Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.524595
Write A Review
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I started volunteering this past summer. I learned that the staff and founder are set with focus and conviction. The work they do for the drafts is unselfish, humane, and full of patient compassion- day in and day out.
I spent more than 20 years working with horses . I taught lessons, showed
hunter-jumpers, broke 2 year olds, and was an exercise rider.
I know a little about the treatment of horses. In the past I spent many weekends at the auctions looking for schooling ponies among the many horses that did not get rescued by a lucky break.
Christine and her staff have provided a second chance for so many horses on a beautiful farm with an awesome and tireless staff. They work hard to get the job done every day. They are caring and friendly with a strong conviction for how they care for their horses, staff and volunteers. They work hard and care even harder for their horses, and are not afraid of having a little fun at the end of the day. Gentle giants will always have my support, even if I can only be there a few months of the year. They deserve as much support as they can solicit. Support the Gentle Giants!
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I've been volunteering with GG for about 6 months and it's my home away from home. I've never met a more devoted set of volunteers, and a knowledgable staff who not only know their horses very well, but appreciate their quirks. I don't know what else to say...it's like being your true self and having an amazing support team and amazing horses to guide you on your way while you in turn our your heart out to these creatures that deserve love and compassion and tons of snuggles :)
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I have volunteered at Gentle Giants for several months. Everyone there works hard and its really all about the horses. As a volunteer, I have been able to participate in varied experiences such as accompanying them to auction/on a rescue and performing in a drill team exhibition at a county fair. I have already learned so much and really feel a sense of accomplishment. You can do chores/work that are interesting to you or you have experience with as well as learning new things. They are also so dedicated to their horses, giving them each individualized feeding plans and combinations of indoor/outdoor time depending on their needs. This makes more work but helps each horse to thrive. They are also realistic about their horses, giving potential adopters all of the information about the horse not just the positive points.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2013

I started volunteering at the rescue about three years ago. My entire experience has helped me expand my horizon and knowledge in the horse world as far as rescue, rehabilitating, retraining, and reho... more

September 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I first started volunteering over 3 years ago. When I started I was only 12 years old. When I came to the rescue I had just left a different barn where I was told I was to short and young to ride anything over 13 hands. My first day at the rescue I was put on a 17.3 hand horse! I love that everyone is given such a fair opportunity. Since then the rescue has grown and upgraded to a new 109 acre farm. In the past 3 years I have assisted on rescues, adoption appointments, training, and many more things! I have learned so many great things and really had a ton of fun. I am one of the youngest volunteers and I couldn't ask for a better place. It truly feels like a huge family! The opportunities are endless at Gentle Giants! One day you could be training a horse, and representing the rescue at a world horse expo the next! I have gotten to ride and develop many skills at the rescue. I have been able to participate in many shows and events as well. The people are knowledgeable and fun to be around. I truly recommend contacting the rescue to learn about the opportunities at Gentle Giants!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing at all!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I started volunteering at the rescue about three years ago. My entire experience has helped me expand my horizon and knowledge in the horse world as far as rescue, rehabilitating, retraining, and rehoming these amazing creatures. Since the beginning I have found my dream horse and continue to work with her every chance I get. The rescue is very good at training the volunteers as far as their experiences in the barn and with the horses. Safety is a strong element that the rescue enforces strictly. Riding and Training is done in an organized manner and the rescue is conscientious about the rider and horse team they pair. I am highly impressed by the skill, dedication, and heart the volunteers, trainers, and staff put into carrying the day to day chores. I recommend Gentle Giants very much.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Having volunteer meetings one a month.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I have been volunteering at GG for a few months now and it is my escape. It's heaven on earth for me. It doesn't matter what kind of day I'm having I know that if I can make it to Gentle Giants I can forget all the bad and all the stress. I can do something I love to do. Be in an atmosphere I love to be in. I can comfort and be comforted by their amazing horses. It is my greatest joy to volunteer my time to Gentle Giants. GG staff is always there to guide and appreciate the work we do. Whether it's your first time around horses or you've been around them your whole life, there's always a learning experience with GG. Gentle Giants is one big horse loving family and I am more than happy to be apart of it.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I have been a devoted volunteer for about two years now, working at least two days a week for the rescue. Great people, worthy cause. Many, many horses have been saved, rehabilitated and rehomed. It's a joy to play a small role in the work of Gentle Giants.
January 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Over two years ago I was looking for a place to volunteer where I could be outside, be around horses, and continue to learn and grow as a person. GG was the answer to my extra time and energy, and desire to be involved with people who are dedicated and conscientious. Volunteering 2 days a week has made such a difference in my life, and I am grateful for the continuing opportunities that the rescue organization provides. The volunteers are valued and the horses treated with respect and dignity. It is a kind and interesting place to volunteer, well organized, with tasks accomplished in a skillful manner.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to secure more land and facilities so more horses could be cared for. See what winter intervention could be available for the weather temps to be double digit, less wind, sunny always, and snow/sleet only after dark.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 14, 2013

I volunteer regularly, and it's the highlight of my week. The farm is beautiful, the horses are so well cared for-Christine, Art and Alyssa go the extra mile to make sure that they are well cared for ... more

January 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteer at Gentle Giants on a weekly basis and am awed by the loving care that the horses receive. The staff and volunteers do their very best to rehabilitate these horses, many of whom came from miserable experiences. For example, there is one volunteer who used her annual leave from the government to work daily for a month, with one of the horses who is very fearful and who has "issues". She was able to help the horse to accept blanketing, touching around the face, longing on a long line, etc. Her dedication is matched by the staff and other volunteers. It's a great place to "work".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a partner to donate land and care of retired and non-adoptable horses so that our resources can be used to rescue, rehab and adopt more horses who are in danger.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteer regularly, and it's the highlight of my week. The farm is beautiful, the horses are so well cared for-Christine, Art and Alyssa go the extra mile to make sure that they are well cared for and everything that can be done to rehabilitate the horses is done. This rescue is a gem

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2014

more

January 30, 2014

I have been volunteering with Gentle Giants since 2012. I was able to use many of my already known horse skills. Gentle Giants also taught me new skills that pertained to draft horses. I have been able to take lessons and show these incredible horses. I have gown with the organization to auctions to purchase horses that would have possibly gone to slaughter. I also have helped horses be adopted. When horses have become sick or injured I have learned how to help with their rehabilitation. I have learned so many aspects of the rescue from working with the animals to administrative duties. Gentle Giants Draft Horse Society has taught me so much about the care of draft horses and the welfare of animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None The organization is always growing and changing to meet its own needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 29, 2014

more

January 29, 2014

I started volunteering at gentle giants in 2012, i needed something to do in my spare time and absolutely loved horses! When I found GG I had to give it a try and I absolutely loved it, GG has changed my life. Iv had wonderful experiences, iv gotten to tend to auctions to help bring theses horses to a safe and secure place in hopes to find them loving homes, instead of having their life end in horrible matters. Iv gotten to work one on one with these animals and build wonderful bonds, and to even make one of them my very own! GG makes sure that these horses are place appropriately to the right homes and make sure both person and horse match! Iv been well educated with the way the process works with going to auction and what is the meat buyers price, and a safe home price. Some people think that spending loads of money is saving them from the meat buyer, but they are far from right. The meat buyers won't spend tons of money, and people think that buying horses offline that says "buy now their in the kill pen" are just paying boat loads of money to brokers, when in reality these horses where never in the kill pen. I could go on about so much I have learned but in all reality I would recommend gentle giants to anyone! You will learn so much and it's a life changing experience and I thank gentle giants for bringing my horse and I together it has forever changed my life for the better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help feed and care for all 64 horses in residence! Volunteer