Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
123.293145
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Thank You Ladies for your posting. Everone can now tell that this is a family of 3to4people and thier little freinds who are Disgruntled with our Rescue/Foster program and who are posting gargage to discredit us with no proof sent to us.and that nothing we could do will make them feel Better.


To great Non-Profits,
You have allowed people to post the proper name of a person who has nothing to do with Georgeanns Homeless Hounds this could and may result in a law suit againts you and your company.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

I am originally sunflower93 but had to make a new one for everyone to actually see this. This is towards "snowbrid". When you say that a vet is supposed to call the shelter/lady that I adopted my puppy from and tell them that my puppy is sick with parvo.. please just stop and ask yourself that question again. Why should my EDUCATED vet that I visited 2 times a day for a week have to call the so called "vet" I spoke to on the phone and tell him hey this puppy is sick with parvo? That is ridiculous. That is the reason he is a REAL vet because he told me that my pup was sick with parvo, giardia, hookworms, etc. But the "vet" I spoke to on the phone had no idea and still claimed the puppy had her shots. Bullshit, the puppy had nothing in her body. No food, no water, no medicine, no shots. My friend is a vet assistant and took one look at her and told me how sick my puppy was and these so called professionals that deal with animals everyday couldn't see that? This shelter is a joke. Why doesn't anyone see that? Most of these complaints are from people whose animals died (like my puppy) or are very sick. Oh and when I called "Georgeann" (real name is Sheila Brewer) she told she to "shut the hell up" and passed the phone to some guy who claimed to be the vet and told me that my vet should of called him.. Well that doesn't seem right that a vet should have to call another vet, I'm sorry. So the "vet" got mad because I found out the little game they are playing with the fake papers showing the dog had her shots. He finally hung up on me. Real professional, I know. No other vet would hang up on a customer, am I right? So "snowbrid" everything you just said is irrelevant. Sorry to tell you the truth.
October 9, 2014

more

October 9, 2014

This post is in response to animalgirl56. This reply is rather lengthy too because I wanted to explain what transpired as you seem to be a reasonable and educated person. I am sure you know that there are always two sides of a story. I am the mother of sunflower93 and I was there when we met “Georgeann” to adopt the puppy on a Sunday afternoon. My daughter was elated when she saw the puppy and instantly decided to take it. We believe in the goodness of people that care for animals and did not think anything further about the whole “adoption” process. My daughter paid her $200 in cash, but did not get a receipt. (If this organization is non-profit, we should get a receipt so the donation can be claimed on the income tax return.) The puppy seemed fine, rather small for a Rottweiler mix, but very tired on the car ride home. Once we got home one of my daughter’s friends who is a vet assistant saw the puppy and immediately asked “what is wrong with the puppy?” We didn’t know what she meant but she said the puppy looks listless and she pulled up the fur and it stayed up – a sign of dehydration. We immediately gave the puppy some water. A few minutes later the puppy had diarrhea. We thought it is the result of the deworming the puppy had a week earlier. The puppy slept a lot the following day (Monday); did not want to eat, only drank water and continued to have diarrhea. It started to vomit early the next morning (Tuesday) and we immediately took her to our vet. When he saw the puppy, his first comment was “This is a very sick puppy.” He tested the puppy for Parvo with the ELISA test and it came back as a strong positive. (I have a picture of the test result on my cell phone.)
When I got home from the vet, I immediately called “Georgeann.” She did not answer and I left a voicemail on her phone. I left a message to inform her that the puppy was diagnosed with Parvo and asked her to call me back. I left two phone numbers, however, I never received a return phone call. My message was very polite; I did not accuse her of anything nor did I ask for the money back. I wanted to make sure that she knew that one of her puppies has Parvo so she could make necessary arrangements to protect the other dogs. (What would “Georgeann” have done? Give us the $200 back or offer us another puppy?).
Anyway, we took two trips per day to the vet’s office for IV hydration with Lactated Ringers, injections of Vitamin B and injections with different antibiotics. After two days she seemed to get better; started to eat something, but then on the third day (Thursday) declined again. Then the vet tested her for intestinal parasites – the results were that she was infested with Giardia, Coccidia, and hookworms. We continued IV hydration treatment, antibiotic and Vitamin injections and deworming medicine, however, the puppy got weaker and weaker. After six days of intensive treatment, she died in my arms. I also have to add that the whole week we fed her every hour with a syringe because she did not want to eat. She did not gain an ounce. It was the vet’s opinion that she got over the Parvo virus, but her little body was so weak and malnourished right from the beginning that she could not fight off the intestinal parasites. Her tongue and gums were white, a sign of anemia, but she died before we could drive her to the emergency vet clinic for a blood transfusion. We spent $500 on vet bills with several discounts from the vet because I think it became a personal quest for him to save that cute little puppy.
On another note – the puppy was a Rottweiler mix and 7 weeks old. Now I do not know with what she was mixed, but a 7 week old Rottweiler should weigh approx. 10 lbs. Our little puppy only weighed 2.6 lbs. when we got her. She was obviously malnourished and dehydrated when we got her from “Georgeann.” If she really cares for animals, then she has to make sure they get adequate food and water. My daughter called her right after the puppy died and I agree that it was a bad time to call her. She did not scream at her but was visibly upset. “Georgeann” passed the phone to the “owner and vet” and after saying a few words to my daughter he hung up on her.
Further, after examining the Exam Check List from “Georgeann,” this paper does not seem legit. It looks like everything was checked off as normal on a blank Exam Check List, labels for Parvo and canine distemper vaccines were attached, deworming medicine was written in on the bottom and then a copy was made. On the copy only the dates and initials are handwritten in with a pen. The labels for the Parvo and canine distemper vaccines are copied, so how do we know the puppy really received these vaccines? Also, there are only initials from a “MB”. Shouldn’t there be a name of a vet with the license number listed on the exam check list? Who is MB? If MB is a vet, then he needs to list his full name and license number on that paper.
You also wrote in your post that there was another Rottweiler puppy left and the adopter possibly backed out when reading the reviews. “Georgeann” told my daughter that she was getting the last puppy. Then on another note, my husband has a personal friend who used to work for Animal Control and is now an investigator for animal fraud. He stated that according to his database, there were a lot of complaints filed against “Georgeann.” You even admitted that several animal control agencies investigated this organization but all claims were unfounded. Well, if you run a good and legit RESCUE organization, then there should not be ANY complaints at all.
Sunflower93 and PUPPYLOVER101 are two different people with the same heart breaking experience. If “Georgeann” is really interested in making this situation right, then post a reply and we will attempt to call her again. Like I mentioned before, what would she do? Give us the $200 adoption fee back, reimburse us for the $500 vet bills, or give us another Rottweiler mix puppy? Our home has to be disinfected with a 1:30 bleach solution; we should not adopt another puppy for several weeks or even months as the virus is very difficult to get rid of.
October 5, 2014

more

October 5, 2014

To all the ones who have bad things to say about this foster pogram you should realy thank about what you are doing with no facts. If you close a rescue down you have sent a lot of kids to there death. Then if you are going to say provo you should have the vet. prove it. It could be nothing other then hooks, rounds or tapes. One case they told the parent it was parvo and all it was coxceida or gardia so for 45,00 dollars the puppy was find. And i could go on and on but why?Most of the time people that wright these bad thimgs never wright back and say they were wrong. Most of all this web page was made for peple who had a good repore with a rescue or foster pogram not for a knock page. And you had only two puppies with suposid provo what about the rest of the puppys that are happy and healthy and there was 6 rotties & 5 rotties/mixies. Why are they not dead? And were is the proof your puppys are? Oh because you say so. Most of the time a vet.would call when there is a break out , so the group can get help for the rest of the anaimls in the homes. So with that you ladies have a good day.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 14, 2011

After reading the malicious allegations made against Homeless Hounds I was absolutely stunned. By the way, for those of you who don't know what an allegation is, it means that you asserted that somet... more

October 4, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This response is rather lengthy, but I feel compelled to defend Homeless Hounds against the claims made by sunflower93 and PUPPYLOVER101. I am very familiar with Georgeann’s Homeless Hounds and hope that you will read this before allowing such negative feedback to keep you from adopting from this wonderful foster/rescue.

First off sunflower93, you did not BUY a puppy, you adopted one. As far as meeting in a Walgreens parking lot, where do both of you find the problem with that? Why would you risk having an unknown person(s) come to your home? I sure wouldn’t. There are several other rescues that meet in the same parking lot because of it being public and well lit. Also, PUPPYLOVER101, you met her in Homosassa because that’s where you were told the adoption was to take place, which you knew from the beginning. That statement makes no sense whatsoever.

Secondly, to claim that both puppies had Parvo is ludicrous and ignorant, and PUPPYLOVER101, why would anyone in their right mind even adopt a puppy when you “noticed that she didn’t look well?” I saw both litters of puppies and all of them were healthy, well cared for, never socialized with other dogs or each other, and came from a very clean environment. If your puppies had Parvo, every puppy in those litters, as well as any other puppies in the same environment, would be dead instead of having healthy and happy lives in their new homes, all save one. The last puppy was supposed to get his home, but the adopter backed out at the last minute. Hopefully, it wasn’t because she read your shameful posts.

Parvo is contracted from oral contact of infected feces and usually takes 5-10 days, and even up to 2 weeks to show up. A serum test (ELISA) can be performed for a quick diagnosis, but false negatives do occur. The more precise tests are required at outside laboratories. It’s protocol for the vet who diagnosed the illness and/or animal control to contact the rescue, which didn’t happen. So how is it that your puppies, from two different healthy litters, were diagnosed with Parvo seemingly overnight? Were the puppies hospitalized, hydrated or given antibiotics or some other type of medication? Did you get death certificates? Since this is such a serious virus, there is no way, sunflower93, that your puppy would “seem to be getting a lot better and now it looks like she has only a couple hours left to live.” Another parent who adopted from the same litter took their puppy to the vet and had a Parvo test run. There was no sign of the virus.

Thirdly, sunflower93, that woman’s name is Georgeann and she would never ADOPT out a sick puppy. If you’re going to make malicious and vindictive claims, then at least get your facts straight. The only awful and nasty people in these scenarios are the two of you. I’ve dealt with very few people who love and care for their animals like she does. In fact, the Humane Society of the United States, the Humane Society of Pinellas, SPCA of Hernando County, Hernando County Animal Control along with several veterinarians have established that any adverse claims made against her rescue/foster program were UNFOUNDED. You can get a copy of the report from Hernando Co. Animal Control. Even Connie Brooks, executive director of the SPCA Largo, along with a cruelty officer, went out to Georgeann’s property in response to a false claim and found absolutely nothing wrong.

I happen to know that at the end of each adoption, she tells the adopter that if they have any problem with their puppy to call her immediately, and she will attempt to resolve the situation in any way that she can. However, what both of you did was call and start screaming at her after the so-called events (PUPPYLOVER101, I’d hang up on you too if all you did was scream at me). Making sure that both the puppy and adopter are happy is of the utmost importance to her. What I would really like to know is why you two didn’t behave like mature and sensible adults, call Georgeann immediately, and try to work things out with her instead of attacking her in such a hateful manner?

So, each of you adopted a puppy from a different healthy litter approximately 10 days apart; they both became ill and diagnosed with Parvo within a day or so; they both died suddenly; Homeless Hounds should be shut down; and both of these claims were posted on the same day. It almost appears that both of these posts were scripted—just an observation.
June 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

After reading the malicious allegations made against Homeless Hounds I was absolutely stunned. By the way, for those of you who don't know what an allegation is, it means that you asserted that something was true WITHOUT PROOF! Not one shred of evidence has ever been presented to back up your ridiculous claims, which are just vicious and cowardly. Your actions are nothing but a witch hunt out to destroy one of the best rescues I've ever dealt with. Oh, and let's not forget that her lawyer offered hush money, which is a statement too inane to dignify with a response.

You people say that closing down rescues is for the good of the animals. What about those legitimate rescues you take pride in shutting down? When they're no longer operational, you tell me how many animals are "saved" when good rescues aren't there to take them anymore?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the lengths in which this exceptional and compassionate couple will go in order to make sure an animal has the best possible care and love.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do absolutely nothing. Far be it for me to even think I could do a better job than George and Georgeann.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

My purpose was and is to bring unwanted animals to Homeless Hounds, including those that have disabilities. George and Georgeann don't even hesitate to take those with special needs.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

My donations are given to help with the care of the animals until they can find a forever home.

What would you tell others about this organization?

That anyone can rest assured that Homeless Hounds will take care of all an animal's needs, including lots of love.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

There is a great deal of information on the internet about parvo and other alments that efect puppies and dogs .
Please educate yourself before you offer your opinion.
Myself finds it difficult to Belive that people would adopt an animal that was sick and pay an adoption fee .
Then
would not take it for a second opinion from a second. Vet.
Instead they want to blame the rescue or breeder for there STUPITY.
These people also feel that they can have a rescue or breeder closed down.
AGAIN PLEASE EDUCATE yourself before you voice a STUPID opinion.
I also find it a mark of this socicity that a lot of people want to get something for nothing.
If you want insurance on the health of the pet there are places that can provide that.
It is up to you not animal control , the S.P.C.A , HUMANE SOCITY , THE BREEDER OR RESCURE SO GET OFF YOUR DUFF AND DO YOUR HOME WORK BEFOR YOU VOICE AN OPINION.
AND GET YOUR OWN INSURANCE ON YOUR NEW PET.
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

This is towards "snowbrid". When you say that a vet is supposed to call the shelter/lady that I adopted my puppy from and tell them that my puppy is sick with parvo.. please just stop and ask yourself that question again. Why should my EDUCATED vet that I visited 2 times a day for a week have to call the so called "vet" I spoke to on the phone and tell him hey this puppy is sick with parvo? That is ridiculous. That is the reason he is a REAL vet because he told me that my pup was sick with parvo, giardia, hookworms, etc. But the "vet" I spoke to on the phone had no idea and still claimed the puppy had her shots. Bullshit, the puppy had nothing in her body. No food, no water, no medicine, no shots. My friend is a vet assistant and took one look at her and told me how sick my puppy was and these so called professionals that deal with animals everyday couldn't see that? This shelter is a joke. Why doesn't anyone see that? Most of these complaints are from people whose animals died (like my puppy) or are very sick. Oh and when I called "Georgeann" (real name is Sheila Brewer) she told she to "shut the hell up" and passed the phone to some guy who claimed to be the vet and told me that my vet should of called him.. Well that doesn't seem right that a vet should have to call another vet, I'm sorry. So the "vet" got mad because I found out the little game they are playing with the fake papers showing the dog had her shots. He finally hung up on me. Real professional, I know. No other vet would hang up on a customer, am I right? So "snowbrid" everything you just said is irrelevant. Sorry to tell you the truth.







I bought a rott mix from this lady on sunday who had me meet her in a walgreens parking lot. She handed me the puppy and her tail was wagging and she looked so happy to see me. The next day she slept all day and did not eat. The day after that she started throwing up and started having diaherra so we took her to the vet. He told us she has PARVO and probably wouldn't make it. I've had her for 4 days now and she seemed to be getting a lot better and now it looks like she has only a couple hours left to live. To the lady below me, I am sincerely sorry for the loss of your pup. I cannot believe that woman would sell sick puppies to anyone. What an awful person. She deserves to be shut down!! I cannot even believe I am going through such a horrible situation like this right now. PLEASE IF ANYBODY READS THIS, DO NOT BUY A DOG FROM THIS NASTY WOMAN!!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I MET HER IN THE BACK OF A PARKING LOT TO ADOPT MY DAD A ROT PUPPY FOR HIS BIRTHDAY......I HAD TO MEET HER ALL THE WAY UP IN HOMOSASSA......WE NOTICED THAT SHE DIDNT LOOK WELL AND TOOK HER TO THE VET THE NEXT DAY AND FOUND OUT THAT SHE HAD PARVO......WE CALLED THE DAY WE FOUND OUT AND GOT HUNG UP ON.....AFTER PAYING $300.00 TO ADOPT HER AND NUMEROUS VET BILLS SHE ENDED UP PASSING AWAY DURING THE NIGHT.......HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE AND I DO NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO PURCHASE A DOG THROUGH THEM.....THEY NEED TO BE SHUT DOWN IMMEDIATELY!!!!!!!!
May 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

FOUND OUR DOG KATIE THROUGH PETFINDER (GEORGEANN'S HOMELESS HOUNDS) BACK IN 2004.
WE HAVE HAD HER EVER SINCE AND HAS BEEN A LIFE CHANGING EXPERIENCE FOR US. SHE IS THE BEST DOG AND IS ALWAYS WILLING TO PLEASE. SHE TURNS 10 YEARS OLD IN JUNE THIS YEAR. WE MOVED FROM THE ST. PETE AREA YEARS AGO
TO NORTH FLORIDA BUT WOULD RECOMMEND GEORGEANN AGAIN AND AGAIN. JUST WANTED YOU TO KNOW SHE IS FINE AND WELL. THANK YOU ! GEORGEANN FOR BRINGING US OUR BEST FRIEND EVER!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

March 26, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I have always wanted a German sheapard and due to my schooling and career have never had the time to properly care for an active dog until now. I have searched all over the internet and I found Georgeanns Homeless Hounds. I called and spoke with Georgeann and after looking at the puppies she had I could not make up my mind on a boy or a girl. Georgeann offered to meet me with one of each and we arranged a place to meet that was convenient for both of us. Upon meeting them I fell in love with both but decided to take the boy home with me who was a little over six weeks old. She had all the paperwork for him as well as well as paperwork for him having his first set of puppy shots. I was extreamly impressed with how well cared for the puppy was and how organized she was with all her paperwork. Her fee for him was very reasonable and I am glad to have purchased my new dog from her and not a puppy mill. I took Rocky to get his second set of shots and my vet told me I have a perfectly healthy dog and was impressed that they took the time to take care of his first set of shots as well as having all the paperwork that went along with it. I could not be happier with my new addition to my family and looking forward to possibly adopting from them again because they were AWESOME!!!!!
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers