Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Loving Dogs and wanting to rescue them from the many kill shelters, abandonments, etc., are part of every Dog Rescue’s mission. What separates German Shepherd Safe Haven (GSSH) and puts them in a league of their own are just two words, Their Founders!
Three years ago, founders Tom Williamson
and Jen Cheng had a vision to create a professional dog rescue that put mistreated and abused German Shepherds first at every step along the way in a carefully laid out quality adoption process. Their partnership, an experienced blend of dog knowledge, entrepreneurial talent and leadership skills, has paid great dividends!
Today, GSSH sets the Standard of Excellence for Dog Rescues!

The founders recognize that a tremendous amount of time and energy are required to do things the right way. Anything less is not acceptable. Every detail is attended to by these quality individuals.
Just two examples out of so many.
Jen and Tom have designed a first-class website to provide the GSSH dogs with the best opportunity for finding their forever homes. www.gssafehaven.org Check it out! This elite site, that now sets it's own standard, utilizes the founders exceptional photographic skills for presenting the GSSH dogs to potential Forever Families. The GSSH dogs get it and love every minute of the attention they receive in their photo shoots! They don’t mind the amount of energy and time that is required to make this forever memory!
Us humans have all kinds of reunions during our life spans. So what has Tom and Jen done for the GSSH dogs? They created the German Shepherd Safe Haven annual Family Picnic event giving the GSSH dogs a place to reconnect with old friends and above all else, showoff their Forever Families! Check out the 2013 event along with the enthusiastic efforts of all involved that contributed to these forever memories at
http://germanshepherdsafehaven.org/2013/07/27/german-shepherd-safe-haven-family-picnic-2013/
There are so many other examples of what Jen and Tom have accomplished that has contributed to making GSSH the best! Check out all the other reviews to learn more!!!

Tom and Jen have built, and continue to attract, a special TEAM of talented and dedicated Directors, Advisors, Foster Families, Volunteers and Donors to support them in all their efforts for carrying out the Rescue’s mission.
Under their leadership, they and their TEAM have risen to the many challenges presented and are eagerly prepared for the unlimited opportunities that lie directly ahead.
This great young organization, GSSH, is ready to take their spot on the 2013 GreatNonprofit’s Top-Rated List!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

German Shepherd Safe Haven is a wonderful organization, and I wished I would have known them before we got our beautiful German Shepherd from another organization. Because he was not the right fit for us, and we are not the right fit for him, but nobody tried to find this out. Some organizations only count the number of dogs they can place whether it fis or it does not. But the people from Safe Haven helped us with their knowledge to make a difference. When you adopt a dog from this organization you are never without their help and support, if you have questions etc., and that is be very important !
I just think, this orangization is amazing and I recommend them to anybody who wants to adopt a German Shepherd.
Wilu Nassios

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.... no changes should be made

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

German Shepherd Safe Haven is a terrific foundation. Not only do they love each and every one of these wonderful dogs that cross their path, but they also truly take care of them and put their needs first. They make sure the dogs are healthy, spayed/neutered, and up to date with all of their shots. GSSH is also sure to train and discipline every dog that is welcomed into the GSSH in order to make sure their new owners will be happy and satisfied with their new member of the family.
They have created an extensive process in order to adopt their German Shepherds. Not because they want to be difficult, but because they want to be 100% sure that each dog is placed in the right home in every single story. They have yet to have any unsuccessful stories, and I anticipate (with their process) they won't run into any. This process also helps "weed out" the people/families who aren't willing to go through all of the responsibilities an addition to the household can be. I instantly fell in love with every single dog I work with and met, and am so lucky to be able to meet new dogs and be a part of their journey. Thank you GSSH for creating this great community and organization! =)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread the word more about how amazing this organization is!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We volunteer and foster dogs in emergency circumstances, We also have adopted a great dog from this rescue, and continue to maintain a close relationship with them. All the staff at this rescue are helpful and knowledgable in the operation of the rescue. We could not be happier with our association with German Shepherd Safe Haven. Tom and his organization are totally devoted to the rescue and welfare of the German Shepherd breed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help Tom, founder of GSSH to find a larger property and more foster homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

German Shepherd Safe Haven stands head and shoulders above other rescue organizations. The priority is the dogs. So much time and attention is spent on really understanding the dogs in their care so that a successful placement can be made. When a family adopts a dog, they become a part of the German Shepherd Safe Haven family. Families are supported well after the adoption is completed. There is a true love of the animals and their well being even when the dogs have been placed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am an animal lover and have always loved the German shepherd breed. My Experiance with rescues has been some what of a love hate one. I think rescues begin for the right resons but some where a long the way loose their sight of what's important. German shepherd save haven rescue is 100% in it for the dogs! I was and am impressed with their adoption process. They are very dilagent in finding the dog a forever home so the do not end up back in the system. This is key, otherwise your not rescuing at all, your just rotating the dogs in and out of the system while collecting an adoptin fee. Any rescue can adopt out but not many "find homes". The relationship they form with the new adopters is close and they don't leave them feeling abandoned with this new dog they don't know. They really get to no the dogs and truly love these dogs. While I volunteered, they gave me information to learn about all of the dogs so I new what I was talking about to potential adopters. I give German Shepherd Safe Haven Rescue an A+ . Ronna Eckholm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

German Shepherd Safe Haven is a wonderful nonprofit rescue! I know Tom the co-founder was very drawn into rescuing German Shepherds, which influenced me to volunteer. Although this rescue is fairly new, they work their events and interviews with possible homes, like they have been doing this for years. The rescue is very professional, organized and most important they look out for the best interests of the dog and pairing them with the right family/owner. I appreciate the training and the time they took to teach us how to properly handle a dog before walking a dog or attending events. I also appreciate the communcation amoung the rescue, they always gave us detailed facts about each and every dog before attending an event. Allowing us to be familiar with each dogs. Everyone was very communicative and was able to help each other out when needed. I believe communication is key,without it, it could be a disaster and we would look disorganized and unprofessional. Lastly, this rescue is super fun! Tom, Jen and all the volunteers are always a joy to be around and give such a positive vibe to helping these dogs find a home. And I can not leave out all the amazing dogs I got to work with, I've never met any dog that I didn't like working at this rescue, they all were sweet and obedient dogs. I will always and forever be a volunteer for German Shepherd Safe Haven.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 11, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 11, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Tom and Jen are 100% for the dogs. In the short time they have been a rescue they have saved so many Amazing dogs. Any dog they rescue is a reformed animal before it is adopted. On top of being a top notch rescue the people behind the scenes are great people.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My friend fosters for GSSH and every dog she's had is a keeper. I am still amazed how many truly beautiful and amazing german shepherds end up in the shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Can think of nothing. They are on it.. Their booth is way more professional than any of the other rescues

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

It did.. Although I didn't foster for GSSH I now foster for an all breeds rescue by my house. I simply didn't have room for a large dog added to the three that are mine

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful and like I was helping and who doesn't like that.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers