Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I consider myself very fortunate to have worked for an organization as meaningful as Girls in the Game. During my time there I was able to see first-hand the impact that their programs on girls and their families. All of the programs at Girls in the Game are remarkable, but I am especially fond of the their Summer Camp and the Game Day programs. Through these programs this organizations is able to reach thousand of girls by using their well-rounded curriculum and their highly trained coaches. Overall, Girls in the Game is a quality organization that cares immensely about its mission. Since I am a believer of its mission as well I am looking forward to volunteering for them for years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I am a graduate student in clinical psychology, and I have had the privilege of helping Girls in the Game evaluate the effectiveness of their programming. It is a joy to work with such a passionate but also reflective team that always asks how they can do even better. Their commitment to girls is much, much needed in today's world, and their comprehensive programming addressing the "whole" girl is a unique contribution to empowering girls through multiple channels. Spending time with Girls in the Game staff and their ebullient participants always leaves me smiling, feeling inspired, and wondering what an even stronger woman I'd be had I had Girls in the Game growing up!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Girls in the Game is an incredible organization with a mission that truly changes lives. In an era when women's and girls' issues are sadly not at the forefront, Girls in the Game is making sure that girls' needs are heard, and that girls have opportunities to develop into strong leaders. With a unique mission that targets the whole girl (mind, body, leadership, life), Girls in the Game helps girls develop their voice, build their self-esteem, and develop lifelong healthy habits. As a former employee, I saw the impact of GIG's programs on a daily basis, and had the opportunity to see the dramatic change in confidence of the girls involved over several years. Additionally, I was impacted by the mission as well! Similar to how we worked with program participants, staff are also encouraged to be strong leaders and are given opportunities to professionally develop.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

After volunteering with Girls in the Game for the past 4+ years at the after school programs, (3 at the same school) I’ve been able to see first-hand how Girls in the Game has improved the quality of life for young girls that need it most. The girls gain confidence in both sports and in life which enables them to succeed in many different aspects, whether on the field or off the field, at home or at school. I am thankful to be a part of such a great organization that gives girls an opportunity they would not have otherwise and look forward to helping the girls succeed more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Girls in the Game is an absolutely fantastic organization with a dedicated, talented staff who are committed to changing the lives of girls in Chicago and have been for nearly two decades. As a former employee, I heard stories from the girls themselves of how their lives were changed for the better by their involvement in Girls in the Game's programs. And it's not just anecdotal evidence--Girls in the Game's programs work (according to several years of ongoing research in conjunction a highly reputable university). Even though I've moved away from the area, I will continue to support Girls in the Game's efforts to expand to reach more girls--so that all girls get the chance to become confident, healthy women through participating in a program that provides the tools for them to do so!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Girls in the Game provides so much for so many girls in Chicago- most importantly the opportunity for girls to become happy and healthy. Their programming is proven to work and their organization is run phenomenally. As a former collegiate athlete, Girls in the Game employee and soon to be Advisory Board Member I always impressed and inspired by the work this organization continues to do and what it provides for the girls who need it most.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

As a volunteer and advisory board member of Girls in the Game, I have seen the great work the organization does with the most under-served young women of Chicago. Offering everything from sports and fitness activies to nutrition and leadership workshops, Girls in the Game empowers thousands of young women who otherwise would not have access to such valuable and enriching resources and experiences. I'm proud to support their mission and promote the important work they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

I am a former employee of Girls in the Game and a current Advisory Board Member. I joined Girls in the Game after several years as a teacher in a low income school in Chicago. I saw the impact of poor nutrition and a lack of physical activity on our students - kids were ill, couldn't concentrate, acted out, and bullied one another. Girls in the Game serves the clients who need them the most - they help girls feel empowered, get healthy and make good choices. I fully believe in this program and have seen its impact on girls firsthand. This is not just a 10 week program that ends when the school year ends. They provide year-round opportunities for girls to be happy, healthy and strong. Go GIG!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

As an exercise physiologist and advisory board member I can't speak highly enough about how important Girls in the Game is to promote for the girls involved. GIG encourages positive health behaviors in a way that is fun and empowering for all involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012

more

October 26, 2012

My experience with Girls in the Game as a former employee and current volunteer has solidifed the importance of all-girl healthy lifesyle and leadership development programming. The Girls in the Game model is unique, and focuses on all aspects of a growing young female - helping her grow up with confidence, knowledge and the ability to lead and stand up for what she believes in! This organization is not only making a deep and meaningful impact for girls in Chicago, but is also a leader in the non-profit field with outcome evaluation and exceptional program curriculum!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

There’s a place for everyone on our team and Girls in the Game encourages everyone to get in the game and play an important part in providing opportunities to girls throughout Chicagoland.

Whether raising money to run with our Charity Race Team or volunteering during summer camp, there’s something you can do to help. Volunteer