Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.524595
Write A Review
October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 11, 2012

I am a volunteer and a member of the Board. Working with these horses and GGDHR is an amazing experience. Each horse has a different story and is given the proper medical attention, food, training, ... more

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I haven't written in over a year and I thought it time to update my review. We are the proud of owners of two Gentle Giants Draft Horse Rescue alumni -- a Clydesdale and a Belgian. Both horses are doing quite well and living the life of Riley. The charity tried something new for 2013 -- fundraisers. We usually rely on the kindness of donors across the nation. Knowing that times are hard everywhere, we thought we should attempt to raise money in other manners. We are very new at this and could use event planning/fund raising professionals. It certainly is an art that we are willing to learn. The horses continue to thrive in our care and we owe it all to our volunteers and to donors. Thank you for your support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would ask for more volunteers so that each horse could have their own personal human to work with them, groom them and spoil them terribly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2012

I am a volunteer and a member of the Board. Working with these horses and GGDHR is an amazing experience. Each horse has a different story and is given the proper medical attention, food, training, care and lots of love in the hope of being able to send it to a home that will show them the love they deserve. Most arrive in deplorable condition and over time turn into some of the lovely, gentle animals you can see on our website. When I leave the barn, I am exhausted, dirty and smell like horse, but you know what? I feel good inside and I know that I made a difference in the lives of whichever horses I worked with that day. I approve of how the money I donate is spent and I invite others to give to this worthy organization. A special thanks to our volunteers -- we couldn't continue without your dedication and spirit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the permanent home placement of several horses. It is our goal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

There was an article about them in our local paper. We donated to the organization, then started volunteering on the weekends.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Rehabilitate, retrain and rehome the draft horses that are currently in our care and continue to educate the public on this issue

What is its top priority in the long run?

To stop the slaughter of horses

December 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

After looking for a horse rescue to volunteer for, I finally met the folks at Gentle Giants. I was amazed! They were open, caring and did not hesitate to answer any questions I had. The barn, fencing, etc were clean, intact, and solid. No seconds for this rescue! From that day on, I was hooked and have volunteered for a few years in any way possible. As a volunteer, I was also welcomed to the Board of Director meetings and learned more in-depth how well run this rescue is. The care of the horses is top-notch and the vet is on speed-call and will answer 24/7. Gentle Giant's main purpose is to save drafts and draft-crosses from slaughter. With the help of volunteers and donors, Gentle Giants continues to work towards giving horses in a bad place a new chance at a safe and loving life. I was pleased to be given the privilege join the BOD's and will continue to drive 1-1/2 hour each way, one to three times a week, to help Gentle Giants continue to fulfill it's promise to the far-too-many drafts in need. And THANK YOU to our very hard working volunteers! You all make this possible!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I found GGDHR in 2007 while looking for an organization devoted to making a difference in horses lives, especially the drafts. Instilled in the organization were the same virtues and values of horsemanship as my own. Equally, I was impressed by the dedication and sacrifice made for the care of the horses, I knew this was a place I wanted to volunteer. In 2010 I received a formal invitation to join the Board of Directors, to which I happily accepted. It would give me the opportunity to lend my voice to the silent victims and help to ensure a brighter future for those horses. Although I sit on the BOD, I continue to volunteer my time with the retraining. This is what I love about Gentle Giant Drafthorse Rescue, We are all volunteers and you may never know who you might find mucking stalls , even the President herself . My wife and I have now adopted 2 drafts through GGDHR.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help feed and care for all 64 horses in residence! Volunteer