Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

There is no more effective advocate for the natural resources of the entire state than the Georgia Conservancy. At a time when some discussions involving the environment tend to produce more heat than light, the voice and activities of the Georgia Conservancy are thoughtful, balanced and respectful. As a result, the Georgia Conservancy achieves real measurable outcomes for the environment while promoting sustainable economic growth for the state. In addition, it provides very enjoyable and instructive activities for its members which help to create a broader awareness of Georgia's natural resources.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 23, 2012

more

November 23, 2012

Simply put, there is no greater advocate for the preservation of the state of Georgia’s natural resources than the Georgia Conservancy.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Mission, vision and passion. The team at Goergia Conservancy exhibits all of these. And the entire organiation including the members and volunteers all work together to support the importamt mission of protecting the land and water of Georgia. I hope everyone in Georgia will take the time to learn about Georgia Conservancy and get out into this beautiful state and understand for themselves why the GC mission is important.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I got involved in The Georgia Conservancy because of its practical, progress-oriented approach to protecting Georgia's unique natural resources, promoting sustainable growth practices and advancing sound environmental policy. Unlike many flame-throwing special interest groups that rely on stoking peoples' fears to attract support, the Conservancy instead leads and achieves results by (i) convening diverse interests to identify common ground, (ii) building on consensus among diverse interests to achieve policy advancements and constructive change on a sustained basis, and (iii) making sure that policy advancements, one enacted, are not rolled back. Making informed judgements that balance science, the political environment and economic considerations, the Conservancy embraces incremental progress over the short-to-intermediate term as a means of achieving broader and more material environmental protections over the long term. In today's era of extremist-led, divisive politics, where "all-or-nothing" approaches increasingly yield "nothing" as opposed to "all," the Conservancy's balanced, measured approach is an exemplary model for achieving solutions to complex, contentious public policy iniatives.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

As one of the fast growing states in the nation, Georgia has many challenges when it comes to the conservation of natural resources and solving environmental problems. Georgia is blessed with abundant natural resources and the Georgia Conservancy works hard to find sustainable solutions to our growth. Saying "no" is easy but looking for well reasoned solutions to the environmental challenges we face is hard. But it is in this space that the Georgia Conservancy acts. It is regarded as one of the best problem solving environmental groups and is well respected within our State for the work it does.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

Georgia Conservancy is an amazing organization that I will volunteer and assist however and whenever I can. I am an African American woman who was so very happy when I found Georgia Conservancy. They have helped to bring the beautiful outdoors to me, like never before! They have sparked my environmental awareness of water conservation and land conservation. I have become a better steward and more conscientious about my environment. My most favorite adventure,(because when you go out with Ga Conservancy, you will have a FUN adventure, yes, even when working!) We went to beautiful Ossabaw Island. I NEVER had so much fun working hard and meeting amazing people (and whole families) We cleaned up the gorgeous marsh and beach,scrubbed down the bunk house from windows to porch inside and out, built picnic tables, and took a tour of the island. The highlight was standing on the porch as a herd of WILD DONKEYS, yes! Wild Donkeys ran pass as I stood on the porch! There were all kinds of animals running around. My friends wait anxiously for me to post my adventures about the wonderful natural resources right here in the great state of Georgia!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

First, let me tell you all the selfish reasons that I am a part of the Conservancy. The member trips are fantastic, I get to know places that are off the beaten path or that have limited public access. The trips are well planned and well supported, special dietary needs are considered in meal planning, camping equipment and boats are made available for those who don't own them and there is always an educational component so I really learn about the area. There is a great sense of community on these trips as well and I have met great friends on the Conservancy trips. The members are smart, active and share an interest in outdoor activities and ecology. Because of my participation in the conservancy I paddle and camp with friends that I may never have crossed paths with in my regular travels. Now the greater benefits of being involved with the Conservancy. On my own I can pick up a little trash but when I partner with the Conservancy we can remove a ton of trash from our rivers in one morning, we can build trails or picnic tables or clean and repair buildings or support a historical festival. Partnering with the GA Conservancy gives me scope to use my time, talents and energy to protect and improve the environment that is so important to me. There are opportunities available to the group that would not be available to an individual and there is a multiplier effect for labor, monetary contributions and our voices. GA Conservancy provides the research and resources for becoming politically involved in our environment. There are well reasoned statements and links to further information available for current ecological issues that our lawmakers are actively considering. Finally, I am a part of the GA Conservancy because it is so easy to be involved and there are events to appeal to a wide variety of interest. Myself, I peruse the website and plan more of my life than I should admit around their upcoming trips and if I have a open day on the weekend I look at their Meetup group The Georgia Outdoor Stewards to see if there is an event scheduled. If I have company I often take them to Conservancy events with me because I know the quality of the events is high and we will have a great time. If you love being outdoors and you live in Georgia then you need to be a part of the Georgia Conservancy, it is as simple as that.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Ga Conservancy does such an awesome job helping fellow Georgians become aware of all the natural resources Ga has to offer. Regular updates on environmental issues important to Georgians and timely reminders of the incredible trips they plan for all explorers from all walks of life to participate in. How else would you see Cumberland Island, Sapelo, Cloudland Canyon, the Flint River, the Altamaha, snorkeling inthe Conasaug and many more of Georgia's treasures, upclose and personal! Ga. Conservancy is life-changing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

The Georgia Conservancy leads fun and educational trips throughout the state of Georgia. I've enjoyed every single trip I've been on. The service trips are a great way to give back while having a good time with an interesting group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have participated in several trips sponsored by the Georgia Conservancy and I am constantly amazed how the organization is able to infuse their advocacy, land conservation, sustainable growth and coastal habitat preservation programs into fun, affordable and easily accessible hikes, paddles, camping and service trips. The staff is kind, knowledgeable and always willing to educated. By partnering with other organizations, they are able to expose those whom normally would not be in touch with the natural environment. It is not uncommon for transportation, food, lodging (cabin, tent... etc) or gear to be provided or included in the trip donation rates.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers