Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
108 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
December 20, 2013

more

December 20, 2013

My daughter has significant brain damage and had a stroke when she was an infant. Because of that, she has many health concerns, most significantly she has 40 seizures a day and has a trach. She wished to go to Disney through Make A Wish, and we were able to stay at Give Kids the World. GKTW truly was the MOST incredible, magical place in the world. They took care of everything... When we got there, there had been a mix-up in getting some medical supplies down there, and they immediately got to work to get us what we needed for my daughter. The character meet & greets in the mornings were awesome, the nightly parties were so much fun, and we were all treated so specially. The most meaningful part for me was that my daughter normally stands out and is stared at by everyone, and everyone feels sorry for her. At GKTW, everyone staying there has a child with an illness, so she didn't stand out and we didn't receive any "pity looks" while we were in the village!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add a wheelchair swing, but otherwise it's PERFECT!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

I visited Give Kids the World for a week in July 2013, alongside my patient and their family, as their personal RN. I was amazed with the magical atmosphere and the attention to detail within this wonderful place. There are vibrant colors, intriguing pathways, adorable characters/statues, and beautiful landscaping as far as the eye can see! The staff was eager to give assistance and were full of energy; answering all of our many questions (keep in mind we arrived VERY late) to the best of their ability. There were so many activities available. We were still exploring the grounds and seeing new things on our last day, such as the pool and game room. The water areas/pools were especially fun. I was able to witness my patient enjoy swimming in a pool for the first time, and boy was it cute!! We also enjoyed meeting characters, like Mary Poppins and Belle on the grounds of Give Kids the World and getting their autographs. The housing was clean and comfortable, with in suite laundry, which was very helpful. The extra spacious bathing area was particularly nice for my patient, who is wheel chair bound. Oh, and the daily gifts were a wonderful touch for the kids (Okay, I was excited for them too!). The food was delicious, fun, and served to us by kind and smiling faces in entertaining themed rooms. The on site ice cream parlor was the cherry on top to our once in a lifetime experience. I cannot thank Give Kids The World enough for their remarkable hosting job. They thought of everything, which allowed our experience to be worry free!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create a pool area for children with trachs, which would include a non-splash zone!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I was lucky enough to be able to go down to Give Kids the World for a week and volunteer. As soon as I got there I knew this place was an amazing place. I was able to meet some of the families that were there on there wish trip and with talking to all of them there was one thing that they all were saying, This was a place for their child not to have to worry about being sick or having to worry about going to the doctor, for that week they just got to be kids. For a lot of these families a trip like this would be out of the question because there are so many medical bills. I am so fortunate to have gotten to go down to this magical place, and I cant wait until my next trip down there to volunteer again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

We got the great honor of being part of Give Kids the World through the Metro-NY Make a Wish Foundation. As soon as we touched down in Orlando, all of our needs were taken care of. A volunteer assisted us with our car rental and ensured that we knew the directions to get to the resort. When we got there, we were greeted warmly at the reception desk and escorted via golf cart to our villa and given thorough instructions on what to expect and how our week was going to be. We didn't have to think or wonder about anything because everyone was extremely knowledgeable and helpful in ensuring that our time there was as magical as it could be. There were parties and activities each and every day, everything was free and the people were so nice. There is nothing better than your child turning to you in the midst of all the fun and saying "Mommy my wish came true". Because of GKTW, they helped to make that happen!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing - they literally have thought of EVERYTHING!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

My daughter has Down Syndrome and a congenital heart defect called atrioventricular canal defect, she also has a pacemaker. For the last 7 years she has had 10 heart & pacemaker surgery. We visited GIVE KIDS THE WORLD this past September 2013. This was the perfect time for her WISH. She wanted to meet the princesses and with the help of A Wish Come True my family was able to go to GKTW and Disney. This was a once in a life time opportunity for my family. We had such a wonderful time. GKTW treated us so special. Such a magical place! The volunteers and workers are all amazing. We can not wait to go back and visit for a day. When my daughter gets older we would love to volunteer at GKTW.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

My daughter and our family came to GKTW a year ago this October though the Make A Wish foundation. Olivia has a chronic condition that has us spending more time in hospitals and doctors offices than at home, much less a vacation. That week gave us renewed spirit, healed our souls, and provided hope for our future. My child had nothing to worry about, except being a kid, and a great one at that! We look forward to giving back in the future. In fact, we hope they are around for years to come, as my husband and I plan to retire in Kissimmee so we can spend as much time giving back as we can!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NOTHING!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

My family came to Give Kids the World through the Make A Wish Foundation. My son, Wyatt, is undergoing treatment for Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (ALL). The minute we arrived the entire place stole our hearts!!! From the greeter at the airport to the volunteers serving dinner, everyone's purpose was to make our stay the best time in our lives. There are activities daily for the children to participate in. The entire week was packed full of fun!!! Everyday my children started the day with a ride on the merry go round. They couldn't get enough of it. We will forever cherish our time spent at GKTW and we all hope to go back someday as volunteers. My children still ask about going back to their "Florida House". They definitely make you feel at home!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I didn't want to go on the trip with my college, Pfeiffer, and tried to get out of it. I went anyways and my life was changed. I was humbled and fell in love with GKTW and all the children. I have found my dream job and now want to come back here for the rest of my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing at all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

It was an unfathomable experience for our family. After watching our 3 1/2 year old daughter spend a year fighting a Stage IV cancer with horrible medications and life altering radiation, spending a week at Give Kids The World with other families who have children that are fighting similar battles and watching the kids and their siblings play and be "normal" is an incredible feeling. Give Kids The World is truly one of the greatest organizations on Earth!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Honestly, it is too incredible to even think about what can be changed. I did make a promise to the staff that if I hit the lottery I will build them an auditorium.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Incredible visit to GKTW, creating precious family memories.
From start to finish, every part amazing, accomm great, staff brilliant.
Amazing place for kids from around the world

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Campsite adjoining to extend stay as didn't get chance to spend more time on-site

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

serve ice cream to our families in our whimsical Ice Cream Palace, operate our Enchanted Carousel, check-in families as they arrive at the Village or deliver daily gifts to our children. Volunteer