Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
75 Reviews
12.74667345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 26, 2013
14 people found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2013
14 people found this review helpful

My name is Krystina Saavedra. I volunteered for the Gentle Barn for 15 months. I was also employed for 8 months of that time. I served as Executive Assistant to the President. I would be happy to attend the meeting Darshan proposes.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 25, 2013
14 people found this review helpful

more

February 25, 2013
14 people found this review helpful

My name is Alexandra Caswell. I was employed by the Gentle Barn from 2010-11 as an Office Administrator following several months of volunteering. I would be very happy to attend an open, public discussion with the current staff and Board of Directors regarding financial and animal care records.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 25, 2013
17 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 25, 2013
17 people found this review helpful

My name is Darshan Sergi and I worked in the Gentle Barn office for 4-1/2 years. My title ranged from Development Associate to Director of Development, but most of my work was on the operations side. I was also on the Board of Directors for several years. There are a lot of claims being made in this forum. I am not going to add anything in this post, but I have a proposal.

I propose that we have a public meeting with Jay, Ellie and the Gentle Barn Board of Directors. I propose that the meeting be open to everyone so we can openly discuss all issues that have been raised. I propose the following guidelines:

-Independent Mediator: Given the emotional nature of the issues raised, an independent mediator would ensure all sides are equally heard.
-Supporting Documentation: Documentation should be provided to support or refute a claim. Jay, Ellie and the Gentle Barn Board of Directors should bring Gentle Barn financial and animal care records, and open them up for public inspection.

If you would be interested in attending this meeting, please post using your real name and describe your relationship with The Gentle Barn. Here is a sample:

“My name is John Smith. I am a donor and I volunteered with the horses for two years and I would love to attend this meeting.”

I look forward to an open and honest dialogue with everyone. Thank you.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 1, 2013
18 people found this review helpful

more

January 1, 2013
18 people found this review helpful

Just to set the record straight, the Attorney General is NOT required to investigate all complaints that come into their office. Like so many other underfunded government organizations, they just do not have the staff to investigate any but the most well documented complaints about the most egregious financial issues. Given the fact that the California Attorney General has been investigating the Gentle Barn for over a year now, it makes sense that there is a very good reason for them to expend those resources. Where there is smoke, there is almost certainly fire.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2012
23 people found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2012
23 people found this review helpful

I have been reading the reviews about the gentle barn. The reviews that give one star and do not support the gentle barn are true. Ellie started the gentle barn when she lived in tarzana on a half acre. I knew Ellie before she started the gentle barn. She had 2 horses that she was afraid of and couldn't ride. She then started collecting other animals. Her heart was in the right place at the time. Then Jay came into the picture and saw a perfect opportunity. It was and has always been about money for Jay. They had rescued a horse together and actually kept it at my place. Jay paid his board for a while, then stopped. He skipped out on 6 months of board and medications. He took it to Ellie's where the horse was in horrible conditions and too small of a place to be in. The horse coliced and passed away. The vets had been to Ellie's on many occasions due to Ellie feeding wrong food to the animals. Animal Reg had been out on many occasions. Jay is only in it for the money as I know first hand by our conversations. At the time Jay did not know anything about farm animals and I can pretty much bet that his knowledge has not changed. Ellie and Jay will take credit for things they haven't done. Unfortunatly, they have now gotten Ellen Degeneras involved in donating and P.R. for them. Ellie has been getting lots of money through Ellen and her show. Ellen Degeneras does not know what they have done in the past or what they are doing now. It's all a show for the cameras and Ellen when she shows up. Fortunatly Ellen is doing it for the animals but does not know all of what is going on. She does not know she is being used. I have known Ellie since the beginning and before the gentle barn. I met Jay when he first came into ellie's life and business. I know their history.....

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

August 1, 2012
22 people found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2012
22 people found this review helpful

I was surprised how freely Jay was willing to spend money... YOUR money donated, to make himself look good. Sending dogs by taxi cab to new homes with a cab driver? Really! Offering to pay rescues $1000 to take a fully vetted (and spayed/neutered dog) to make GB look good? Really! Exagerating the number of animals they helped.... with YOUR money? Really! Threatening a lawsuit against those that did not support reckless rescue (of course with YOUR donated money)? Really! Hey, people, it is YOUR money, but I think they should rename it the Jay & Ellie Foundation, as it appears to have little to do with animals, but greed and egos. Out of their mouths, they offered, they did not receive donations UNTIL they brought CHILDREN into it. Exploitation of children? Really!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 14, 2012
25 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 14, 2012
25 people found this review helpful

This organization is currently under investigation by California Attorney General for financial fraud. Today is May 14th, 2012 and yet Guidestar does not have tax information for The Gentle Barn for 2010 or 2011 yet. This is due to the fact that the organization has yet to file their tax documents for 2010 or 2011. Do your homework before you consider giving money to this organization. It seems they are in some very troubled waters and there is no way to know how it will turn out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove the leadership (Officers and the current Board of Directors) and replace them with a functional board and leadership.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

They have a truly inspirational business model. If run correctly, there is terrific potential in the vision.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers