Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
75 Reviews
12.74667345
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

It breaks my heart when people put this magical place down. First most, not all, of the negative reviews have come from a group of ex-employees and volunteers that were not doing what was best for the barn and were asked to leave. Do you really want to read a review from someone who is only being vindictive? I have been volunteering at The Gentle Barn since April 2011. I volunteer in the upper barnyard during the week and as the manager on Sundays, as well as with new rescues and the cows. The experience has been nothing if not life changing. Ellie and Jay are two of the most caring, compassionate, giving people I have had the honor of knowing. The animals are well fed, well cared for, and very loved. They always have clean water, plenty of food, a clean place to sleep, plenty of love, and medical care when needed. When a sick animal is reported care is immediate and thorough. The vet comes first but no expense is spared in using alternate therapy along with vet care to increase healing and quality of life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

All I can say is WOW! I don't where a lot of these other reviewers went but the Gentle Barn I've gone to with my kids is NOT the same place. The place we go is great. Its educational. They don't try to push anything on you and I was really surprised how good the veagan food was. It was awesome to watch my kids learn about the animals and the plant diet without feeling like we were being scared into the lifestyle with horror stories of factory farming and animal abuse. They have a very gentle approach to educating the public. As far as doing it for the money is concerned, how much do you think it would cost to feed 170 farm animals! Its not like you can go to Walmart and pick up food for them all! And that's not counting the medical expenses - these animals have not come from the best of places and were not all treated with rainbows and daisies! I commend them for what they have done and continue to do and hope I can bring my family here for many more years!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put one of these in every state, country, continent! Parking is a little tough.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 13, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have a great deal of respect for the way that the Gentle Barn is run. The Gentle Barn's treatment of the animals that have been lucky enough to find a home with them has been exemplary in my nearly two years of experience of volunteering with the organization. I work directly with the animals up to four days a week, so the alleged mishandling and misconduct that has been reported on this site would be obvious to someone in my unique position if it had actually occurred. I would not hesitate to report abuse of any kind if it were a reality. I've worked in the non profit world for the bulk of my professional career, and disgruntled volunteers and ex employees are an unfortunate commonality no matter the organization or cause. I find it very sad and suspicious when people who once lent their time and effort an organization later seek to destroy it. Other non profit organizations should take note of these disgruntled people because I suspect that they won't be happy volunteering or working with any organization. My hope is that they will soon find something to fill their emptiness other than hate.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them acquire the funds necessary to expand and rescue more animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

June 13, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been coming to this wonderful place for upwards of 5 years with my family. The animals are well cared for and the people are extremely friendly. I have never felt intimidated or harassed and have had interaction with several volunteers as well as Ellie and Jay during visits. They obviously care deeply for each and every animal and the families who come here.

A friend told me about this site and the horrible things that have been said. I know people who volunteer here and friends and family who sponsor animals. Not everyone is liked... that's a part of life. I think it is unfortunate though that disgruntled ex-volunteers and staff have nothing better to do in their lives than to spread so much hate about such a great organization.

I have seen posts by and don't know who this Eric Lange person is but whatever his personal agenda is, he should not take it out on the animals and that is who it affects in the end. I have been told he has his own animal rescue that he is shaping it in the image of The Gentle Barn. If The Gentle Barn is so awful, why try to create a duplicate? I think its shameful to malign another charitable organization to further your own.

God Bless The Gentle Barn!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 25, 2013

My name is Wendy. I volunteered at The Gentle Barn for about 3 years, from early 2009 until February of 2012. I worked with the first set of 6 veal calves, then worked as a horse groomer, then trained... more

May 22, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

Still no changes at The (UN)Gentle Barn, just more slander of former employees and volunteers. Well, maybe there is a little more oversight now that they are under the scrutiny of several entities, including the CA Attorney General. I won't mention who all the others are, surprises are fun.
Since I left the barn, a number of animals have passed away, though old, their last days could have been eased if egos were not in the way, if people who claim to talk with animals had actually been listening to what they had to say. GB forgets that we have eyes and ears in the community, people willing to visit on Sundays, for years, write fake(positive) reviews to keep the wool pulled over the lamb in wolves' clothing's eyes, and even daily 'volunteers'.
Why does GB delete posts from people asking questions? From people asking for accountability? Things GB should want to leap to do, in order to prove they are legit? Is it possible they are not, in fact, honest?
So you believe in the people running GB 100%? Ask them for their IRS returns, and see if they give it to you. Ask them to their face about the 60 cows. Ask simple questions that should be no cause for alarm, including how all monies are spent. The public has a RIGHT to know, as the money comes from the public, the organization owns all the animals, including the dogs and cats in the house, as they are publicly funded, and the public has a RIGHT to information and accountability. It is silly to believe a non-profit just because it tugs on your heart strings. Remember, PT Barnum is credited for saying "A sucker is born every minute", though that was actually said by David Hannum. But many people believe the first thing they hear.
















Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove current board, and current employees. Remove animals from current employee's property and relocate them to property owned by the organization. Remove all organization funded improvements/property from employee's property and deliver to organization's property. Start new non-profit, add oversight and infrastructure that has ALWAYS been lacking, and give these animals the attention, care and dignity they have always deserved but were never been provided, except by volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 25, 2013
18 people found this review helpful

My name is Wendy. I volunteered at The Gentle Barn for about 3 years, from early 2009 until February of 2012. I worked with the first set of 6 veal calves, then worked as a horse groomer, then trained new horse volunteers, and facilillitated the program for adults with special needs who came to groom horses. I was also a Sunday horse manager for 2 years.
I would absolutely love a public forum meeting where the staff and board can speak for themselves and show us all the documents that will set our minds at ease and end these arguments.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2013
14 people found this review helpful

more

May 10, 2013
14 people found this review helpful

I have been a big fan of The Gentle Barn until the last few days.. Several had asked questions for Worthy who was born with Windswept angular limb deformity which should have been corrected when she was a newborn. Worthy is now a yearling and it is now a complicated surgery.

They deleted
my post along with others who just asked reasonable questions about Worthy

I only supported them because of Ellen DeGeneres..this was my post I posted under the picture of Worthy below.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151543110424039&set=a.125117534038.105815.54967149038&type=1



I know for a fact there are Veterinarian teaching schools that would waive the fees for surgery. I hope with all my heart that Worthy Thrives and I don’t feel Summer was being mean or hateful as some of you have accused. I think people that own horses and love them know that to thrive for a horse might mean something completely different then your perception of thriving, especially if you have little knowledge of horses. If you just think about it for a bit. Horses thrive by grazing, by keeping up with the herd, Worthy is not very old, still a baby. She will eventually gain more weight, which will become the deciding factor as to whether she thrives. Yes it is very sad when you have a horse with leg and hoof injuries. Because their legs and hooves are priority in a horses life span.

I support the Gentle barn‘s ambitions, but when they ask for money donations, I think their replying to some of the concerns and questions about Worthy is only fair in return. Now a days people and non-profits have their hands out everywhere you go.

I had a filly many years ago born with a double knee and I did reply to the posts out of curiosity as to the prognosis in the beginning with Worthy and I was interested in who was doing the surgery because I do know several Equine Orthopedic Surgeons . My father and Grandfather were large animal Vets. My background is in Rehab for racing Thoroughbreds. I have read others posts requesting the same information. That does not label us as Anti-Worthy by no means. I would think it is because we care and maybe some have the funds to cover your needs but are business people who dot their i’s and cross their T’s before they hand out funds. Nothing wrong with that. I think the remarks towards those with questions or opinions were tacky and uncalled for. My best to Worthy #Ellen DeGeneres

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 9, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I donate money to help Daisy the goat and my partner interns at Gentle Barn at the Sun Chlorella Ranch working with Aldo the manager. These people do amazing things. It is disheartening that disgruntled former hires have nothing better to do but slander and libel against this great organization. They may not see eye to eye with Ellie the owner but I can attest because of my partner that these people are very busy and do amazing things. GOOD FOR GENTLE BARN. They've inspired me to want to open my own rescue ranch one day. Two enthusiastic thumbs up for all they do for the animals!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 4, 2013
20 people found this review helpful

more

May 4, 2013
20 people found this review helpful

I'm reviewing the Gentle Barn based on my experience adopting a puppy from them in February of 2013.

A friend shared a photo of two adorable puppies via the Gentle Barn's Facebook page, and I inquired. I was emailed an application from the Gentle Barn, and returned it to the Gentle Barn.
I was contacted by the dogs' foster caregiver, and invited to come meet the puppy. I adopted my puppy that day, and paid a $200 fee that was to include microchipping and spay. I was told to wait a couple weeks to chip my puppy, until she was a bit stronger.

Fast forward a couple of weeks, and I could not get anyone at the Gentle Barn to return my calls or emails about scheduling the microchipping appointment. Frustrated, I contacted the foster mom--who does not work for the Gentle Barn--and she apologized, promising that the Gentle Barn would be contacting me. They never did, so in the interest of my dog's safety, I spent $130+ to chip her through my own vet in late March.

I continued to try to contact the Gentle Barn through email and by phone, hoping to at least get the spay service provided, but received no response throughout the entire month of April. I finally gave up and posted on their Facebook page that I found it deplorable that they weren't honoring their promises. This was yesterday, May 3rd.

This morning, I woke up to a vicious Facebook message from Ellie, accusing me of slandering her organization and basically calling me a terrible person. She threatened to come take my dog from me.

I also had a voicemail from her, that was actually quite crazy, with no apology for the way they've ignored me or failed to come through on their contract. Instead she was furious that I posted negative words on Facebook, which were, of course, deleted before anyone else could see them.

Quote from Ellie's voicemail: "if you don't stop slandering us, we will come over and take your dog away. Because if you don't stop slandering us, you're obviously an unfit home."

So, to re-cap: in three months, I have not been able to get a response from the Gentle Barn regarding services promised in exchange for a "donation." But when I posted a negative comment on Facebook, I got a Facebook message and a phone call the very next day...calling me names and threatening to take my dog.

The foster mother is now roped into this, as Ellie is now threatening to stop helping her spread the word about rescue dogs, because my dog was one she found. According to Ellie, they only helped place my dog "out of the goodness of (their) hearts." The foster mother is now offering to pay for my dog's spay out of her own pocket to ensure that the Gentle Barn will continue to help her rescue and place animals in the future.

My dog will be spayed at my own expense, because even if Ellie and the Gentle Barn offered to do it, I am not confident that they would give me my dog back.

I hate to be critical, because in theory, the work they do is so wonderful. But something is not right at the Gentle Barn, and I wouldn't give them another dime of my money. Ellie is an abusive bully, and now I have my lawyer looking into how I can prevent them from taking my dog. The money is not the concern anymore.

They get two stars because they did bring me and my wonderful dog together, and for that, I will always be grateful.

Thanks for reading.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unlikely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 26, 2013

I have been a volunteer for over 4 years and I have seen first hand all the love and care these animals are given. I also took part in the watching of the 4 extremely sick calves that were rescued fro... more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a Volunteer for over 4 years and It is the greatest place to be. I love talking to all the visitors who have come from near and very far. They are in love with the Gentle barn and if it was there fist time there, they say they will be back soon. We have many season pass holders who come almost every week they love it so much. Please come check out our wonderful happy animals and volunteers and we have vegan goodies you can buy for a nice lunch.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for over 4 years and I have seen first hand all the love and care these animals are given. I also took part in the watching of the 4 extremely sick calves that were rescued from Texas. They were watched and fed around the clock. I did several of the 3am to 7am shifts. They even had blankets made for them to cover them at night.
I sat with many of the goats that were rescued from the back yard butcher and watched how they slowly recovered from the daily nutrients that were hand administered daily. I watched them come from cowering in the corners of the stalls to loving goats who could not get enough love and scratching from us.
I also whitnessed Elllie come in each day and whipe out the deep would caused by a dog bite on a goat. Even though it was a yucky job, she didn't hesitate to clean it and cover it with healing ointment.
I whitnessed Holy and Madonna who were two baby cows that were rescued and bottle fed. We had to watch them to make sure they did not fall over as they grew stronger and healthier. They are now sweet and loving cows.
I have never seen any type of abuse, I have only whitnessed love and concern from Jay and Ellie for their animals.
It is such a delight to see the guests come in for the first time and have them tell me how they can not wait to come back and bring friends and family.
It is a shame that former volunteers are trying to slander the Gentle Barn when it stands for love and healing for all the animals and the special need and inner city childern who come and can relate the the hurt and abuse the animals had suffered and see how they have healed and love again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been to the Gentle Barn multiple times. They take very good care of their animals and, if you subscribe to their newsletter, they are constantly providing updates on the animals they rescue both their medical condition, treatment and emotional health. I'm very confused as to why someone would describe it as creepy. There's nothing creepy about it. The space is bright and wide open. They provide educational sessions and family friendly events. They shelter the newest animals they've rescued from the public and existing animals until they are healthy emotionally and physically. I've been very impressed. Oh, and this is an animal rescue organization NOT a petting zoo. They rescue animals from those horrid petting zoos.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers