Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I interned with GirlForward two summers ago, and it was the most amazing environment that I have ever worked in. GirlForward truly has the best interests of the girls it serves at heart, and the organization's care for the individuals they work with is apparent in all the work they do. This is an organization that truly values the skills and talents of all the people who volunteer with them, and uses those talents to reach out directly to the girls it serves to make tangible positive impacts in their lives. GirlForward is a small organization, but it's flexibility and creativity ensures that it has a huge impact on the girls it serves. This is a wonderful organization that listens to and values the people it serves in order to provide the best services possible, and it deserves recognition for that. Keep up the good work, Blair, Ashley, Abi and all the volunteers! Seeing the work GirlForward does inspires me daily and keeps my hopes up.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I love GirlForward! GirlForward provides a safe, fun, enriching environment that any young woman would enjoy. In fact, the happy times I've volunteered there have enriched my life. The mentorship the organization provides to refugee teens seems to me the best way to ensure these young women's futures. Not only do they provide a safe, stylish space, academic enrichment, field trips, college and career programs, mentorship and more; they do so in a fun, nurturing, accepting environment. GirlForward provides a bridge to understanding, self-awareness and success for each young participant. It has been my pleasure to occasionally volunteer with this organization.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

GirlForward truly empowers young refugee women! They provide safe spaces for the girls to go around the community, help with schoolwork, and present opportunities for them to get to know others within GirlForward and around the neighborhood. It is a very welcoming and worthwhile organization!
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

GIrlForward's programs are holistic, energizing, and relevant. The girls are a joy to be around and it is obvious that the programs the agency provides are impacting the girls. From one-on-one college counseling and walk-in homework help to ACT prep and ESL classes, the agency makes certain its girls are excelling academically. Beyond academics, GirlForward creates a space for girls from all over to come and be themselves. They come to GF headquarters for the friendships they make here and for the environment GF provides for them to grow into themselves. As a volunteer of only a few months, I have seen all of this firsthand. What a wonderful addition to the Edgewater community.
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

My time spent with GirlForward could not have been better. This is an organization that cares so much about their participants and cares even MORE about the future of the girls. From educational classes and courses, mentor ship, creating a safe space, and much more - GF does such wonderful work. I am proud to say I was a part of this great group and expect to see great things in the future.

October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

Volunteering with Girl Forward has been a rewarding experience. I have been helping the girls with English language learning and their homework once a week. The staff is very helpful and the students are eager to learn. I always look forward to spending time with them and enjoyed getting to know each student. It is inspiring to see girls thriving when they come from a refugee background and Girl Forward is a safe space where girls can flourish.
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

The time that I spent interning with GIrlforward has been one of my most influential summers. The investment and passion of the staff and volunteers is inspiring. The relationships formed between the girls and staff are very real, and very strong. I always cherish my time with Girlforward, it's a privilege to be apart of such a remarkable community of women.
October 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It has been a privilege to volunteer with GirlForward. This agency is really something that the community needs, and I have seen first hand what a difference it makes in the lives of the young women it serves.
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

Mentoring with GirlForward is an amazing volunteer experience. Their mentorship program is designed brilliantly. The girls are able to decide what's most important to them and set goals for their future, and as a mentor, you have the amazing experience of learning about their goals and ambitions and helping them find the rights tools to accomplish them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their program globally, because the program would benefit any refugee girl around the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 7, 2012

more

December 7, 2012

My experience at GirlForward has definitely been the highlight of my year. After working with Chicago's refugee community for the past four years, it's wonderful to see an organization that focuses specifically on adolescent girls. GirlForward does a fantastic job of addressing the challenges of refugee life while simultaneously providing the time and space to make friends and just be girls! It is so important to provide and maintain a space like this for a population that can sometimes feel as though they are caught between two worlds. I especially love GirlForward's mentorship program because it connects participants with intelligent, successful, and independent women they can look to for help and inspiration as they navigate the challenges they face as both American teenage girls and as refugees. I feel honored to have contributed to the success of GirlForward, and I can't wait to see all of these amazing girls become the incredible community leaders they are destined to be!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers