including the special soaps for the guests and wheelchairs for the swimming pool, so that kids who have never been in a pool can enjoy the fun. There were days when my daughter picked GKTW over Disney. She really loved the carousel and even rode it 11 times one evening. We became friends with Bill and Anabelle who volunteer every April and run the carousel in the evenings. They even made sure my daughter got one last ride before we headed out to the airport. We also received a picture disc with all of our photos from our stay, and then they emailed us with a couple that were taken the morning we left. We loved every minute of it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Give Kids the World is a magical place. Some say that Disney is the most magical place on Earth, but I strongly disagree with that. There's no other place like GKTW. This 70 acre storybook village gives kids that are battling illness HOPE. It gives them a week of pure bliss. These children make life long memories at GKTW and it is something they will never forget. I've never seen a child that wasn't running around with a smile on their face. Give Kids the world is not a place that can be described and summed up in words. It's a place that you have to physically go to in order to experience this magic. Words just do not do it justice. Give Kids the World is the best non for profit organization I have ever come across.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes I would make to this organization. In my eyes it's perfect already. I would say that they could expand on the size so that more kids can enjoy it at one time, but they are already working on that!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Give Kids the World is an amazing place... I went on my make-a-wish trip there with my parents and brothers, it was our first ever vacation because of my illness- we felt so much love from all of the volunteers, it was even better than Disney World. I'm an adult now and we still talk about it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Update the villas.. everything else is perfect!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I was granted my wish to visit Disney world in December 1996. My family had no idea about GKTW prior to our trip. We were picked up at the airport by 2 volunteers and taken to our rental car. We arrived at the village and I am not even sure my brain was able to process all the wonder in front of my eyes. Our villa was amazing, and much better than the hotel we expected. Every meal was hot, delicious, and free. My favorite part of the village was the Ice cream caboose. What 10 year old doesn't love ice cream any time of the day?! My sisters and I enjoyed the arcade and I remember riding the carousel every morning before we left the village for the day. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool area. Being from Ohio, swimming outside in December was unheard of! It was such a novelty to me. I have just as many fond memories of our stay at GKTW than I do of Disney. In 2009 I contacted GKTW about hosting my wedding. They did so, and took our group on a tour around the newly renovated property. I can not even express the joy I experienced that day. Not only to get married to my love, but to share the village with him. It's our happy place. I am taking my friend this year to the Gingerbread 5k! I cannot wait to show her where dreams come true. GKTW makes dreams possible for so many children and families who have given up hope. There is no place on earth like Give Kids the World. Amazing, awe-inspiring, magical. There are not enough adjectives in the english language to describe it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Was delighted by all the kind hearted individuals we encountered. Had a million fun things to do with our boy, in a friendly/accessible atmosphere, among other lovely families. We simply did not want to go home! One of the best experiences of our family's life, and we are eternally grateful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a single thing! This organization is doing everything better than I could imagine or hope for.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Absolutely amazing experience for families with kids who havelife threatening illnesses. Our lives consisted of Doctors, chemotherapy, medications, vomit, ER trips way too often, and overall concern wether or not our babygirl would even survive. The week we spent at GKTW was life changing!! No worries what so ever. And so many memories made. Love, laughter, & HOPE are the words I would use to describe this magical place!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

Our son just see is wish come true in September! Seing Mickey was wonderful for him AND for us too see is little face illuminate was priceless. But to discover GKTW was also a dream! That organization... more

October 22, 2013

GKTW is the most beautiful place on earth for familly with sick childs. Our son was born with a cardiac condition and had 12 chirguries in is first two years. He is also autistic. We applied for a dream vacation at Disney with Children's Wish in Canada and they send us to GKTW! A place full of volunteer always smiling and giving. Never asking or talking about Diseases. One week of pure happiness living in a house just for us

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing! Expect the fact we cant go back and rent a house when we are in vacation in Florida ;)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our son just see is wish come true in September! Seing Mickey was wonderful for him AND for us too see is little face illuminate was priceless. But to discover GKTW was also a dream! That organization, there history, there smiles and there kindness is a drem in itself! Not sure if i was criyng because we were living Disney or GKTW! Love you all! Gendron Familly

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

My daughter was given the chance to visit orlando and GKTW and sadly we arrived home last week. Our whole experiance was amazing but the difining moments were the ones spent at Give kids The world. The place is beautiful set out in large grounds and the outside of the villas beautifully painted bright and vibrant. There is so much to do with the 2 swimming pools, splash zone, crazy golf an much much more. The people made is feel special every second of every day. Nothing was ever too much. Give Kids the World touched our lives in a way I never dreamed possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow my family to go back again.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

From the time of our arrival to the time of our departure, we were made to feel special. GKTW was clean, welcoming, entertaining, the volunteers are outstanding. We have been back for an alumnus visit twice now, and we have recommended my niece and her family to stay there as well with their child with cancer. They still speak of it today. I cannot put into words how wonderful our stay there was.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

serve ice cream to our families in our whimsical Ice Cream Palace, operate our Enchanted Carousel, check-in families as they arrive at the Village or deliver daily gifts to our children. Volunteer