Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.524595
Write A Review
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I started volunteering this past summer. I learned that the staff and founder are set with focus and conviction. The work they do for the drafts is unselfish, humane, and full of patient compassion- day in and day out.
I spent more than 20 years working with horses . I taught lessons, showed
hunter-jumpers, broke 2 year olds, and was an exercise rider.
I know a little about the treatment of horses. In the past I spent many weekends at the auctions looking for schooling ponies among the many horses that did not get rescued by a lucky break.
Christine and her staff have provided a second chance for so many horses on a beautiful farm with an awesome and tireless staff. They work hard to get the job done every day. They are caring and friendly with a strong conviction for how they care for their horses, staff and volunteers. They work hard and care even harder for their horses, and are not afraid of having a little fun at the end of the day. Gentle giants will always have my support, even if I can only be there a few months of the year. They deserve as much support as they can solicit. Support the Gentle Giants!
September 25, 2014

more

September 25, 2014

I've been volunteering with GG for about 6 months and it's my home away from home. I've never met a more devoted set of volunteers, and a knowledgable staff who not only know their horses very well, but appreciate their quirks. I don't know what else to say...it's like being your true self and having an amazing support team and amazing horses to guide you on your way while you in turn our your heart out to these creatures that deserve love and compassion and tons of snuggles :)
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I have volunteered at Gentle Giants for several months. Everyone there works hard and its really all about the horses. As a volunteer, I have been able to participate in varied experiences such as accompanying them to auction/on a rescue and performing in a drill team exhibition at a county fair. I have already learned so much and really feel a sense of accomplishment. You can do chores/work that are interesting to you or you have experience with as well as learning new things. They are also so dedicated to their horses, giving them each individualized feeding plans and combinations of indoor/outdoor time depending on their needs. This makes more work but helps each horse to thrive. They are also realistic about their horses, giving potential adopters all of the information about the horse not just the positive points.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2013

I started volunteering at the rescue about three years ago. My entire experience has helped me expand my horizon and knowledge in the horse world as far as rescue, rehabilitating, retraining, and reho... more

September 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I first started volunteering over 3 years ago. When I started I was only 12 years old. When I came to the rescue I had just left a different barn where I was told I was to short and young to ride anything over 13 hands. My first day at the rescue I was put on a 17.3 hand horse! I love that everyone is given such a fair opportunity. Since then the rescue has grown and upgraded to a new 109 acre farm. In the past 3 years I have assisted on rescues, adoption appointments, training, and many more things! I have learned so many great things and really had a ton of fun. I am one of the youngest volunteers and I couldn't ask for a better place. It truly feels like a huge family! The opportunities are endless at Gentle Giants! One day you could be training a horse, and representing the rescue at a world horse expo the next! I have gotten to ride and develop many skills at the rescue. I have been able to participate in many shows and events as well. The people are knowledgeable and fun to be around. I truly recommend contacting the rescue to learn about the opportunities at Gentle Giants!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing at all!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I started volunteering at the rescue about three years ago. My entire experience has helped me expand my horizon and knowledge in the horse world as far as rescue, rehabilitating, retraining, and rehoming these amazing creatures. Since the beginning I have found my dream horse and continue to work with her every chance I get. The rescue is very good at training the volunteers as far as their experiences in the barn and with the horses. Safety is a strong element that the rescue enforces strictly. Riding and Training is done in an organized manner and the rescue is conscientious about the rider and horse team they pair. I am highly impressed by the skill, dedication, and heart the volunteers, trainers, and staff put into carrying the day to day chores. I recommend Gentle Giants very much.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Having volunteer meetings one a month.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I have been volunteering at GG for a few months now and it is my escape. It's heaven on earth for me. It doesn't matter what kind of day I'm having I know that if I can make it to Gentle Giants I can forget all the bad and all the stress. I can do something I love to do. Be in an atmosphere I love to be in. I can comfort and be comforted by their amazing horses. It is my greatest joy to volunteer my time to Gentle Giants. GG staff is always there to guide and appreciate the work we do. Whether it's your first time around horses or you've been around them your whole life, there's always a learning experience with GG. Gentle Giants is one big horse loving family and I am more than happy to be apart of it.
September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I have been a devoted volunteer for about two years now, working at least two days a week for the rescue. Great people, worthy cause. Many, many horses have been saved, rehabilitated and rehomed. It's a joy to play a small role in the work of Gentle Giants.
July 25, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 25, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I have been contributing to Gentle Giants for several years now. Periodically, I have received a letter soliciting funds and I was so impressed, I did contribute. Last week, my husband visited the facility and confirmed that our money is being well-spent! The facilties are beautiful, the staff answered all of our questions, and the horses are getting the best of care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more support!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 31, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

more

January 31, 2014
8 people found this review helpful

Today I received two donation-seeking letters, both from horse rescue groups. The return envelope for both had almost an identical address, a post office box in Hagerstown, Md. Clearly this organization is using a professional, for-profit, fund raising company to send out begging letters. My name was sold to this company by another group to which I donated. When I find out which organization sold me out, they won't get another penny and will get a scathing review. It will be easy enough to identify them, as there is an error in the spelling of my name.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Stop paying someone to fund raise. How much do you pay them to do this for you and how much of the donated money do you actually see? Not to mention they are targeting people who have no interest in your group. I support animal rescue groups in my own community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

Over two years ago I was looking for a place to volunteer where I could be outside, be around horses, and continue to learn and grow as a person. GG was the answer to my extra time and energy, and desire to be involved with people who are dedicated and conscientious. Volunteering 2 days a week has made such a difference in my life, and I am grateful for the continuing opportunities that the rescue organization provides. The volunteers are valued and the horses treated with respect and dignity. It is a kind and interesting place to volunteer, well organized, with tasks accomplished in a skillful manner.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to secure more land and facilities so more horses could be cared for. See what winter intervention could be available for the weather temps to be double digit, less wind, sunny always, and snow/sleet only after dark.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 14, 2013

I volunteer regularly, and it's the highlight of my week. The farm is beautiful, the horses are so well cared for-Christine, Art and Alyssa go the extra mile to make sure that they are well cared for ... more

January 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteer at Gentle Giants on a weekly basis and am awed by the loving care that the horses receive. The staff and volunteers do their very best to rehabilitate these horses, many of whom came from miserable experiences. For example, there is one volunteer who used her annual leave from the government to work daily for a month, with one of the horses who is very fearful and who has "issues". She was able to help the horse to accept blanketing, touching around the face, longing on a long line, etc. Her dedication is matched by the staff and other volunteers. It's a great place to "work".

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a partner to donate land and care of retired and non-adoptable horses so that our resources can be used to rescue, rehab and adopt more horses who are in danger.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteer regularly, and it's the highlight of my week. The farm is beautiful, the horses are so well cared for-Christine, Art and Alyssa go the extra mile to make sure that they are well cared for and everything that can be done to rehabilitate the horses is done. This rescue is a gem

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help feed and care for all 64 horses in residence! Volunteer