Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.787885
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

The power of a positive female role model cannot be overstated. MAGIC is a wonderful opportunity for girls interested in technology to learn skills from a female mentor. My daughter participated as a 7th grader and had a wonderful mentee from Stanford University. Throughout the year with her mentee she learned and utilized several programming languages to create her first website. The guidance from her mentee helped frame the computer programming tasks within a larger university and work context. To boot she just had a blast spending time with such a cool young woman. Brava, MAGIC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

MAGIC is an amazing program and the experience I had impacted my future aspirations for the batter. Last year, I participated in the MAGIC program. I was in 7th grade and decided it would be a fun experience. I was interested in astronomy and astrophysics, but they didn't have a mentor for me in that field, so they went and found one. My mentor, Jessica Werk, was the best possible mentor I could have had. she was personable, kind, and a great teacher. We studies many difficult and engaging topics including computational programing, Hubbell's law, and trigonometry. When it was over last spring, I wanted to keep learning and exploring. MAGIC didn't just teach me knew facts, but a new way of looking at learning. I would love to do it again if given the chance, and would recommend it to anyone.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

My daughter participated in the program while in her 7th grade at GMS. She had previous experience with lego robotics and wanted to do more advanced robotics. The magic mentor program was a rewarding experience for her. Her mentor Sara introduced her to new techniques, hardware and software to work on a ambitious project to build a robot that cleans floors. My daughter learned a lot from trial and error and greatly valued the one-on-one time spent with Sara. I highly recommend this program for middle and high school girls.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

This is an amazing program! I was a mentee for a year and I learned so much about programming in Python. I know i will be able to apply the skills that I learned at MAGIC to any computing I choose to do in the future. This is a great organization and I am so thankful for everything I got out of it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2013

more

September 2, 2013

Magic is a great organization. Participating in Magic as a mentor is a great opportunity to use the skills I have learned over the years as a Computer Scientist to motivate young women to consider computing related careers. I have enjoyed working with my mentee toward a common goal and seeing her express her ideas throughout the duration of the mentorship. I have also gained a lot by participating and have learned a lot about myself in the process. This program is awesome and I appreciate the chance to be a part of it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to other schools.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 1, 2013

more

September 1, 2013

MAGIC is great! As an engineering student the opportunity to use my skills to teach and motivate a young girl is extremely valuable. I was able to grow a lot from seeing my mentee learn and apply her new skills in Computer Science.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

create a stronger community among mentors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 29, 2013

more

June 29, 2013

Magic is a really great experience. I enjoyed the time and very appreciate the knowledge that will help me guide through engineering in the future ! They helped open my eyes towards technology further

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do nothing its perfect !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

MAGIC is a great program! I met online with my mentor once a week, and it was incredible! My mentor, Ms. Tanya Gupta, taught me how to program using Java. I learned many different types of code as well as helpful tips for getting a career in the computer science field. I honestly really enjoyed this program and seeing myself get a head start in the STEM field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

What a truly "Magical" organization this is! My twelve year old daughter had a mentor who came to our home every week from October through May and spent time building and programming robots with her. It was so fun to hear them collaborating on their projects. The mentor was a great match for my daughter's personality and interests. Thank you for helping keep STEM interests alive and well in my home!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 7, 2013

more

May 7, 2013

I am a first-time volunteer for getmagic.org. The vision of this organization is to get more girls involved in STEM related fields and one of the important aspects of this vision is to make sure that strong role-models are available to the girls. Role-models who are women and are intimately involved in STEM related fields. I believe in and respect this vision and through my first year with getmagic.org as a volunteer, I have seen this visiont make a tangible and significant difference to the participating girls. The best part is seeing the girls being inspired by small technological projects and seeing them use it towards thinking about a career in a STEM related field.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers