Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 27, 2012

more

July 27, 2012

Genesis World Mission does amazing things not only for their community but internationally. Their organization is well run and VERY organized. Which, in my experience is very rare for non profits. Genesis' mission is very different from other non profits I have come across and will definitely be supporting them this year and years to come .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012

more

July 26, 2012

This organization cares about positive outcomes in their patients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

I am a donor and a volunteer for Genesis. What I most respect about this agency it the care they take with me to keep me updated and informed. I donate to several organizations and this is the only one that really seems to care about my interest. As a volunteer, I always feel that my contributions are respected and valued. Genesis is true to its mission, transparent in its accountability to the public, and dedicated to serving the less fortunate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

I volunteer with their fund raising activities and efforts. Their mission is quite amazing in providing medical and dental services in the State of Idaho for those who cannot afford it, as well as helping with other world missions. I am honored that I can be of help in the area that I can outside of health services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

I volunteered at Genesis for 7 years in a variety of non-health related jobs (helping with the annual fund raising dinner, doing data entry, etc.) The organization is extremely well managed and totally focused on helping those who do not have insurance but need medical care. The organization has matured over the years to be more effective in the delivery of medical and dental care. those who donate know that their dollars are being effectively used to help the target population.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 28, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Genesis is a very unique, highly innovative organization that generates positive social benefit in diverse ways. Beyond its flagship program (Garden City Community Clinic), a safety-net clinic staffed by volunteer physicians and managed by a RN, Genesis also has two other departments: The Volunteer Physicians Network (VPN) and Genesis International (GWMI). VPN works to link low-income patients in the greater Boise area with specialty physicians wiling to donate their time and GWMI helps facilitate community-driven healthcare projects in low income countries.

In my mind, the impact these latter programs have on their respective communities is under appreciated. Both seek to link important parts of their communities in ways that foster important synergies. Both greatly enhance the self-efficacy of the poor, by giving them the resources they need to obtain the care they deserve (VPN) and by building vital social capital in communities that directly leads to bottom-up development (GWMI). And, most importantly, both work toward sustainable solutions to poverty. The social impact of the sum of these outcomes is impossible to fully quantify, but it is innovative solutions like these that are integral to properly addressing poverty.

On a practical level, Genesis was a wonderful organization to volunteer with. The managerial staff is *very* competent and extremely passionate about their work. I was impressed by how efficiently and seamlessly the organization's different programs were managed on a day-to-day basis. Moreover, I believe the financial management of the organization is top-notch, which is not always the case with nonprofits.

I joined the team at Genesis hoping to learn more about nonprofit management; I left with a greater appreciation for the innovative ways an organization can impact the community--both locally and globally.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

many different ways. I handled some data analysis for the organization, so I was able to ascertain the number of individuals that international healthcare efforts directly helped. But more importantly, I had the pleasure of learning about the number of individuals Genesis' international programs help *indirectly*. Because the organization scrupulously develops international projects in a way that incorporates a local perspective on community needs, international projects maximize impact.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more adequately define job descriptions of the key managerial staff. While the current fluidity is perhaps beneficial for the seamless integration of a range of different programs, I think there is an under-provision of human resources toward fundraising activities--particularly grant writing. A more crystalized partitioning of tasks might be beneficial in this regard.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide healthcare services to 30 patients (commensurate with healthcare background) Volunteer