Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 19, 2014

more

May 19, 2014

I have been mentoring with MAGIC for two years now and have loved my experience. It is very exciting to meet young minds who are keen in the STEM fields and then see them grow and develop interests.
April 28, 2014

more

April 28, 2014

I started volunteering with MAGIC since 2013 as a mentor. I found it very rewarding to share my experience one-on-one with my mentee, and to learn from her. We all agree that having a role model in our life and career path is very important, and I am amazed by the positive impact MAGIC is bringing to the young women and the mentors .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

Magic is a great organization. Participating in Magic as a mentor is a great opportunity to use the skills I have learned over the years as a Computer Scientist to motivate young women to consider computing related careers. I have enjoyed working with my mentee toward a common goal and seeing her express her ideas throughout the duration of the mentorship. I have also gained a lot by participating and have learned a lot about myself in the process. This program is awesome and I appreciate the chance to be a part of it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to other schools.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

MAGIC is great! As an engineering student the opportunity to use my skills to teach and motivate a young girl is extremely valuable. I was able to grow a lot from seeing my mentee learn and apply her new skills in Computer Science.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

create a stronger community among mentors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2013

more

May 7, 2013

I am a first-time volunteer for getmagic.org. The vision of this organization is to get more girls involved in STEM related fields and one of the important aspects of this vision is to make sure that strong role-models are available to the girls. Role-models who are women and are intimately involved in STEM related fields. I believe in and respect this vision and through my first year with getmagic.org as a volunteer, I have seen this visiont make a tangible and significant difference to the participating girls. The best part is seeing the girls being inspired by small technological projects and seeing them use it towards thinking about a career in a STEM related field.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

I had a great experience volunteering for MAGIC. Although I live in another state, I was still able to participate fully in the program. My mentor and I met online and spent our time learning about computer programming and writing small programs. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in being a mentor or mentee in STEM topics, even if you can only do so remotely.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 8, 2012

more

October 8, 2012

I had a great experience volunteering as a MAGIC mentor; I have already recommended it to my colleagues and we have set up a pilot program between our organization, a local University, and a local Middle School that will follow MAGIC's process and work on the same principles. I had volunteered with several different types of STEM events in the past (science demonstrations, talks, and science fair judging) but was looking for a more personal and long-term project that had more flexibility than a coach or tutor - and I found it and more with MAGIC. As a first time mentor, they offered great guidance and support system but also let my mentee and I work independently. We really connected even though we had never met in person (although i would have loved to, and MAGIC would have made it happen); she was truly receptive to the things I had to say, and I found myself sharing things about my experiences that I might not have thought were important but actually did make an impact on her thoughts about STEM and how she approached choosing her major and career field. I really did feel that just an hour a week with her had a big impact, and we didn't even need to talk about technical STEM nitty-gritty every week. I would definitely recommend the MAGIC program to other mentors AND mentees!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2011

more

March 31, 2011

I joined getMagic as a mentor in 2010 and have been mentoring two girls so far. I work with the girls on STEM projects, discuss college choices and explore future career paths in STEM.

During my mentoring, I got fantastic support from the GetMagic management board, as well as from other
mentors. We have monthly meetings with other GetMagic mentors, as well as regular 1:1 meetings with the management board. The feedback I get from these meetings helps me very much in my work with the girls. It is great to see how much everyone from GetMagic is involved in supporting young girls interested in STEM.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In my work as mentor, I personally learned a lot about the challenges young girls interested in STEM have to overcome. It was also great to see how much this mentoring means to young girls.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I got to know a lot of very nice and helpful people. I learned how to keep young girls motivated in a project which they somehow have to fit into their busy student lives.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It is to see how much impact our work can have on young girls.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 29, 2011

more

March 29, 2011

GetMAGIC has been an amazing learning experience for not only my mentee but for me as well. The opportunity to meet with someone who shares similar interests and passions has been rewarding. She is so willing to learn, that coming up with creative ideas has been challenging but definitely worth it. MAGIC has made it possible to encourage female youths to hold on to their interests in technology and pursue it. MAGIC has created a positive community of encouragement and development and will continue to grow.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my mentee. When we meet together she always seems eager to learn and hear about new things. It has been a very rewarding experience for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand, but that is with most organizations. More people need to become aware of the wonderful things that MAGIC does.

March 25, 2011

more

March 25, 2011

Engineering and Computer Science are great well-paying fields and a degree can be achieved in 4 years of study, yet the percentage of girls who elect to major in these fields is low. There is a perception problem, and GetMagic seeks to overcome it by linking women in engineering and computer science careers with girls who have the potential to succeed in these fields.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

From my perspective as a Mentor, it is wonderful to be able to share my interest and excitement with someone who is so interested and eager to learn. Knowing that I am working with someone who already has an aptitude ensures this does not become a waste of time for either of us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My main concern is whether this single year of mentorship is enough to really have an effect. Eventually I'd like to see the organization provide statistics on how many mentees went on to Engineering and Computer Science fields.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers