Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.472735
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Gentle Giants is the first rescue I've ever met that will take on ANY case, be it neglect, abuse, or keeping these animals off of the slaughter-bound trucks. I've known them to go so far as to purchase a horse that was clearly not going to recover, just so they could bring it to their farm for food and affection before its ailment takes them away. They do home checks, keep in touch with their adopters, and clearly state that if for any reason you are no longer able to care for the animal, they will take it back in. I wish all rescues were as top notch, caring, and "in it for the animals" and not their pockets as these folks are. In particular, Christine H. who is the President and Angel behind GGDHR couldn't be more suited for her cause. She brings these animals in, some from the brink of death. They are taught to ride, drive, or if not suitable for either - are taught love, and respect. They are shown, compete regularly and given a purpose until rehomed. For a Gentle Giant - life couldn't get any better.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 11, 2012

I am a volunteer and a member of the Board. Working with these horses and GGDHR is an amazing experience. Each horse has a different story and is given the proper medical attention, food, training, ... more

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I haven't written in over a year and I thought it time to update my review. We are the proud of owners of two Gentle Giants Draft Horse Rescue alumni -- a Clydesdale and a Belgian. Both horses are doing quite well and living the life of Riley. The charity tried something new for 2013 -- fundraisers. We usually rely on the kindness of donors across the nation. Knowing that times are hard everywhere, we thought we should attempt to raise money in other manners. We are very new at this and could use event planning/fund raising professionals. It certainly is an art that we are willing to learn. The horses continue to thrive in our care and we owe it all to our volunteers and to donors. Thank you for your support.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would ask for more volunteers so that each horse could have their own personal human to work with them, groom them and spoil them terribly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2012

I am a volunteer and a member of the Board. Working with these horses and GGDHR is an amazing experience. Each horse has a different story and is given the proper medical attention, food, training, care and lots of love in the hope of being able to send it to a home that will show them the love they deserve. Most arrive in deplorable condition and over time turn into some of the lovely, gentle animals you can see on our website. When I leave the barn, I am exhausted, dirty and smell like horse, but you know what? I feel good inside and I know that I made a difference in the lives of whichever horses I worked with that day. I approve of how the money I donate is spent and I invite others to give to this worthy organization. A special thanks to our volunteers -- we couldn't continue without your dedication and spirit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing the permanent home placement of several horses. It is our goal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

There was an article about them in our local paper. We donated to the organization, then started volunteering on the weekends.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Rehabilitate, retrain and rehome the draft horses that are currently in our care and continue to educate the public on this issue

What is its top priority in the long run?

To stop the slaughter of horses

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I adopted a horse from Gentle Giants back in November of 2012. Prior to the adoption, I was invited to take some riding lessons at the rescue on the mare to ensure she and I would be a good fit. The rescue volunteers and staff provided lots of information about the mare and what was known about her history so that I could make an informed decision to adopt. The mare has been with me for almost a year now and she is thriving, greatly due to the care and initial training she received at the rescue. Additionally, I have kept in touch with several of the staff and volunteers so that they can see all the great things my mare and I are doing, thanks to their hard work. I would absolutely recommend Gentle Giants to anyone looking not only to adopt, but for anyone considering adding a horse to their home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the website a bit more interactive.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Passionate folks that are very educated on rehab and care of all equines. They go the extra mile for the equines in their care and speak on behalf of the others locally and nationally. I appreciate all their hard work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Been volunteering for several years, and the level of caring and knowledge never fails to impress. Staff is dedicated and generous with their time, donations are put to good use.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more land

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Ollie320, does it really make a difference what caused the horse's eye injury as far as supporting the efforts of this organization? This horse was abandoned, or put for adoption, or for whatever reason ended up in in the hands of charitable people when it well needed it. For me this is enough. I will send them a contribution.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

It is unfortunate that ollie320 focused on the graphic photo of the horse with the eye injury rather than researching whether Gentle Giants is a reputable rescue. It is a fact that the “captive bolt” can result in shredding eye sockets and the skull. The letter I received does not say that the eye condition of the horse pictured was a result of “captive bolt.” Even though it wasn’t, the picture implies the animal is in extreme pain due to his condition that came on naturally. It helps one imagine the same pain, but due to infliction of torture rather than nature. In any event, I cannot understand how anyone would refuse to support this cause based upon a photo. I make my decision to donate to animal rights charities based upon the written content of their request --- the facts they share with me about the issues. The letter I received from Gentle Giants was very compelling and informative. After reading it carefully, to understand their message, for extra measure I contacted the Humane Society of the U.S. which verified this is a very reputable rescue, that does things right and works hard to help and protect the animals. Therefore, I gladly sent a donation, and contacted my Senators, Representative, the Senate Majority Leader, the Speaker of the House, and the President urging them to oppose the Slaughter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I owe this rescue with finding me my best friend and making my dream come true. They take great care of their horses. I can not believe the amazing vet care those horses get. I looked at hundreds of rescues and theirs out shined them all. They are not in it to make a profit. They do not take on more horses then they can give the quality care to. They make sure the horses and adopters are the right match. I have also seen them take horses back if the adopters come on hard times. They have been there anytime I have questions and to share good times I have had with my horse AUtumn. I love this rescue and think they are the best around. I can never thank them enough for my Autumn.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

After looking for a horse rescue to volunteer for, I finally met the folks at Gentle Giants. I was amazed! They were open, caring and did not hesitate to answer any questions I had. The barn, fencing, etc were clean, intact, and solid. No seconds for this rescue! From that day on, I was hooked and have volunteered for a few years in any way possible. As a volunteer, I was also welcomed to the Board of Director meetings and learned more in-depth how well run this rescue is. The care of the horses is top-notch and the vet is on speed-call and will answer 24/7. Gentle Giant's main purpose is to save drafts and draft-crosses from slaughter. With the help of volunteers and donors, Gentle Giants continues to work towards giving horses in a bad place a new chance at a safe and loving life. I was pleased to be given the privilege join the BOD's and will continue to drive 1-1/2 hour each way, one to three times a week, to help Gentle Giants continue to fulfill it's promise to the far-too-many drafts in need. And THANK YOU to our very hard working volunteers! You all make this possible!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is a fantastic rescue organization. They buy "used up" draft horses at "kill auctions" (where horses are sold for their meat, to be used as either human food in Europe and Japan, or for pet food in the US and Canada), and provide them a comfortable, safe sanctuary to live out their natural lives. These dignified animals are no longer able to work, but after years of serving their human owners, they certainly deserve better than the slaughterhouse. Their stories are heart-breaking, but even a small donation can help rescue one more soul.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help feed and care for all 64 horses in residence! Volunteer