Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

My co-worker told me about this cause and I decided to check it out. I am so impressed by the caliber of volunteers and staff, not to mention the focused work they are doing with this population of girls in need right here in our city. I'm proud to donate to Girlforward and can't wait to watch them grow!
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I interned with GirlForward two summers ago, and it was the most amazing environment that I have ever worked in. GirlForward truly has the best interests of the girls it serves at heart, and the organization's care for the individuals they work with is apparent in all the work they do. This is an organization that truly values the skills and talents of all the people who volunteer with them, and uses those talents to reach out directly to the girls it serves to make tangible positive impacts in their lives. GirlForward is a small organization, but it's flexibility and creativity ensures that it has a huge impact on the girls it serves. This is a wonderful organization that listens to and values the people it serves in order to provide the best services possible, and it deserves recognition for that. Keep up the good work, Blair, Ashley, Abi and all the volunteers! Seeing the work GirlForward does inspires me daily and keeps my hopes up.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

After spending my summer working with a broad array of the refugee population, I can't imagine a better program to fill a more urgent need. There is such a compelling need to address the issues of not only refugees as a whole, but so much so for the most vulnerable among them. Adolescent girls are largely underserviced in the refugee community because of their unique needs. GirlForward provides a space to address such unique needs, including the emotional toll of leaving a homeland in distress, the everyday concerns of an adolescent girl, cultural orientation and culture shock, changing roles within families and friends, academic performance for interrupted educations, etc. The impact they have in the lives of their clients and the refugee community is immeasurable.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

Girl forward fills a much needed nonprofit role in our Chicago community and in the nonprofit industry. I am proud to support their efforts and very pleased with the consistent progress, advocacy and overall programmatic quality.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I love GirlForward! GirlForward provides a safe, fun, enriching environment that any young woman would enjoy. In fact, the happy times I've volunteered there have enriched my life. The mentorship the organization provides to refugee teens seems to me the best way to ensure these young women's futures. Not only do they provide a safe, stylish space, academic enrichment, field trips, college and career programs, mentorship and more; they do so in a fun, nurturing, accepting environment. GirlForward provides a bridge to understanding, self-awareness and success for each young participant. It has been my pleasure to occasionally volunteer with this organization.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

GirlForward truly empowers young refugee women! They provide safe spaces for the girls to go around the community, help with schoolwork, and present opportunities for them to get to know others within GirlForward and around the neighborhood. It is a very welcoming and worthwhile organization!
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

GirlForward identifies and serves a cause that many overlook. As much as American-born girls can benefit from empowering, educational and service-based programming, the benefit for refugee girls is even more significant. The organization continues to grow and thrive in Chicago, and it isn't a leap to imagine it expanding to other markets where it can be equally impactful.
October 21, 2014

more

October 21, 2014

GIrlForward's programs are holistic, energizing, and relevant. The girls are a joy to be around and it is obvious that the programs the agency provides are impacting the girls. From one-on-one college counseling and walk-in homework help to ACT prep and ESL classes, the agency makes certain its girls are excelling academically. Beyond academics, GirlForward creates a space for girls from all over to come and be themselves. They come to GF headquarters for the friendships they make here and for the environment GF provides for them to grow into themselves. As a volunteer of only a few months, I have seen all of this firsthand. What a wonderful addition to the Edgewater community.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I wanted to help refugees who had been relocated to Chicago from around the world. After I searched through different agencies, I found GirlForward. Wow, I can say that this organization is helping refugee girls in very real ways every single day. I can see my money at work in after-school tutoring programs and in their academic summer camp. I feel like this is a charity that knows its mission, carries it out effectively, and has clear, well-budgeted goals for future growth. I am a happy donor!
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

During the two years I've volunteered as a board member for Girlforward, I've seen the organization grow at a healthy fast pace, and I've watched the girls they serve transform and thrive. GirlForward's program model is exemplary - the staff have done a tremendous job really getting to know the needs and wants of the girls, and making sure they fulfill those needs. The staff and volunteers are so passionate and invested in the mission - and it truly shows! If you haven't been to a GirlForward event, I encourage you to join us soon and see first-hand what an incredible organization it is!
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers