Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
75 Reviews
12.74667345
| 1 ... 5 6 7 |
Write A Review
August 28, 2012
24 people found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2012
24 people found this review helpful

I've never seen such selfish people running a so-called animal welfare. All in all, it's basically just a petting zoo, where they call the entrance fee a "donation". The main focus is to maximise profits, but definitely not in the best interest of the animals.

I remember they put a poor
cow in front of the Staples Center to advertise themselves, that's something only the Ringling Bros. would normally do.

Without some apparently hired shills, this organisation probably would have only an overall rating of 1 star. There are so many cool & trustworthy charities in California, please don't waste your money for The Gentle Barn!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 8, 2012
21 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2012
21 people found this review helpful

Unreal, the Gentle Barn tried to take credit for a gas box closing that had been done 26 months prior to them knowing the county existed. It must have been magic when they posted "history was made" but the real truth is: "
"You will see that animals slept next to where they died. The homemade
gas box was in full view of other dogs, so they could hear the cries of those shoved into the gas box. It was barbaric and inhumane to say the least.

"On October 1, 2008 we were thrilled when our request to close the homemade gas box, which had been constructed by local county garage workers, became reality. Dogs at the Harrison County Dog Pound are now euthanized by injection.

Nonetheless, Harrison County Dog Pound remains plagued with problems. The operation of this facility is substandard. There are no exterior walls. The facility itself is little more than a pavilion, on an old cracked concrete slab that directly adjoins a toxic waste site. "Prior to the fall of 2007, it had no roof whatsoever." See Ohio SPCA pound reform, "Harrison" if you want to see the real truth. Gas box closed 10/01/2008, GB appeared 12/05/10.
See this link, scroll in middle page to read: http://www.ohiospca.org/#!pound-reform/vstc3=page-3

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 1, 2012
22 people found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2012
22 people found this review helpful

I was surprised how freely Jay was willing to spend money... YOUR money donated, to make himself look good. Sending dogs by taxi cab to new homes with a cab driver? Really! Offering to pay rescues $1000 to take a fully vetted (and spayed/neutered dog) to make GB look good? Really! Exagerating the number of animals they helped.... with YOUR money? Really! Threatening a lawsuit against those that did not support reckless rescue (of course with YOUR donated money)? Really! Hey, people, it is YOUR money, but I think they should rename it the Jay & Ellie Foundation, as it appears to have little to do with animals, but greed and egos. Out of their mouths, they offered, they did not receive donations UNTIL they brought CHILDREN into it. Exploitation of children? Really!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 6, 2012
18 people found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2012
18 people found this review helpful

This is really difficult to write, but in light of all that is happening I feel that we need more voices heard on experiences with GB. I had been a volunteer for over 2 years. Reading these reviews, there is definitely extreme opinions that go from painting Jay and Ellie as horrible people living a lavish lifestyle to the other end of the spectrum where they are saints only doing all they can to save the animals. Like most things, the truth is in the middle somewhere. Personally, I will not go back to the Gentle Barn to volunteer and it breaks my heart. In my experience with the owners of the GB, they mean well and have the best interest of the animals at heart. However, their judgment gets clouded with ego and arrogance as well as a lack of trust in not just employees, but volunteers. At times Ellie seemed to care more for the feelings of the animals or rather it was more of her projecting her own feelings and wants onto the animals, like restricting the volunteer hours severely for her and her family's benefit - not for the organization. I've seen decisions get made that did not serve the animals or the organization, but more were made to serve the owners. It's unfortunate. Both animals and people at the GB have suffered due to this. I can't say anything about the accusations of funds being mis-used as only the owners and those handling the accounts directly know the truth about that. What I did see was an arrogance in the owners and mis-trust in people that caused them to not put the animals first. To me, this is a lack of the integrity of the organization. It breaks my heart. Yes, the stalls & barnyard are clean. Yes, the grounds are immaculate. It serves the animals and looks great to visitors, but the reflects a huge control issue that the owners just can't let go of. I believe that Jay and Ellie have their hearts in the right place, but they don't always make decisions from their hearts. This means that the animals have suffered and so have the people that get close to them. Other volunteers that I was close with have had uncomfortable and bad experiences with Ellie, but I haven't. What I have experienced is all that I've stated and I hope that someone can come in to help put this organization back on track. In my opinion & experience, Ellie and Jay are not bad people, but they can have big egos that get in the way of making decisions that best serve the animals and the organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unlikely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Have a board in place and not Ellie and/or Jay as the final decision maker.

July 2, 2012

more

July 2, 2012

I am a current volunteer at the Gentle Barn and it pains me to read previous reviews by ex-volunteers (that are obviously friends because they ALL say the same thing) who seem to be starving for attention. I am dumb-founded by the things they have written. I love volunteering and love Ellie and Jay. They have been nothing but nice to me. I have personally met some of the board members, so they do exist. As far as the money going to the animals, I am not Ellie nor Jay so I cant say where it goes but I know the animals are always fed, taken care of and the place is spotless. I also know Vets, Chiropractors, massage therapist, an acupuncturist and an animal communicator come to the barn regularly. But they neglect their animals and spend all the money on themselves right?! I have also personally met a couple of the Vets, as well as, seen them come to check on the animals. So again the Vets do exist. They are, as well as the board members, NOT figments of my imagination. Yes, unfortunately some animals have passed away over the years but eventually they have to leave us. Not sure if some of the haters have read or seen on the news recently, but the Gentle Barn was just involved in rescuing animals from a backyard butcher. Oh but wait, someone said they don't rescue animals in their review and Ellie and Jay's animals are only their pets. COME ON PEOPLE!!!! I am glad to be volunteer at the Gentle Barn and I will continue to volunteer my time and money to this organization. I will also pray for the people who find it necessary to lash out because of obvious personal issues. I just feel bad the lashing out is affecting the animals as well as the organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make the volunteering process harder to weed out the negative crazy people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Amazing!!!

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

An amazing, special place for families and children! The rescued animals' stories are truly inspirational. Don't miss their open Sundays!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I am another happy donor. I heard through the grapevine that runs rampant in the animal rescue community that these negative postings are from a very small disgruntled group of volunteers who ganged up and one is actually suing the Gentle Barn for a lot of money, trying to make a big buck on the backs of abused children and animals. It seems this person has their own ego involved and is putting it ahead of the well being of the animals and kids this organization helps. Time and resources allocated to the animals and children are now being squandered on this nonsense and a lawsuit because some control freak didn't get their way and felt slighted. This is all about money b/c this person is trying to line their pockets so in my objective view, I side with the Gentle Barn because this loses all credibilty for me. I know who this person is and they've actually been to my house at a fundraiser. I also know Jay and Ellie for the same reason. I work with several animal groups and know many people and this community has lots of squabbling and control issues and I've actually seen people put their own egos in front of the animals because they think they know best and know what is best for an animal over others. And this is another case of that. These few people come on and post using different screen names because they are intent on taking the GB down. I wonder why there are no new postings? Maybe b/c the lawyer told them to stop in order to make more money and preserve their lawsuit?? Who knows. There are a few people who have been sucked in by this small group who had valid concerns and are decent people but just didn't understand all the facts like Ellie loaned the GB $800K or more of her own money to keep it going and build it so maybe she tried to get paid back? I don't know but there are a few bad apples in this group influencing the other decent people with lies and then the whole thing snowballs and festers with synergy. They are led to believe that the Farm Sanctuary will 'take over' and the animals will be better off. But this is not true because the numerous donors who give to the GB are not going to suddenly start donating to the Farm Sanctuary so this will be the end of funding that could be helping more animals and children therefoe less animals rescued in the future, etc. This is a destructive effort at the expense of many animals, present and future, as well as many abused and disabled children getting help if these people get what they think is best and the GB closes. No one is going to magically take over and keep it running. No one knows how to do what Jay and Elly do or have built successfully for years. That's why there is so much jealousy. Most people would love to have accomplished this but don't have the skill sets that it takes. I've heard both sides and have spoken to people on both sides and I think this is a big mistake. In my opinion, Jay and Elly have made some mistakes and are not perfect but this hateful attempt to close the GB is outragious and cruel and at the expense of the animals and kids.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2012
25 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 14, 2012
25 people found this review helpful

This organization is currently under investigation by California Attorney General for financial fraud. Today is May 14th, 2012 and yet Guidestar does not have tax information for The Gentle Barn for 2010 or 2011 yet. This is due to the fact that the organization has yet to file their tax documents for 2010 or 2011. Do your homework before you consider giving money to this organization. It seems they are in some very troubled waters and there is no way to know how it will turn out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove the leadership (Officers and the current Board of Directors) and replace them with a functional board and leadership.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

They have a truly inspirational business model. If run correctly, there is terrific potential in the vision.

May 14, 2012
21 people found this review helpful

more

May 14, 2012
21 people found this review helpful

When I first went to volunteer at the GB I was elated. I had found my peace and my passion. A place where I can give and receive love. The people that were there were also fantastic. After a while when the rose colored glasses came off, I began to see what was some of the worst behavior I could imagine. The owners Ellie and her husband Jay are on a whole other planet. I planet where they are the be all end off knowing everything. They live way outside their means for a non profit salary. A boat, a wedding in Vegas , a housekeeper, lavish stuff for the kids, that believe me spared no expense. Or did it? Yes the expense of the animals. They are so delusional to think that supplements will make everything better. I have never seen so much neglect of animal care in my life. The suffering and miserable existence that some of these animals endured was horrific and when brought to their attention we were made to feel stupid and unknowing. These 2 people have NO business doing what they are doing and should be ashamed of themselves they way they treat these animals. As volunteers most of us have left , not so much of the way of how badly they treated us but the animals. Most people would wonder why we stayed but we were all worried sick for the animals we came to know and love. The evil that resides in the minds of those 2 people is unreal to me. They are not the people they portray and eventually the world will see it, just as the community there has. Their reputation w the businesses where they are located is bad...they have alienated everyone because they think they are untouchable. The animals are a reason to have that place exist and they are the reason anyone should be there. DO NOT give $$$ as it DOES NOT go to animal care, it goes to the owners. This is not a lashing out as a disgruntled volunteer its a cry for help. They must be stopped for the sake of the animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 23, 2012
25 people found this review helpful

more

February 23, 2012
25 people found this review helpful

My concern with the Gentle Barn is the complete lack of financial oversight. They have a board, but have never had a board meeting nor produced any board minutes. They use Foundation monies for personal reasons regularly - for vacations, for their boat, for their kids, and to pay for their family therapy sessions. I believe that they do some good work with the animals and with their programs, but until the financial aspect is corrected, I would not donate money to them. Donate your time - that goes right to the animals, but your money may very likely not go to the care of the animals at all.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers