Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
168 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter was a "Wish Kid" in 1999, when she was 6 years old. Our family of nine (9 !) had a magical experience which was quite literally "life changing". Through the years, we support GKTW events when we can, and were HONORED to volunteer last summer.

To see our sick little girl,
now a 21 year old college student, sharing the magic and joy she felt herself as a child, with other families was beyond "awe inspiring".

We hope to be able to travel back to FL (we live in PA) soon and volunteer again.

EVERY family we spoke to while volunteering was happy, hopeful, and joyful. When they learned my daughter was "an alum", they often broke down crying. It is SO HARD to live with the reality that your child may not become an adult. Seeing our Christine working as a volunteer and sharing her love for GKTW still... after so many years and so much "medicine", gave many of them hope for the future of their own families.

We are so, SO, grateful to GKTW for the opportunity to share our time, treasure, talent, and wisdom. xoxo

This is a magical, spiritual, place.

Keep On Dancing*
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Our family of 5 was blessed with the opportunity to spend a week at GKTW in December of 2013. Our youngest son who is now 10 is currently an 18 month cancer survivor! He started fighting the battle against Burketts Lymphoma in December of 2012, just two short months after loosing his grandmother to small cell lung cancer. So for over two years our family has been fighting one form of cancer after another. This trip that was granted to us by Make A Wish Oklahoma came at just the right time. The week we stayed at Give kids the world was the most anazing memory filled time of our lives!! It was an awesome adventure that we would have never been able to have in our life without GKTW!!!
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

This place was amazing! All the staff where fantastic, and it helped our family have a week that was carefree. It let us bond after all the traumatic events that we had been through. Such a magical place couldn't have been happier!
September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our Family got a chance to got to GKTW in June 2014 after we found out our youngest age 7 was Diagnosed with Ganglionueroblastoma in Oct,2013. It was so much fun Meeting Mayor Clayton and Mickey Mouse and everyone.There was always so many activity's everyday at GKTW. We could stay there all day if we wanted to but our children wanted to go to Disney world,Sea World and Gator land.We never had to worry about anything just having fun and not thinking about our son's cancer and scan's & testing we was gonna have to face when we got home. We also went to the beach which was so much fun.We would totally go back to visit and volunteer. WE LOVE GIVE KIDS THE WORLD VILLAGE. if we had one wish to do as a family it would go back to GKTW.
THE EHRGOTT FAMILY

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOT CHANGE ANYTHING.IT'S PERFECT

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

We just came home from our stay at Give Kids the World Village, which was to fulfill our daughter's wish through the Make-A-Wish Foundation. They are a phenomenal organization that is excellent at caring for the families they serve. They have anticipated the needs of almost everyone and anyone who could be there and have the systems and processes in place to keep everything running without a hitch. We were always treated with such care and kindness, and everyone is focused on creating the most positive environment possible.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

We went to this wonderful place in August 2012 when my son was fighting Ganglionueroblastoma. From the warm welcome at the airport to all the hugs goodbye on our final day it was so much more than we expected! My boys would have much rather spent all of their time there than going to all the theme parks. Every last thing was thought of from the little gifts every night to the tuck in by the Mayor. The even video recorded the meeting my mom had with her long lost brother that she hadnt seen in over 30 yrs. We would definately go back to visit or volunteer.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Went here for my daughter's wish trip to Disney. Give Kids the World is AMAZING from the time you check in until you drive out the gate you are pampered. They provided our meals from the bay volunteers with smiles and would carry our trays to the table even. Every night a gift was waiting in our home (because it really felt like home for that week ) for my girls this had them so excited every night. So many fun activities for us to do and see at the resort you really didn't have to leave. Everyone there really made this a Wish come true for our daughter. This place is better than any 5 star resort. And the volunteer are the best!
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

Our family had the honor of visiting GKTW in 2003 when our youngest was in treatment for leukemia at age 5. It is difficult to find words adequate to describe the experience. It was truly magical, a pure slice of heaven to stay at the village and visit area attractions such as Disneyworld after the months of dealing with doctors, hospitals, drugs, lab tests, etc. Our entire family was treated like royalty because GKTW knows that when one child in the family has a life threatening illness, all family members are profoundly affected. The volunteers and staff at GKTW were never less than fantastic without exception. Some of my daughter's favorite memories include ice cream for breakfast in the Ice Cream Palace, talking trash cans, model trains, the Gingerbread House, putting her star in the Castle of Miracles, and the beautiful swimming pool. I could go on and on and on. This is without a doubt the most incredible place for children anywhere on the planet. My only regret is that we have not been able to travel back to GKTW yet to volunteer and give a little back, but someday we are determined to make it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

We were blessed with the opportunity to stay at Give Kids the World in 2011 when my daughter's wish was granted. We were humbled by the wonderful experience. Every day was magical and there was always a smile on everyone's face, from ours to the volunteers who we met each day. Every event planned is designed so that all children can take part to the fullest extent possible despite their disability or illness. For one week, we were able to be treated and behave as though we were just a normal family, away from hospitals, tests, treatments, and therapies. The accommodations were comfortable and welcoming. Every detail is planned by a caring and dedicated team of staff and volunteers whose mission is inspire hope through happiness.
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

We had the privilege of staying at Give Kids the World when our daughter's wish was granted in May of this year! What an amazing week for our family! Every worry, every weight lifted. They think of everything. The volunteers are genuinely caring and happy to be there! Everyone was so friendly and helpful! The villas are beautiful and really make you feel at home. I would be remiss if I didn't mention the ice cream palace. Our children had ice cream for breakfast everyday! They really loved that!! We are so thankful the time we had to spend at Give Kids the World!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

serve ice cream to our families in our whimsical Ice Cream Palace, operate our Enchanted Carousel, check-in families as they arrive at the Village or deliver daily gifts to our children. Volunteer