Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We adopted Sheldon after losing our 10 year old and 14 year old Shepherds. GSSH saved Sheldon from death for a life with us, and without their commitment to rescue these beautiful and loving creatures, that would not have happened. GSSH really makes the effort to match personalities to insure the perfect fit for both dog and human, and we are proof of that!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

To be a nonprofit organization you have to love what you do. German Shepherd safe haven defines the word love; a profoundly tender, deep affection, and last but not least unconditional love. That's what you find when you get a dog from them. This nonprofit organization takes the time and energy to match you up with the right dog for your family. In our case this was very important due to our special need child. We as a family talked about getting a dog, a Lab or golden retriever, but never in our wildest dream we thought we would get a German Shephered.
It was a beautiful Saturday morning and I was at whole foods, that's were I met my handsome boy named Zach. We got to Forster him first, to make sure that he would get along with my special need child. Zach is a wonderful addition to our family. So thank you Tom Williamson and Jen Cheng for having a vision to create a professional dog rescue that helps mistreated and abused German Shepherds. We are the Paul family and proud of being associated with German Shepherd safe haven.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We were looking to adopt a rescue dog after losing our loving Lab after 13 years. We met German Shepherd Safe Haven on the Internet and read the story about their history and were really intrigued about their mission. After contacting them we found a group of volunteers that are willing to work with people to find a perfect match between the rescued dog and adoption family. We met the perfect dog, completed the adoption process and now have the best new family member.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Loving Dogs and wanting to rescue them from the many kill shelters, abandonments, etc., are part of every Dog Rescue’s mission. What separates German Shepherd Safe Haven (GSSH) and puts them in a league of their own are just two words, Their Founders!
Three years ago, founders Tom Williamson
and Jen Cheng had a vision to create a professional dog rescue that put mistreated and abused German Shepherds first at every step along the way in a carefully laid out quality adoption process. Their partnership, an experienced blend of dog knowledge, entrepreneurial talent and leadership skills, has paid great dividends!
Today, GSSH sets the Standard of Excellence for Dog Rescues!

The founders recognize that a tremendous amount of time and energy are required to do things the right way. Anything less is not acceptable. Every detail is attended to by these quality individuals.
Just two examples out of so many.
Jen and Tom have designed a first-class website to provide the GSSH dogs with the best opportunity for finding their forever homes. www.gssafehaven.org Check it out! This elite site, that now sets it's own standard, utilizes the founders exceptional photographic skills for presenting the GSSH dogs to potential Forever Families. The GSSH dogs get it and love every minute of the attention they receive in their photo shoots! They don’t mind the amount of energy and time that is required to make this forever memory!
Us humans have all kinds of reunions during our life spans. So what has Tom and Jen done for the GSSH dogs? They created the German Shepherd Safe Haven annual Family Picnic event giving the GSSH dogs a place to reconnect with old friends and above all else, showoff their Forever Families! Check out the 2013 event along with the enthusiastic efforts of all involved that contributed to these forever memories at
http://germanshepherdsafehaven.org/2013/07/27/german-shepherd-safe-haven-family-picnic-2013/
There are so many other examples of what Jen and Tom have accomplished that has contributed to making GSSH the best! Check out all the other reviews to learn more!!!

Tom and Jen have built, and continue to attract, a special TEAM of talented and dedicated Directors, Advisors, Foster Families, Volunteers and Donors to support them in all their efforts for carrying out the Rescue’s mission.
Under their leadership, they and their TEAM have risen to the many challenges presented and are eagerly prepared for the unlimited opportunities that lie directly ahead.
This great young organization, GSSH, is ready to take their spot on the 2013 GreatNonprofit’s Top-Rated List!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We adopted a 8 month old female german shepherd from this organization. The whole experience going through the motions was terrific. I would highly recommend them if you are looking to adopt. I think the biggest thing is that once you have adopted a puppy and have any questions or need advice the founders are always available.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

German Shepherd Safe Haven is a wonderful organization, and I wished I would have known them before we got our beautiful German Shepherd from another organization. Because he was not the right fit for us, and we are not the right fit for him, but nobody tried to find this out. Some organizations only count the number of dogs they can place whether it fis or it does not. But the people from Safe Haven helped us with their knowledge to make a difference. When you adopt a dog from this organization you are never without their help and support, if you have questions etc., and that is be very important !
I just think, this orangization is amazing and I recommend them to anybody who wants to adopt a German Shepherd.
Wilu Nassios

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.... no changes should be made

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

German Shepherd Safe Haven in an amazing organization. They take a lot of time with potential families and matching up dos. They encourage fostering before adopting so the dogs don't end up back in a shelter. They make an extra effort to save dogs from many shelters that are high kill shelters. They show so much compassion for all of the dogs. We fostered our dog through them, and adopted her a couple of months later. She's a great dog! People always stop me and ask about her and I tell them about GS Safe Haven.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

German Shepherd Safe Haven is a terrific foundation. Not only do they love each and every one of these wonderful dogs that cross their path, but they also truly take care of them and put their needs first. They make sure the dogs are healthy, spayed/neutered, and up to date with all of their shots. GSSH is also sure to train and discipline every dog that is welcomed into the GSSH in order to make sure their new owners will be happy and satisfied with their new member of the family.
They have created an extensive process in order to adopt their German Shepherds. Not because they want to be difficult, but because they want to be 100% sure that each dog is placed in the right home in every single story. They have yet to have any unsuccessful stories, and I anticipate (with their process) they won't run into any. This process also helps "weed out" the people/families who aren't willing to go through all of the responsibilities an addition to the household can be. I instantly fell in love with every single dog I work with and met, and am so lucky to be able to meet new dogs and be a part of their journey. Thank you GSSH for creating this great community and organization! =)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread the word more about how amazing this organization is!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We volunteer and foster dogs in emergency circumstances, We also have adopted a great dog from this rescue, and continue to maintain a close relationship with them. All the staff at this rescue are helpful and knowledgable in the operation of the rescue. We could not be happier with our association with German Shepherd Safe Haven. Tom and his organization are totally devoted to the rescue and welfare of the German Shepherd breed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help Tom, founder of GSSH to find a larger property and more foster homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

German Shepherd Safe Haven stands head and shoulders above other rescue organizations. The priority is the dogs. So much time and attention is spent on really understanding the dogs in their care so that a successful placement can be made. When a family adopts a dog, they become a part of the German Shepherd Safe Haven family. Families are supported well after the adoption is completed. There is a true love of the animals and their well being even when the dogs have been placed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers