Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am very proud to volunteer for the GSSH pack. This organization has such an incredible group of people who are completely dedicated to saving the lives of German Shepherds. Tom founder and Jen co-founder of GSSH, have built something amazingly special here in Orange County, CA! I absolutely LOVE this organization!!

Every GSSH dog rescued has their own before and after story. You can read about them over at the GSSH website. http://germanshepherdsafehaven.org

What’s truly amazing is that all of them seem to understand that their life has just been saved. GSSH adoptive pet parents can attest to this. In turn, our appreciative GSSH dogs are determined to reward their new best fit adopting family with an exceptionally close and enduring forever relationship. The bonds that are and will be formed are incredible! If you're planning to add a four-legged family member to your household, it doesn’t get better than that!

Check out our current scheduled Showcase Events listed at the GSSH website and then come on by and say hello. The GSSH dogs would love to meet you and show you their appreciation, just for visiting. And of course the GSSH volunteers would love to give you an up to date “411” on GSSH and their dogs!

If your looking for a close and enduring pet relationship, I certainly hope you’ll consider opening your home to one of our amazing GSSH dogs that is also looking for this kind of relationship with you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a donor to this organization since 2011. I have to say what attracted me to this organization is their dedication to the dogs. Some organizations you see out there it is all about stroking their personal egos and seeing how many dogs they can place in a year. Rescuing can be very challenging at times and sometimes you can be jaded and your mission might be steered in the wrong direction. Not GSSH they are all about the well-being of the dogs and nothing else. It is all about quality of placement of the dog, not quantity of dogs placed. They are a foster based rescue and know their dogs very well, when you know the dogs it is a lot easier to place them in a home. I used to donate to a couple other GS rescues and after seeing how GSSH operates, they are by far the most professional and the most welcoming group of people out there. If you want to donate to a reputable organization that actually treats their dogs as the center of attention. This is the one!! I am lifetime donor!!
September 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

GSSH is the best local nonprofit organization. You won’t find a more dedicated, professional and passionate group of people. My husband and I went to their annual picnic and it was awesome! What was so special was to look around and realize that all of those dogs had been saved and were in wonderful forever homes. My husband made the comment, “Boy I’ve never seen so many happy dogs in my life.” I’d say the “humans” were pretty happy too, knowing that they had made a difference as well.
September 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

GSSH has a warm and caring staff, who really want the best for the dogs in their care! They are professional and kind. The dogs are well-behaved as well as beautiful! Tom and his staff are the absolute best!

Heidi Kendle
September 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My daughter and I are new volunteer for GSSH. In our short time with the group we have learned that the founders and the other volunteers care deeply for all of the German Shepherds. The founders take great care to match the dogs with their Forever Families. It is clear that the dog is first in all considerations. The dogs they rescue are well mannered and trained.

My daughter has always loved GSD and when we met one of the founders, we decided it would be a great way to spend time with these beautiful and intelligent dogs without actually owning one. But, if we were to adopt a German Shepard, we would do so from GSSH because we know that the dog would be matched to us and more importantly, we would be matched to the dog.

I have read some of the other reviews and most say it so much better than I can.
We enjoy the Monthly Showcases where we meet the public (potential adopters) and give them information about the organization and the dogs. It is very true about the description on their website: “a fun group of people who find joy in simple things like a tail wag or a sloppy doggie kiss” The tail wags and abundant sloppy doggie kisses are a wonderful way to spend a few hours a month.
September 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 7, 2013

German Shepherd Safe Haven is a terrific foundation. Not only do they love each and every one of these wonderful dogs that cross their path, but they also truly take care of them and put their needs ... more

September 17, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

GSSH is the greatest local nonprofit organization. I am proud to say I am a volunteer with this organization. They really have a passion for German Shepherds and put the dogs needs first. They really take the time necessary to ensure their furbabies are going to a forever home and will be happy and safe. I always recommend the GSSH and hope to one day adopt a furbaby from them myself. Such an inspiring, genuine organization. GSSH is the best! =)
October 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

German Shepherd Safe Haven is a terrific foundation. Not only do they love each and every one of these wonderful dogs that cross their path, but they also truly take care of them and put their needs first. They make sure the dogs are healthy, spayed/neutered, and up to date with all of their shots. GSSH is also sure to train and discipline every dog that is welcomed into the GSSH in order to make sure their new owners will be happy and satisfied with their new member of the family.
They have created an extensive process in order to adopt their German Shepherds. Not because they want to be difficult, but because they want to be 100% sure that each dog is placed in the right home in every single story. They have yet to have any unsuccessful stories, and I anticipate (with their process) they won't run into any. This process also helps "weed out" the people/families who aren't willing to go through all of the responsibilities an addition to the household can be. I instantly fell in love with every single dog I work with and met, and am so lucky to be able to meet new dogs and be a part of their journey. Thank you GSSH for creating this great community and organization! =)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spread the word more about how amazing this organization is!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 16, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I am so impressed with how GSSH cares for thier dogs, they have clearly made it their priority to always do what is best for the dogs. GSSH takes their time to make sure the dogs get the right vet care, love, training the proper food etc. Its never about numbers or just getting the dog a home, its about taking the time and making sure all of the dogs under their care has everything he or she needs to live a healthy , happy life in an amazing forever home! It makes me happy to see they are saving so many dogs from these nasty kill shelters , and giving them a new life!!!!!
September 16, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 16, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

German Shepherd Safe Haven is not only a place where helpless dogs are given a second chance but it is also an organization that educates people about the misconception of the German Shepherd breed. There are thousands of abandon German Shepherds currently in the United States, most of them will never be given a second chance to live out their lives in a loving home. When I first volunteered for this organization, I loved that they are so different from other rescue groups. Every decision they make is for the greater good for the dog and the dog only. It is not for profit or just giving them out like christmas presents. They truly love and respects these precious dogs and tries to do the best they can with whatever they can offer. I am so grateful to have found an organization that shares the same passion as many of us dog lovers.
September 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I'd spent the majority of my adult life doing Collie Rescue. I had my own rescue for several years before eventually merging it into an all-So. CA inclusive Collie Rescue and becoming a member of their board of directors. I finally retired from rescue in 2008, ready to enjoy life, feeling I'd done my fair share of animal rescuing. A few years later I became aware of GSSH and met Tom Williamson. I was so impressed with the organization and the way it was run, I called Tom and offered our services to do "emergency, short-term fostering". Needless to say, before we knew it, we were much more involved than we'd ever planned and found ourselves adopting Wrangler, an absolutely fantastic, approximately 7 month-old, male Shepherd. Wrangler went through training and is now a certified service dog. This was not what we'd planned for our retirement years, but fate intervened and Tom and GSSH worked their magic. After all my years in rescue, it's not difficult to determine the good rescues from the bad and even easier to recognize those that are absolutely terrific. German Shepherd Safe Haven is absolutely terrific! They take the time to work with their rescued dogs, find the perfect adoption matches and follow up after adoptions are finalized. They've earned and deserve every 5-star review they receive.
September 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 10, 2013

Loving Dogs and wanting to rescue them from the many kill shelters, abandonments, etc., are part of every Dog Rescue’s mission. What separates German Shepherd Safe Haven (GSSH) and puts them in a le... more

September 14, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

At the beginning of 2013, I made a new years resolution to begin donating a few hours of time each month to a worthy cause in my community. I began to look for a Non-Profit organization that would be a good fit for me. I had learned that millions of dogs were being euthanized each year primarily because they were in the wrong place at the wrong time. Since I loved dogs, I decided to seek out an organization that was truly dedicated to providing an alternative to this senseless killing. I checked out the local dog shelters and dog rescues as possible places to volunteer my services.
GSSH management described their young organization as “a fun group of people who find joy in simple things like a tail wag or a sloppy doggie kiss”. They were looking for volunteers to assist them at their monthly show case events, (holding dogs, greeting and talking with potential adopters, providing information and answering questions about their rescue). This sounded like a fun and healthy environment for me to achieve my personal goals of giving back. I filled out an application on line and they immediately put me to work.
I am now into my second year volunteering with GSSH and this organization is everything they have advertised! Not only is this a fun organization that deeply cares for the dogs they rescue, but they are truly appreciative of their volunteers.
Below is a video they put together to express their appreciation to the many GSSH volunteers that are making a positive difference in the rescue efforts of the GSSH dogs. GO AHEAD AND CHECK IT OUT!

http://germanshepherdsafehaven.org/2014/04/11/video-celebrating-gssh-volunteers/

If anyone is looking for a fun way to give back to their community, consider donating a few hours a month with GSSH where the tails are wagging and a lot of sloppy doggie kiss’s are awaiting!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Loving Dogs and wanting to rescue them from the many kill shelters, abandonments, etc., are part of every Dog Rescue’s mission. What separates German Shepherd Safe Haven (GSSH) and puts them in a league of their own are just two words, Their Founders!
Three years ago, founders Tom Williamson
and Jen Cheng had a vision to create a professional dog rescue that put mistreated and abused German Shepherds first at every step along the way in a carefully laid out quality adoption process. Their partnership, an experienced blend of dog knowledge, entrepreneurial talent and leadership skills, has paid great dividends!
Today, GSSH sets the Standard of Excellence for Dog Rescues!

The founders recognize that a tremendous amount of time and energy are required to do things the right way. Anything less is not acceptable. Every detail is attended to by these quality individuals.
Just two examples out of so many.
Jen and Tom have designed a first-class website to provide the GSSH dogs with the best opportunity for finding their forever homes. www.gssafehaven.org Check it out! This elite site, that now sets it's own standard, utilizes the founders exceptional photographic skills for presenting the GSSH dogs to potential Forever Families. The GSSH dogs get it and love every minute of the attention they receive in their photo shoots! They don’t mind the amount of energy and time that is required to make this forever memory!
Us humans have all kinds of reunions during our life spans. So what has Tom and Jen done for the GSSH dogs? They created the German Shepherd Safe Haven annual Family Picnic event giving the GSSH dogs a place to reconnect with old friends and above all else, showoff their Forever Families! Check out the 2013 event along with the enthusiastic efforts of all involved that contributed to these forever memories at
http://germanshepherdsafehaven.org/2013/07/27/german-shepherd-safe-haven-family-picnic-2013/
There are so many other examples of what Jen and Tom have accomplished that has contributed to making GSSH the best! Check out all the other reviews to learn more!!!

Tom and Jen have built, and continue to attract, a special TEAM of talented and dedicated Directors, Advisors, Foster Families, Volunteers and Donors to support them in all their efforts for carrying out the Rescue’s mission.
Under their leadership, they and their TEAM have risen to the many challenges presented and are eagerly prepared for the unlimited opportunities that lie directly ahead.
This great young organization, GSSH, is ready to take their spot on the 2013 GreatNonprofit’s Top-Rated List!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers