Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.472735
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We adopted a wonderful horse from Gentle Giants. Christine was excellent to help match us with the horse that would best fit our family. The barns were really clean and the volunteers were knowledgeable and very gentle with the horses. I was really impressed with the farm. The fields were well maintained and the horses were very well taken care of.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been with Gentle Giants for the past 10 months as a volunteer and a sponsor. I can not say enough about this organization. Everyone is devoted to the care of these animals as if they were their own pets. Gentle Giants Draft Horse Rescue is above and beyond providing basic care and needs of the horses. Christine Hajek is an amazing person, and I am happy to be part of this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Over the last 4 months I have donated and volunteered at GG. I can't say enough about this wonderful organization, the board, the other volunteers, and Christine. I came in contact with GG because I was looking for a horse rescue to donate funding to on the internet. It was important to me that the organization not only rescued horses but that they also worked in the community, and had a solid adoption program. Prior to contacting GG I visited several other rescues. All of which were friendly and good rescues but did not meet my expectations or requirements like GG has. During my volunteer time everyone is very welcoming and willing to lend a hand. While I have a passion for horses my education and experience does not match my passion. So in the beginning I was worried that would be a problem with volunteering. I experienced just the opposite, everyone there has helped me to gain more knowledge and experience. I have learned just as much with my time at GG as I have during my last 6 months of private lessons elsewhere. The rescue goes out of their way to make GG a place everyone can find a way to help and connect with the horses. In addition to my outstanding volunteer experience I had a great donor experience. A few weeks after my donation Christine talked with me about where my funding went as well as how much of a difference it had made to the rescue. The horses at GG are loved, well cared for and happy. They are provided with excellent medical care to meet whatever need they may have. Their adoption program is also great. Christine takes the time to match the right horse with the adopter and is honest about the horses potential as well as any additional experience the adopter may want to have prior to the adoption. Several solid matches have been made during my time at GG. If you are looking for a great place to call home for your volunteer time checkout this outstanding rescue. If you want to know your donation counts look into giving the horses at GG the gift of life! I hope to see you at the barn!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

I have been involved with this organization off and on for the last 2 yrs,sadly I haven't been around in the last few months.The rescue as a whole has grown both in size and people,which is always good.Now I have been involved with other horse rescues and everyone has it's good and bad points.With that being said let me start with the good things about GGDHR.And I am sure my comments will be received differently by everyone who reads this.But if you have spent any time around the rescue and talked with the people you will see the following is a good assessment of activities at the rescue.During my visits I was always greeted with a smile from the staff,and always offered assistance if I needed it.The barn manager is a knowledgable horseman and is always willing to explain the routines of the individual horses.And from what interactions I had with him,he truly cares about these big beautiful creatures.The volunteer coordinator was always willing to assist with anything I was doing.And is knowledgable of the different breeds and common problems with each.And she also obviously cared about the horses.The maintenance guy was always busy with something,and I didn't get to chat much with him.But what interactions I did have it was obvious he knew alot about horses and farm maintenance.Christine was always willing to answer any of my questions and shows great passion for these beautiful creatures.I do believe that group can make great things happen for these horses and the rescue.As far as the rest of the board I didn't have much exposure to them.Only seen them around the rescue once in awhile.Now on to the part of my review that I am sure will be met with great opposition.The staff as a whole seem to know what they are doing,however I witnessed alot of unprofessional things take place at the rescue.Besides alot of drama and negative talk a out people behind there backs. I overheard alot of bad mouthing of other farms and volunteers when they were not around.I also noticed ALOT of alcohol on the premises,and I had the unfortunate pleasure of witnessing some poor leadership.And I think with the number of underage volunteers wandering around the rescue,having beer and wine in the refrigerators unsecured is in poor judgement.I noticed another post that commented on some overweight horses.I do know that one field in particular was commonly called "the fat kids".But to disagree with the other post,it did seem the problem was being addressed.However I did take notice to a growing number of personal "pets" around the farm.And during my visits volunteers were interacting with these animals instead of the horses.I believe if your running a horse rescue it should be about horses,not chickens,goats or pigs.In one way or another they are using resources that the horses could utilize.Now I have chosen to stay away from the rescue due to the horses contracting strangles.And not wanting to cross contaminate I have chosen to stay away.But it saddens me to say that I was informed that several of the horses left the farm and went to a clinic when the entire rescue was contaminated.And a good leader would have chosen to skip any and all clinics or shows until the entire farm was cleared by a vet.It is pure negligence to do otherwise,by doing so you are possibly putting other horses from other farms at risk.Even if a horse swabs clean it can still carry the virus and infect other horses despite what some people may tell you.Simply ask your vet and they will agree the farm should have been locked down until all animals were proven healthy.I believe especially in these tough economic times a panel should be set up by local government.To monitor and evaluate rescues to ensure money and resources are not being mismanaged or abused.It truly saddens me to say that if I had to rate this rescue to others I have dealt with,GGDHR would be failing in its mission.I noticed too many personal opinions by the president and some of the other board members I had the privilege to speak with ruining things for the rescue.I know of several good people that are no longer involved with the rescue due to personal opinions.I think both the staff and the board should go thru an evaluation process by those that are at the rescue daily.And if it is deemed that any one person is hindering the mission,they be removed.Now I am sure Christine will try to disprove all of my comments and she will have her friends back her up.But if you have spent any time at the rescue and chatted with the staff as I did.You will know what I have stated is true.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove the board members and elect new ones.Enforce proper conduct for a rescue that is funded by the public.Remove all alcohol from the common areas,and enforce a code of conduct for all board members and staff.Remove all "pets" (ie goats,chicken and pigs) from rescue property.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

After some years of learning about horses from my wife, I decided to get a horse of my own. Being 6'7" tall, and rather inexperienced with equine, we decided it was best for me to adopt a larger draft horse with an easy going temperment rather than buy one from a breeder. That's when we learned about Gentle Giants Draft Horse Rescue via the internet. We visited Gentle Giants in June of 2011 to meet some of their adoptable horses. Upon arriving, we immediately noticed that their staff was knowledgable, very polite, and helpful. The president of Gentle Giants intorduced me to several great horses that could have easily met my needs, but pointed out one horse in particular, Whiskey, that she knew would be a great match for me. I spent ground time with Whiskey in our first visit, and actually rode him on a second visit. During both visits, Mrs. Hajek observed Whiskey and I to make sure we could have a good partnership. I was still a bit inexperienced with horses at the time, but I could easily see that Whiskey had a good bit of proper training and seemed to be very tolerant of my green mistakes. We seemed to fit together just as Mrs. Hajek predicted, so we filled out all applicable adoption paperwork and soon enough, Whiskey was home with us. We could tell from the adoption paperwork that Gentle Giants goes that extra mile to help ensure each horse gets that "forever" and loving home. Gentle Giants was very helpful in advising us on feeding rations, feed types, and even some information specific to the draft breeds, all in an effort to help us keep Whiskey as healthy as possible. Whiskey has been with us for over two years now and has become an intergal part of our family, as the bond between he and I grows every day. My only regret is not living closer to Gentle Giants, as I would love to volunteer some of my time and be associated with such a great and caring equine rescue.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

I started volunteering mid-summer of this year and can't believe I waited so long to do it. Not only are the horses very well cared for, so are the volunteers. I volunteered at another rescue for al... more

October 14, 2013

I now have over a year in with Gentle Giants as far as volunteering goes and my thoughts have not changed. I would highly recommend this organization to anyone as far as donating, adopting, sponsoring and volunteering. I sit at a desk in front of a computer for 40+ hours a week; Gentle Giants is my own personal sanctuary from the work week grind. The staff and Board of Directors are highly approachable and engaging, with much knowledge to offer the beginner to the seasoned. My money and my time goes to this well run 501C3. The GG website is put together well, easy to navigate and always up-to-date. They maintain an interactive Facebook page where all comments are welcome and they share everything from fun times, political and educational news regarding horse slaughter, to the very sad times each and every rescue endures. Lastly the volunteers. I work with the best people ever. We have a well oiled core team who are always waiting for the newbies to come and join us with the hard work and fun times. Yeah...Gentle Giants is the place to be.

I filled out the questions below and they do assume you are no longer with the organization. That is misleading....I have no intentions of ever leaving Gentle Giants.

Chris Hickey

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only have it rain on weekdays.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I started volunteering mid-summer of this year and can't believe I waited so long to do it. Not only are the horses very well cared for, so are the volunteers. I volunteered at another rescue for almost three years and while that was an excellent learning experience for me, I never got a chance to do many things I wanted to. You can only hear "you can't do that" so many times before getting disheartened. At GG, you don't hear "you can't do that", you hear, "WHY can't you do that?". There is a young girl that is volunteering to collect hours for her future education as a veterinarian. She told our director that she had never been on a horse before. 16 and never been on horse. Christine was shocked and said, "well, we shall fix that." She looked at us and said, "Go get John" and 20 minutes later that young girl was up on a very large, gentle horse and the smile on her face was priceless. After she was done, another "older" volunteer asked if she could get on him and of course, she could. That woman left as if her whole year had been made in those short 20 minutes of walking around bareback on a Shire. Volunteering is not easy, it's hot, it's cold, it's wet, there is a lot of poop, there is heartache and there is a lot of happiness and camaraderie. I am going to be 56 years old very soon and am going to be a toy soldier in a Christmas parade, possibly even riding one of the giants. How many people get to say they did that? If you ever, ever had a desire to volunteer at an extremely well run rescue, this is the place. No experience? No matter...you will be taught. Experienced? Then it's a win win for both you and GG. I will be with Gentle Giants as long as they will have me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I started volunteering with Gentle Giants almost a year ago. It started as a once a week gig but quickly turned into going as often as I could find the time, I can't imagine the past year of my life without GG in it. The horses are extremely well loved and cared for and volunteers are given the opportunity to learn from the staff and owner of GG - expanding handling experience for so many volunteers often allows for more of these rescued horses to receive the hands on time they need. Its hard to stay away from this place once you've been part of the magic, both the horses and the people steal your heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I first found out about Gentle Giants through a local newspaper article. I realized they were only a few miles from my home so I started volunteering. Then I fell in love with one of the rescues and adopted her. Four years later I no longer live in Maryland (so I don't volunteer!) and I'm now the proud owner or two Gentle Giant Draft Horse rescues and love them so much. The organization has grown in space as well as the number of volunteers. It seems to be much better organized - but when they were small with fewer volunteers it didn't matter. We all had fun and really enjoyed working with the horses. Seeing other rescue operations in North Carolina where I now live, I realize how good GGDHR is!!! They care so much for the horses and do so many different things to raise funds, collect donations and just take money out of their own pockets. My two horses are awesome and I was told 100% of the truth about their vices or lack of training. I would adopt from them again in a minute!!! I just wish I had more money so I could donate $$$.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be more public. Days End Rescue which only a few miles away, get so much more publicity (for many reasons) and also gets all the glory. Both are good programs deserving of equal recognition (and funding).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered here a while back and was originally impressed by the way things looked. Horses seemes happy and healthy, but then I would notice little things here and there that added up. Many of the Clydesdales on the farm have a disease on their ankles called scratches and it is never properly treated for lack of funds. Many horses have tendon, back or other supposed soft tissue injuries that were "palpated" but never ultra sounded by a vet for lack of funds. The owner also favors a specific breed of draft horse and seeks that particular breed more than any other when going to the auction to rescue some horses. There has been a problem with some of the horses over time being morbidly overweight, which is just as unhealthy as a starving horse. They are taught to prefer the horses on the fatter side, but there is a difference between muscular and obese. They also don't have enough people to work with the horses to bring majority of them past the level of competent trail horses.

However, the volunteers are all very kind and love being there. The horses are naturally slower moving and safer to be around. It's a good place to get away from the city ho-hum. Just have caution crom the flirtatious barn manager. He won't think of anything short of flirting with your teenage daughter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I have been volunteering with Gentle Giants since March of this year. I have found this organization to be a very welcoming and hard working group of people. I have experienced other rescues and GG has been the most rewarding group to spend my weekends with. The rescue is always eager to teach and include the volunteers in every part of the horses new life; from selection at the auction, rehabilitation, training, and adoption. They encourage all of their volunteers to be aware of why each horse has come to the rescue and what they have to offer as a future pet to another household. They are very honest with potential adopters about what each horse is, or is not capable of. It's about finding the right match with the new owner, not just about getting the horses out the door. The support received from the staff at GG makes the experience that much more rewarding for the volunteers, it really makes us feel as if we are making a difference in these horses lives. The truth is those horses are making a difference in each of our lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help feed and care for all 64 horses in residence! Volunteer