Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

Our 14 year old daughter participated in the MAGIC program in 2014. She learnt about the program from her school. It was a phenomenal learning experience and I highly recommend the program. All girls had to complete a formal application, go through an interview process and commit to a couple of hours of project work for 3-4 months period. MAGIC leaders paired our daughter with a wonderful young woman, Michelle. She is an amazing role model for young girls – she is caring, patient, extremely intelligent, hardworking, highly accomplished and fun loving. Our daughter looked forward to her Saturday morning sessions with Michelle. Our daughter is interested in Biology, Genetics, Drug discovery and Programming. They started by learning Python programming as well as some basic concepts in genetics. Michelle helped our daughter brainstorm and come up with a programming project related to genetics. At the end of the program the girls and their mentors presented and demonstrated their work. The girls seem to have benefited immensely and confidently talked about the various projects. Our daughter learnt a lot from Michelle and is keen on going deeper into the topic. Michelle has become a very good friend, is a great mentor and someone our daughter admires and genuinely looks up to. We really appreciate Ira Pramanick for starting such a great program that will have a lasting impact on the lives of these young girls. Thank you Ira and Michelle!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

-

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

I applied for mentoring here, and I was given a very warm and kind mentor. I had a variety of options to choose from for learning. I finally chose to learn about Python. We used Codeacademy to finish lessons. It was a wonderful experience, considering the fact that I have never done programming in my life. It allowed me to practice Math, my favorite subject. When I realized I wasn't very interested in Genetics, I was able to switch to something else easily. This was a wonderful experience, and my mentor has been very kind, generous, and she is a great teacher. I would strongly recommend this program for any girl in middle or high school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would extend 1 hour to 2 hours.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 13, 2013

Magic is a tremendous program. My daughter had a great mentor, who came every weekend for months, and taught her all sorts of cool, interesting things. I can't recommend it highly enough. She loved ... more

June 3, 2014

Thank you so much for MAGIC Sara and Ira. My daughter is going to Gunn High School next year, and is signed up for advanced math, and auto mechanics. When she started at GMS she hated science and math, and now they are her two favorite subjects by a lot. Thank you for helping her find her interests. I think auto mechanics is going to be great for her, it reminds me of the kinds of things she did with Sara.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Magic is a tremendous program. My daughter had a great mentor, who came every weekend for months, and taught her all sorts of cool, interesting things. I can't recommend it highly enough. She loved it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 1, 2014

more

June 1, 2014

I was able to learn HTML and CSS in only a few weeks and then create a project with my information and HTML. We are now learning Java Script and my mentor has found a perfect site to do so! MAGIC helped me learn A LOT I didn't know and my mentor was flexible to meet any time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

I liked learning how to code one on one because it was more comfortable to ask questions and because I didn't have to worry about what others would think of my questions. I was also able to fully understand everything at my own pace. I really loved working with Tanya Gupta, my mentor, and getting to know her over the year. She's so nice, supportive, and patient. I really felt like we developed a friendship. I really looked forward to my meetings with her; it was a highlight of my week. I would definitely recommend this program to anyone who is interested in learning how to code, they will love it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 24, 2014

more

May 24, 2014

I really loved MAGIC. I was a MAGIC Mentee during the 2013 - 2014 school year, and I learned a lot. It was great since I got to pick what I wanted to do, unlike a summer camp, where I have to do what they want me to do. I made an app with Corona SDK, and since it was my mentor's first time using this, she learned a lot as well. Because it was one-on-one, I learned a lot more than I would if I was in a class. I am now very interested in Computer Science and I will definitely take Computer Science classes!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 28, 2014

more

April 28, 2014

I had a wonderful experience as a MAGIC mentee during the 2013-2014 school year. It was a great because I always knew I could go to my mentor if I had any questions, and even if she didn't know the answer- she would by the following meeting. The best part of MAGIC is definitely being able to choose what I want to learn and how I want to learn about it. This flexibility allowed for me to find languages I liked, and get the chance to learn more about them. I also really liked how I was the one coming up with the projects and I got the chance to add my own elements. A website like CodeAcademy was a great resource, but it meant so much more to have someone there going over the information with me. Overall I had a great experience, and I know that I will take this experience with me into high school and through the rest of my Computer Science education.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

The power of a positive female role model cannot be overstated. MAGIC is a wonderful opportunity for girls interested in technology to learn skills from a female mentor. My daughter participated as a 7th grader and had a wonderful mentee from Stanford University. Throughout the year with her mentee she learned and utilized several programming languages to create her first website. The guidance from her mentee helped frame the computer programming tasks within a larger university and work context. To boot she just had a blast spending time with such a cool young woman. Brava, MAGIC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

MAGIC is an amazing program and the experience I had impacted my future aspirations for the batter. Last year, I participated in the MAGIC program. I was in 7th grade and decided it would be a fun experience. I was interested in astronomy and astrophysics, but they didn't have a mentor for me in that field, so they went and found one. My mentor, Jessica Werk, was the best possible mentor I could have had. she was personable, kind, and a great teacher. We studies many difficult and engaging topics including computational programing, Hubbell's law, and trigonometry. When it was over last spring, I wanted to keep learning and exploring. MAGIC didn't just teach me knew facts, but a new way of looking at learning. I would love to do it again if given the chance, and would recommend it to anyone.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

This is an amazing program! I was a mentee for a year and I learned so much about programming in Python. I know i will be able to apply the skills that I learned at MAGIC to any computing I choose to do in the future. This is a great organization and I am so thankful for everything I got out of it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers