Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am blessed to have had the benefit to work with GMH for over five years. The work I have seen this organization accomplish and the joy and hope it brings to the children and mothers of Africa is unparalleled. The volunteer board and streamlined administration, allows GMH to focus nearly all of its energy and resources towards its goal of empowering future leaders of Africa.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I am so impressed with the work that Ghanaian Mother's Hope is doing. They are completely sold out to helping children in Ghana, especially younger children. They teach them about hygiene issues, character building and run reading camps.

Executive Director Deborah Frock has a passion
to help the Ghanaian people. The work GMH does is done with integrity and transparency. Definitely worth getting involved with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I spent 10 days in Ghana with GMH in 2010, and it opening me to people and the world like I never imagined it could. Being in the villages, seeing how people live and yet interacting with them like any other human being was amazing. And the gratitude, their hunger for knowledge- both were so heartening that this organization is doing it right by giving education directly to the villagers to share with neighbors and generations to come.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing- keep doing your thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Summer of 2013 was my first summer volunteering with GMH and the experience was wonderful. The organization does a fabulous job of building real relationships with the people in Ghana that they serve, especially the children. Bringing education and new ways of learning to these children through Reading Camp makes a huge difference in their lives all year long. I was really impressed with how well the organization manages it's funds and felt like every dollar went towards doing good in Ghana.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

I spent 12 days in Ghana this summer working at a reading camp with 60 primary/elementary aged children for Ghanaian Mothers Hope Inc. It was truly a life-changing experience. I have been teaching for close to 30 years now. GMH gave me the opportunity to use a skill in which I have training and confidence to help children. I could not have been more impressed with the organization, the focus, and the personal touch of this group. We had suitcases of supplies provided by the volunteers and scores of people throughout a number of states. We had lesson plans & materials all ready for us. I was also able to work outside of the classroom with teachers who had come to observe our teaching methods and exchange ideas and experiences. I also got to spend time with the children in the village who were not able to be part of the reading camp (due to space the number of children at the camp had to be limited to 60). I read with them, did projects, and sang songs with a group of 25 who ranged from 3 years old to 13! Debi Frock gives of her time and boundless energy but she also gives YOU the opportunity to give back. It is an amazing organization and I would go back to Ghana in a heartbeat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to spend even more time at reading camp. The week flew by, and as a teacher I felt I was just reaching my stride when it had to end.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

I worked with Ghanaian Mothers Hope for a number of years and have known Debi Frock for more than 10 years. Together they have done a wonderful job helping the people in Ghana receive education and medical treatment. I highly recommend this organization and the work they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have been working with Ghanaian Mothers' Hope for about two years. It is a grassroots organization that works from the ground up, not the top down. Their programs focus on health and education and the children who will be the future leaders of Ghana. GMH participates in an alliance of nonprofits, which I lead, that works throughout Sub Saharan Africa. Since joining Aid for Africa, GMH has been a valued partner, sharing knowledge and best practices with others in the alliance and working to build understanding of development in Africa. I have been impressed with Deborah Frock, its founder and executive director, whose commitment, enthusiasm, integrity, and hard work have helped make it such a successful organization. Also, I have personally met with a number of board members who are equally committed to the organization. It's a great organization doing much needed and excellent work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

Ghanaian Mothers' Hope is very highly regarded on both sides of the ocean. Over the years many accolades have been given. In Ghana in 2012, founder, Deborah Frock, was honored with the prestigious Global Professional Achievers Award. The chief of Akramaman Village where the first school and health post were built was so impressed he named her Queen Mother with the moniker Naa Aku Shika II. In the US in 2008 the Maryland Episcopal Diocese gave GMH its coveted Bishop's Award for Outstanding Lay Ministry in the World. In 2010 The National Episcopal Church named Ghanaian Mothers' hope a Jubilee Ministry. There are many reasons the work of GMH is so effective and stands out. One of the most important reasons is that The American Board and volunteers have a deep respect for the Ghanaian Board and volunteers. The mission is to "empower the future leaders of Africa." Everything is done in collaboration with in country leaders from Ghanaian volunteers from the Mothers Union members and the ecclesiastical leadership of the Episcopal Diocese of Accra, the capital city of Ghana, to the local government, and tribal leaders in the villages, to the local village teachers and parents. Each year dozens of American volunteers from 5 different states (so far) bring themselves and their enthusiasm at their own expense to facilitate wonderful life changing educational and healthcare programs. In the process deep friendships are formed and lives are changed forever on both sides of the ocean.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I do not want to "change" GMH, but add on, more Ghanaian partners, more programs in more villages, more volunteers from the US going.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a national contemporary jazz recording artist. Because I knew and trusted the people of GMH several years ago I chose it as my charity of choice to support with a portion of my music sales. In 2012 I joined a health mission trip and finally went in person to see the incredible work being done and to meet the children. I wrote a song to go with the specially designed coloring book being used to teach school children how to avoid "germs worms and parasites." (The Secret to Being Strong - find this on YouTube)
I was so impressed by the warm welcome our team received every where we went. It was clear that the money being donated is spread far, spent well and making a big difference.
I saw how lives are being changed -the children in GMH programs will definitely have a better future than they would otherwise, and I came home more grateful and humble. That trip was so successful that we did it again in even more schools in 2013.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would continue more of the same services and continue adding more younger people to the boards in the US and in Ghsns

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've traveled with GMH 5 times, working to open a preschool and running reading camps for 60+ children. GMH truly is changing lives in Ghana. The children have hope of a brighter future because of GMH's work. The village where our school is located is experiencing a building boom due to the quality of the school and the wonderful health clinic we've built there. Missioners traveling with GMH experience the culture of the country while building meaningful relationships that help to change lives on both sides of the Atlantic.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue the current efforts and expand the reading camp into new villages.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers