Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

What a wonderful organization. They have saved so many dogs that would not be here otherwise. They are so supportive and have given both German Shepherds and their adoptive parents so many wonderful memories. I can not say enough positive things about them! They truly care!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

German Shepherd Safehaven is a special place. We have nothing but praise for this selfless organization that has a heart for the hurting and does something about it. We found our perfect pet "Kosmo" from German Shepherd Safehaven and it has blessed our life immensely.
The commitment of
this organization is unparalleled as they rescue beautiful animals and take the appropriate measures to make sure the dogs are placed in the perfect home for that animal. It is a job that Tom and his staff do not take lightly as they work very hard to make sure the care of these animals will never be compromised again.
We have the utmost respect for Tom and his organization and we are thrilled to be able to get together with the other rescued animals periodically and keep in touch with this special organization.
Jerry and Robin Springer
Ps Kosmo says thanks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am currently a one-person rescue group who helps stray, abandoned, neglected &/or injured animals. I recently helped a stray Shepherd mix that was wandering in a local park. After having him scanned for a microchip, knocking on doors & posting flyers, no owner was found. I reached out to GS Safe Haven because I knew they had the tools & resources to find this sweet boy a home. Being unemployed at the time, I desperately needed their assistance. They were friendly, gracious & helpful. We met so they could meet the dog & once they discovered what a sweetheart he was, they agreed to take him & named him Newman. The care they take with their dogs is AWESOME! You can tell they truly care about the dogs & take great effort in getting good photos for their website, detailed bios & they're genuine. Luckily Newman found a wonderful home rather quickly & what a happy ending it was. I am so grateful to them & appreciate their efforts. If I lived closer, I would certainly volunteer with their organization! They also pull dogs (even purebreds end up in shelters) from high kill shelters which is a real blessing. Please support & adopt from these great folks!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

They are top notch & spare no expense caring for their rescued dogs. Dogs are impeccably groomed & even get training while in their care. They are given much love & attention while in their care.

January 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

We adopted a female german shepherd from German Shepherd Safe Haven last summer. Not only was the organization extremely professional to deal with, but they sincerely care about making sure that the dog and family are a good fit. They also continue to follow up after the adopotion to make sure both owner and dog are happy. The dogs available for adoption are cared for in foster care and are well taken care of and socialized. They were a pleasure to deal with and I would recommend German Shepherd Safe Haven to anyone looking to adopt a German Shepherd.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My husband and I are fostering Eli and will be adopting him this week. It has really been a good experience overall. Tom continues to give us endless advice and support while introducing him into our home. One thing that is most apparent is that Tom loves these dogs. It is amazing to see the transformation in the dogs after he has rescued, rehabilitated, and trained. If you have ever wanted a German Shepherd, I strongly urge you to contact them. This rescue is all about their love of these magnificent animals and getting them happy homes!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 19, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am an animal lover and have always loved the German shepherd breed. My Experiance with rescues has been some what of a love hate one. I think rescues begin for the right resons but some where a long the way loose their sight of what's important. German shepherd save haven rescue is 100% in it for the dogs! I was and am impressed with their adoption process. They are very dilagent in finding the dog a forever home so the do not end up back in the system. This is key, otherwise your not rescuing at all, your just rotating the dogs in and out of the system while collecting an adoptin fee. Any rescue can adopt out but not many "find homes". The relationship they form with the new adopters is close and they don't leave them feeling abandoned with this new dog they don't know. They really get to no the dogs and truly love these dogs. While I volunteered, they gave me information to learn about all of the dogs so I new what I was talking about to potential adopters. I give German Shepherd Safe Haven Rescue an A+ . Ronna Eckholm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

German Shepherd Safe Haven is a wonderful nonprofit rescue! I know Tom the co-founder was very drawn into rescuing German Shepherds, which influenced me to volunteer. Although this rescue is fairly new, they work their events and interviews with possible homes, like they have been doing this for years. The rescue is very professional, organized and most important they look out for the best interests of the dog and pairing them with the right family/owner. I appreciate the training and the time they took to teach us how to properly handle a dog before walking a dog or attending events. I also appreciate the communcation amoung the rescue, they always gave us detailed facts about each and every dog before attending an event. Allowing us to be familiar with each dogs. Everyone was very communicative and was able to help each other out when needed. I believe communication is key,without it, it could be a disaster and we would look disorganized and unprofessional. Lastly, this rescue is super fun! Tom, Jen and all the volunteers are always a joy to be around and give such a positive vibe to helping these dogs find a home. And I can not leave out all the amazing dogs I got to work with, I've never met any dog that I didn't like working at this rescue, they all were sweet and obedient dogs. I will always and forever be a volunteer for German Shepherd Safe Haven.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 13, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 13, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

German Shepherd Safe Haven has consistently provided me with everything I could want and much more in the process of adopting my beautiful dog, Daisy. I was apprehensive about rescue organizations, as I had been told many seek to place dogs in any home without considering whether the situation is a good fit. Tom and Jen from GSSH worked with me through a series of steps to make sure everything was okay, from a trial boarding period all the way through finalizing the adoption. I continue to call them today with any questions I have, and they always promptly come to the rescue! I know they love their dogs very much and settle for nothing but the best care and service for them, and their clients.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 12, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

January 12, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

After volunteering for and adopting from several rescue organizations over the past ten years, I have been so impressed by the way Tom and Jen run GS Safe Haven. They really take the time to get to know their dogs before making them available for adoption - for a potential adopter, this is a DREAM! They take the time during the adoption process to make sure that the right dog is going to the right family. We adopted Frasier from GS Safe Haven last summer and he is one of the best dogs we have ever had the privilege to know (and love). Not only are Tom and Jen with you every step of the way through the adoption process, they consider you part of their family afterward - everything from advice to training to babysitting. If you are looking to add a german shepherd to your family, go to GS Safe Haven - you won't be sorry.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

We adopted our beautiful German Shepherd Cassie from German Shepherd Safe Haven in May 2011. We had talked to other rescue groups, but they all just seemed interested in how quickly they could place a dog, and not if it was the right fit. Jen and Tom really did things differently, and we were so impressed. After talking to us on the phone, they brought Cassie to meet us at a park near our house, to see how she reacted to our family and us to her. We have a cat and wanted to make sure the animals got along, and Jen and Tom brought Cassie to meet our cat to ensure things went smoothly. They also did a thorough home visit, and then told us to take a few days before making a final decision. They were so professional in all their interactions with us, and so caring with the dogs in their rescue. I can not recommend them enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers