Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.787885
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

The power of a positive female role model cannot be overstated. MAGIC is a wonderful opportunity for girls interested in technology to learn skills from a female mentor. My daughter participated as a 7th grader and had a wonderful mentee from Stanford University. Throughout the year with her mentee she learned and utilized several programming languages to create her first website. The guidance from her mentee helped frame the computer programming tasks within a larger university and work context. To boot she just had a blast spending time with such a cool young woman. Brava, MAGIC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

MAGIC is an amazing program and the experience I had impacted my future aspirations for the batter. Last year, I participated in the MAGIC program. I was in 7th grade and decided it would be a fun experience. I was interested in astronomy and astrophysics, but they didn't have a mentor for me in that field, so they went and found one. My mentor, Jessica Werk, was the best possible mentor I could have had. she was personable, kind, and a great teacher. We studies many difficult and engaging topics including computational programing, Hubbell's law, and trigonometry. When it was over last spring, I wanted to keep learning and exploring. MAGIC didn't just teach me knew facts, but a new way of looking at learning. I would love to do it again if given the chance, and would recommend it to anyone.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

This is an amazing program! I was a mentee for a year and I learned so much about programming in Python. I know i will be able to apply the skills that I learned at MAGIC to any computing I choose to do in the future. This is a great organization and I am so thankful for everything I got out of it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2013

more

June 29, 2013

Magic is a really great experience. I enjoyed the time and very appreciate the knowledge that will help me guide through engineering in the future ! They helped open my eyes towards technology further

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing its perfect !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

MAGIC is a great program! I met online with my mentor once a week, and it was incredible! My mentor, Ms. Tanya Gupta, taught me how to program using Java. I learned many different types of code as well as helpful tips for getting a career in the computer science field. I honestly really enjoyed this program and seeing myself get a head start in the STEM field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

What a truly "Magical" organization this is! My twelve year old daughter had a mentor who came to our home every week from October through May and spent time building and programming robots with her. It was so fun to hear them collaborating on their projects. The mentor was a great match for my daughter's personality and interests. Thank you for helping keep STEM interests alive and well in my home!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Magic is a tremendous program. My daughter had a great mentor, who came every weekend for months, and taught her all sorts of cool, interesting things. I can't recommend it highly enough. She loved it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had an amazing experience with the MAGIC program! My mentor, Esha, provided amazing lessons about computer science and showed how it is relevant today. I truly looked forward to my weekly sessions and was always excited to get feedback on the programs I had worked on. Esha was great when it came to scheduling; she was always flexible and made sure our lessons occurred every week. Through the MAGIC program, I gained so much confidence in myself and in my ability to program. I have already used my knowledge in my classes. The MAGIC program is truly amazing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The MAGIC program is phenomenal! I have been in the program twice once sophomore year and once the summer after senior year in high school. I had absolutely no programming experience when I started and my first Mentor Surahbi was so considerate and patient. She took time out of her busy schedule to meet with me every week and taught me very useful coding knowledge that has helped me even in my Introduction to Java class in college. My second mentor, Esha, was equally dedicated and super understanding. She created interesting lectures and programs and even tailored to my individual schedule's needs. Without this program I would not be able to be the confident programmer I am today and I certainly would not have even chosen Computer Science as a career path. As I am in college now, I can definitively say that MAGIC is a very comprehensive and savvy non-profit. Hopefully, one day I will come full cycle and have the joy of being a volunteer with the organization and change a girl's life as much as MAGIC changed mine.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 10, 2012

more


1 previous review
March 10, 2011

I have learned so much about how I can serve in the computer science field. I have the "reigns." I choose what I want to learn, and how I learn it, which has been a really great experience! I care abo... more

March 10, 2012

I was a participant in the MAGIC program last year and had a wonderful experience. I developed and designed a website with my mentor who gave me the tools to continue developing it even after the program ended. It was a great learning experience and I really value the time I spent with my mentor and appreciate the skills I gained throughout the year.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

that I have the skills to challenge myself with Computer Science.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

through a school program.

March 10, 2011

I have learned so much about how I can serve in the computer science field. I have the "reigns." I choose what I want to learn, and how I learn it, which has been a really great experience! I care about the projects I work on and I am genuinely interested in everything I do with MAGIC. I was paired with my mentor because we have a lot in common, which means I really enjoy talking to her, and working with her. It has been a great experience!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

preparing me for my future career.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure you can meet with all the mentors face-to-face.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers