Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Everyone there is a pioneer of ethical, compassionate, healthy living, and I continue to reflect upon what I experienced during my stay. As soon as I arrived, I was met with love, patience, and acceptance; and the learning started immediately. While I had stopped using animal products for some time prior to my trip, I didn't fully understand the role and virtue of veganism until I went to Gentle World. The food was delicious, the people were great, and the work on the farm was intensely satisfying; and I also enjoyed doing my "cheers," a word they use instead of "chores." Maybe the best way to sum this review up is that I hope to go back as soon as possible!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 6, 2012

more

November 6, 2012

The 3 weeks I spent at Gentle World changed my life forever! It was the first time I felt so much honesty and connectedness in a group of people working towards a common goal. After one week of staying there I adopted a vegan lifestyle which for me until today, is the most profound transformation I ever allowed my self to experience! A blessing for my life and the entire creation! Thanks so much to you dear people at Gentle World! You make a big difference in many lives!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Gentle World distinguishes itself from other nonprofits promoting nonviolence by focusing on veganism as an essential and integral part of avoiding unnecessary violence in our lives. First and most importantly, veganism avoids unnecessary exploitation and violence inflicted on innocent nonhuman animals. Secondarily, a plants-only diet (i.e. the dietary component of veganism) has far reaching effects in sustainability and reducing our ecological footprint by reducing consumption, waste, and pollution. A plants-only diet also solves the most widespread health problems facing large, affluent human populations, including heart disease, high blood pressure, strokes, cancer, diabetes, and many other diet-related diseases.

Gentle World engages in vegan education -- online, through multi-day, overnight education programs, and through special events -- to inform and inspire people from all over the world about the many diverse benefits of veganism touched on above, as well as how to go about adopting vegan attitudes and living, from the “big picture” of a philosophical paradigm of avoiding unnecessary violence in our lives, to the small details of label reading and delicious animal-product-free recipes for traditional favorites such as lasagna.

After over nine years of experience in exploring many nonprofit organizations dedicated to reducing unnecessary violence toward both human and other animals, I am convinced that Gentle World is one of the most, if not the most, undervalued nonprofit organizations in existence today.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Gentle World open hearts and minds to what is possible. Compassion, sustainability and health are at the core of this group. They offered me many opportunities to do outreach for myself and with them. They are an inspirational and dedicated group to making this world a better place for every being.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 3, 2012

more

November 3, 2012

When I first went to Gentle World I wasn't entirely sure what to expect. What I found there was a group of people dedicated to living a compassionate life and to teaching others about it. Though I can be an introverted guy at times, I found myself wanting to spend every possible moment that I could with these remarkable and inspiring people. They will always hold a dear place in my heart. The dreamer in me hopes that more individuals like them are growing every day. They are a blessing to this world and to all those they meet.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I've been impressed and inspired by Gentle World's valiant efforts to spread the vegan message for many years. I have found the articles on the Gentle World website to be consistently excellent in terms of both creativity and skill in articulation, as well as passion in articulating the ideas that i feel are the most important for people to be considering today. I especially appreciate Gentle World's consistent insistence on liberation for all nonhuman animals, as well as their awareness of the spiritual, cultural, and psychological dimensions of the issues. Besides their website, Gentle World does hands on outreach and activism, and also works as a living/learning/education center to demonstrate the viability of vegan community in our world today. They've also published a terrific vegan cookbook and other materials to help spread the vegan message, and thus to me stand out as one of the most benevolent, insightful, helpful non-profit organizations.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Finding Gentle World's website was a revelation to me and continues to inspire me to continue my quest to help others to follow the path of respect for our fellow creatures and our planet. To know there is a working environment that is sustainable with no use of animal products is important to the world at large, to teach the students that are involved with it as well as to prove it is possible in a society that might say it is not. Gentle World is a shining example that is a comfort and an inspiration to all that hope to create a better future for ourselves, the planet and all its creatures.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Over the years I have contributed to animal rights and animal welfare organizations, but since discovering Gentle World two years ago, it has become my favorite foundation. The main reason is that the members of this community live the lifestyle that they teach. And they welcome everyone to come and learn firsthand what they have learned from decades of experience about creating a harmonious world for all sentient beings.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

My grandson and I were so inspired and encouraged by this organization and the community members. We viewed a powerful film called Earthlings that we would recommend to any one who is searching for the truth about how the commercial animal businesses are processing our fellow beings. We volunteered at the community in Hawaii where we where treated in a fair and supportive way. The food was tasty and the accommodations where clean and beautiful. I would recommend this organization to anyone who is open to learning by immersion about eating ethically and for well being. We hope to return to this lovely place where we met new friends!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012

more

October 15, 2012

I began volunteering for Gentle World in 2000. Since then, I have become so inspired by this organization's mission that I have made it my life's work. I am now Gentle World's Director of Outreach, and I am excited to see what we will be able to achieve in the years to come. I encourage all those who are passionate about building a more peaceful world to get in touch and volunteer your time. You won't be sorry!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Get in touch with us to find out what we have going on! Who knows? Maybe your specific skills could be helpful to our current projects. Volunteer