Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
123.3645
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

FOUND OUR DOG KATIE THROUGH PETFINDER (GEORGEANN'S HOMELESS HOUNDS) BACK IN 2004.
WE HAVE HAD HER EVER SINCE AND HAS BEEN A LIFE CHANGING EXPERIENCE FOR US. SHE IS THE BEST DOG AND IS ALWAYS WILLING TO PLEASE. SHE TURNS 10 YEARS OLD IN JUNE THIS YEAR. WE MOVED FROM THE ST. PETE AREA YEARS AGO
TO NORTH FLORIDA BUT WOULD RECOMMEND GEORGEANN AGAIN AND AGAIN. JUST WANTED YOU TO KNOW SHE IS FINE AND WELL. THANK YOU ! GEORGEANN FOR BRINGING US OUR BEST FRIEND EVER!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have always wanted a German sheapard and due to my schooling and career have never had the time to properly care for an active dog until now. I have searched all over the internet and I found Georgeanns Homeless Hounds. I called and spoke with Georgeann and after looking at the puppies she had I could not make up my mind on a boy or a girl. Georgeann offered to meet me with one of each and we arranged a place to meet that was convenient for both of us. Upon meeting them I fell in love with both but decided to take the boy home with me who was a little over six weeks old. She had all the paperwork for him as well as well as paperwork for him having his first set of puppy shots. I was extreamly impressed with how well cared for the puppy was and how organized she was with all her paperwork. Her fee for him was very reasonable and I am glad to have purchased my new dog from her and not a puppy mill. I took Rocky to get his second set of shots and my vet told me I have a perfectly healthy dog and was impressed that they took the time to take care of his first set of shots as well as having all the paperwork that went along with it. I could not be happier with my new addition to my family and looking forward to possibly adopting from them again because they were AWESOME!!!!!
February 17, 2014

more

February 17, 2014

my 17 year old son found this "rescue center" online and he called the lady and she had him meet her and a man in the back of a parking lot. they were parked where the license plate was not visible. my son payed $360.00 for the dog. on her papers it said she was a German Shepard. when we took her to the vet they said she was husky, she might have some German Shepard in her. she also had ear mites and the first two weeks we had her she drank tons of water because of dehydration and had diarrhea. I think it is unacceptable to sell a dog to a 17 year old. if you were a rescue why are you asking $360.00 for a puppy that was probably dropped off to you and not wanted and you only take cash, interesting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shut down because they are not doing it for the animals, just for themselves

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is not a facility. It is a foster program. They take in anamils from all over the state to help find them a new home.There for you can not come on to visit. All pets you adopt or purchase should be check by your vet.and is your respondibity. This dose not make the recue or a breeder a bad organization. Please understand that you do not need to maintain a store front or facilty to help animals in need of a new home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would try to stop internet grenlins who always find harmful things to say no matter what helpful people try to do and any vet.will tell you to have your pet check for paricites on a regular interval.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I was looking on adopt-a-pet and came across a cute puppy from this rescue. I called about her and was told the puppy was going to be put down by a breeder because she's the wrong color. The puppy was taken away from her mother at three weeks old. She had received one set of shots and had been given worming medicine. I took her home at almost 8 weeks old. She came to me with explosive diarrhea. I was told by Georgann that it was the worming medicine given 2 weeks ago. When I took the pup to the vet she was diagnosed with a parasite Giardia. I now am caring for a sick 8 week old puppy who is on the verge of dehydration from hourly diarrhea. I can't believe a truly legit rescue would adopt out a sick puppy afnd claimed to have been "checked out by their vet". My first clue should've been when she asked to meet me in a parking lot instead of her facility. I feel as though I just contributed to a horrible practice.

This is my second post as an update. My puppy finally pulled through the bacterial infection she came to me with, however something was missed. Apparently she had also contracted tetanus. It has a long incubation period (2-60 days). I don't have proof of where or how she got it but when she was with me she never was injured or scratched or cut. I read that a mother can pass it on to her young. It makes my skin crawl to think that my baby was in horrid conditions with this woman and contracted so many bad things. Georganne even told me NOT to take her to the vet. That there was no need. Well I regret to inform you that after my pup overcame the first bacteria, she was not able to overcome the second one. My baby died in my arms. I wish someone would listen and raid this facility. I have filed complaints with the SPCA and humane society. I urge anyone else who had similar experiences to do so. Otherwise they will continue getting away with their dirty heart breaking habits.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Inspect and shut down

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I don't know about the conditions at the Homeless Hounds facility because we were not allowed to go there. They insisted that we meet them at a fast food place to see the puppies which she said were Chorkies. They brought one male and one female. We picked the male which she charged us $300.00 for. The puppy was barley 6 weeks old and had been taken from it's mother when 3 weeks old, so he had not been wormed, no shots and we had to pay for his neutering. The reason we contacted this woman was because the puppies were listed on Adopt A Pet as rescues but as we drove home and thought about what had transpired we became convinced she was running a Puppy mill.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down because I don't believe it is nonprofit

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 25, 2013

more

September 25, 2013

Well, I was just on here to see if Georgeann's Homeless Hounds was still operating so I could adopt another dog from them and happened upon this. I can't believe some of the stuff written about "slaughter ranch" and all that business. Anyway, I adopted a 4 year-old Pomeranian many years ago. He was a great dog and died at 12 a few years back. They came to my house (as all rescues do to assess your living conditions before adopting out a dog) and they were great. They checked my second-floor porch to make sure it was screened in so he could not fall. I didn't even think of that as a factor! I thought that was very responsible. He came to me freshly groomed with his shots. I received his prior vet paperwork and the reason for his relinquish from his previous owner (she gave him up because he was aggressive). He was a well behaved dog and it seemed that Georgeann had trained him well. He was housebroken, clean and friendly. That is why I would adopt from them again. This dog was socialized, trained and did not have one ounce of skittishness around people. I would assume that if the animals are treated terribly that maybe the adopted-out older dogs would be frightened of people a bit. I don't know about donations to relinquish dogs, but the donation I gave was only 150 which is right on target with other rescues to adopt from. I got a wonderful dog who made everyone giggle with his goofy bark. He rarely barked, but when he did it was one big "WOOF" that sounded like he had been smoking a pack of Marlboro Reds his whole life. And when they came to deliver him to me and check my background they said, "If Sammy barks at a sound... you know to go get your gun and call 911." And a truer statement couldn't have been made. He was a superb watchdog. I think they wouldn't have said this if they didn't spend considerable amounts of time with their animals. They really knew my adopted pet's personality. From what he liked, what he didn't like and all his quirky habits. Upon leaving Sammy with me, Georgeann was emotional and worried he would miss her and to not get upset if he didn't take to me right away because he had been at the rescue so long and bonded with her. Well, he was a bit sad but then took to us and especially my couch right away where he remained King of the Castle until his death in 2011 of heart failure. I know this sounds like an obituary for the greatest dog of all time, but it's really a testament to how I felt, and what I feel today for this organization. I hadn't had any alarm bells go off with the organization's demeanor, professionalism or operation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

July 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This place needs to be shut down! I truly feel they are taking donations from people and making the animals suffer or just killing them! I found two dogs and contacted numerous rescue groups, whom btw all said they were full but this group was very quick to say they'd take them in as long as I pay a hefty donation! I then learned of horror stories about this rescue group so I asked to adopt the dogs back..they kept giving me the run around and didnt want to adopt the dogs back to me. Finally, I was able to get them back after two weeks. One of the dogs died from being so malnourished !! I think this place is a scam and they are just calling themselfs a rescue group to make money!! Help shut these awful people down!
Ps. It is very odd the only good reviews they have are from people who "work" there!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 30, 2012

Georgeann and George are actually Mike and Sheila Brewer of Pinellas County, FL. The address they use for their "non-profit" is a liquor store in St. Pete. They live in Brooksville, FL on the same an... more

June 1, 2013

Oh Look...More proof! Another Fact written about the Slaughter Ranch by another victim!!!!!

"Many of you know me and i rarely DNA someone myself unless they TRULY make me ill at the thought of having dogs. To call yourself a rescue and treat animals in this manner is horrible- I had
asked around about her after i found out that 2 dogs were sent to her for rescue with a hefty donation! Red flags came up right away so i asked around... many of you responded back and NOT ONE comment was good-- hx with AC, always meets away from her "ranch", adopts out unfixed, so on and so on painting a NOT "rescue appropriate" rescue. SO i immediately told the person who sent the dogs to her. She adopted them back only a few days later as she had no idea. The dogs came back minus the donations of course....she just wanted them back out of harms way.. THis is HER actual account in a short version of what her 1:1 experience has been with her.
Again Georgeann met in Weeki Watchee away from her property. SHe was "very rough with them. They had choker collars on which I don't agree with. She was yanking them around way too hard." After she seatbelted the dogs into the adopters car, " she started hitting him on the head saying be a good boy. I looked at her and she said it's just a game we play. She told me she has a few properties. So who knows where these dogs are at. We started talking about her dogs on her property. She has like 45 and then 15 in the house. "... ON HER SITE http://www.georgeannshomelesshounds.com/ Click on where it says adoptable pets. You'll see that is says none are available. Where are the dogs at?? why are they not listed anywhere and hidden? why can't anyone come to the ranch ?? the foster the dogs are at now said the dogs eat like crazy and they appeared to be skinnier in just the week they were with Georgeann. So who knows if being fed or cared for honestly.... noone will know i guess.
and the FINAL hit to it all and MOST APPALLING is what she said before she left from dropping the dogs off with their new "adopter"...
"She said that when dogs become sick she can't stand them in pain. So brace yourself for this... She has her husband go out and shoot them!! "

WE NEED TO GET THIS RESCUER SHUT DOWN__ pls Contact the Hernando AC at 352-796-5062 and ask they look into her ! This is the least they should do just to ASSURE the dogs are being cared for and NOT being shot outback!!! something is NOT right at all! We have had a few bad rescues shut down this year and last .... we need to take action for the dogs sake! they are suffering no doubt... or about to be SHOT!"


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SHUT THEM DOWN!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 30, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Georgeann and George are actually Mike and Sheila Brewer of Pinellas County, FL. The address they use for their "non-profit" is a liquor store in St. Pete. They live in Brooksville, FL on the same and ONLY property where the few animals they actually do have are held. The property is on 2.5 acres. There is not 40 acres like they tell out of state rescues in need of believing they've found refuge for an unwanted animal. There are NO other ranches helping them out to house animals they take in. There is NO onsite veterinarian and they are backyard breeders selling puppies for profit.
These people do not care for any of the animals given to them, it is simply a cash cow. They somehow always "slip through the cracks" of the authorities due to the "good ole boy" system in Hernando County, people who chose to believe their garbage, and found loop-holes in system.
Anyone that has handed over an animal to them, I ask you, have you EVER followed up to see how the animal was doing? Have you ever had proof of the actual foster or adopter??? I doubt it. Why? Because there aren't any. Why? Because they take the cash and "bye bye" goes the animal. One gunshot usually does the trick. Georgeann's (Shiela) friend and big reason she's gotten away with this for so many years just happens to work at the county landfill.
Has anyone seen the property? Interesting how so many animals are handed over to them, transported from all over the country, but none are actually there. Where are they?
To the person who posted about the cat that you wanted to take back and put into a nice foster home...George (Mike) was horrible to you because the cat was already done away with. Guaranteed.
Oh, and they've been known to dump the animals at various high kill shelters too.
It's also interesting that no one in the Tampa Bay area knows much about them but many people out of state do. Why? Because remaining under the radar will allow them to keep up this scam and keep all of the desperate pet owners and out of state rescue people in la la land thinking they found a loving place for the animals they've given up or supposedly placed in good hands.
I also ask you this. If not one single rescue group around has an ounce of space for an animal in need, why and how does Georgeann's Homeless Hounds ALWAYS have the ability to say "yes" ? Do they miraculously have an unending amount of land, available adopters and money in order to care for the hundreds of unwanted animals they take in? The answer is no and will always be no.
One day, the whole truth will come out. I hope I'm there to witness it.
BEWARE!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 4, 2013

more

March 4, 2013

Does anyone know about their claims of working off community service by paying them? I heard if you pay 150 they will give you 80 hours of community service . is this legal? Its out in the middle of no where and you are not allowed to bring cell phones or anything like that .. I am to stay for three days working for them for 150 and i get 80 hours community service ...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers