Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.897965
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from The Pittsburgh Foundation
October 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Genesis of Pittsburgh arranged my adoption. My birth mother was in college when she got pregnant with me. Genesis provided her with the resources she needed during that time and helped her place me up for adoption. They did a wonderful job placing me with an adoptive family that gave me a great upbringing, and no one would even guess I am adopted because I look so much like my adoptive mother. When I was 7 they helped my adoptive parents by doing some of the work needed to help them adopt a set of siblings from an orphanage in Poland. I have since met my birth parents, and I think I have probably had one of the best possible experiences as an adoptee.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

Genesis has helped myself and husband and children a lot I would like to personal thank them! when I was pregnant I took classes at genesis and earned a crib. If it wasn't for the classes I wouldn't have learned child CPR and adult CRP my husband and I are very grateful for everything they helped and did for us!

Thanks Again

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 7, 2011

In May 2011 I moved into the Genesis house which provides housing, support and parenting skills to expecting mothers in need. I had just gone through detoxification for drug addiction when I found out... more

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I lived at Genesis about three years ago. I was pregnant, homeless, and had no true source of income. I was also new in recovery and therefore needed a lot of support and encouragement. Genesis helped me in so many ways. First and foremost, they put a roof over my head but they were also very caring and willing to do anything to help as long as I was also willing to do anything to help myself . The parenting center prepared me so much for a newborn and instilled techniques and characteristics in me that continue to make me a good mother today. I am now 2.5 years clean, employed full time, have my bachelors and excited for the future! My daughter just turned two and I know if i walked into The Genesis Center tomorrow needing help I would be greeted with open arms. Donating to Genesis of Pittsburgh doesn't only help a pregnant woman in need, it will also greatly effect the life inside her and how mother and child relate and interact with each other for a lifetime. Honestly, I hope one day I can give back to them for all they did for me and my daughter. Truely Thankful, Laura and Kiah

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

In May 2011 I moved into the Genesis house which provides housing, support and parenting skills to expecting mothers in need. I had just gone through detoxification for drug addiction when I found out I was pregnant. Expectedly, my family was at wits end with my use and was no longer willing to support me. Genesis took me in when I literally had nowhere to go and no one to turn to. Honestly, my experience here at Genesis has been very rewarding and constructive. The staff here has helped me to help myself become a better person, as well as make good, stable life decisions for myself and soon to arrive daughter. They have assisted me in staying clean and setting up all the support I need to continue living on the right path. Additionally, they have assisted me in finding permanent housing so that when my daughter is born I do not have to worry about her not having a roof over her head. The educational classes offered by Genesis have given me the information I need in order to have positive experiences and outcomes as a parent. Being a first time parent is scary enough without having all kinds of obstacles and traps in your way; but with the support and encouragement of the women at Genesis, I have found that it is possible to get through struggles and stressful circumstances and come out on top. I am very thankful for Genesis and all those who donate to and assist them in making a difference in the lives of women such as myself.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the changes it has helped me make in my life and the resources it has provided me with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand to make services available to women after their child is born too.

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

Genesis and their staff helped me prepare for motherhodd as well as treating me with respect in all areas I am a single mother who is as recovering addict,. I have 16 months clean and my son is a healthy 8 month old who is happy,loved, and well cared for due to the help I received through them I was able to earn a crib and mattress as well as a car seat in which being a single mother would be hard to provide right away. This program offers hope to women and their children!!! Thank you Genesis you made a difference in my life as well as my sons!!! Greatly appreciated!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

After many years of trying to have a family and not being successful, a friend from work referred us to Genesis. We started volunteering and getting to know several people involved with Genesis. Everyone was so warm and welcoming and we finially felt like we weren't alone. I started teaching art classes to some of the clients served by Genesis and saw first hand the affect Genesis has on the community. Genesis helps so many woman, men, and children everyday. It is amazing to me how hard working and dedicated the staff and volunteers are to this organization. After waiting some time Genesis blessed us by matching us with a birth mother and helping us in the process to adopt a beautiful little boy. We can't thank Genesis enough for their remarkable efforts and the infinate amount of joy they have brought into our lives through the blessing of our son.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Genesis is such an outstanding organization, and because of this the people who work there are very busy. If I could change something I would give them more funding to hire additional people or find more people to donate their time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I can't say enough good things about Genesis of Pittsburgh. Within a week of submitting our application to adopt, we were matched with an expectant mother who was an amazing fit with us. During the period leading up to the birth, our social worker kept us fully informed of all developments, and even called to provide reassurance during a particularly stressful time.

Immediately after applying, we were also asked to participate in a volunteer capacity for a fundraiser Genesis was hosting. This allowed us to meet and interact with the other waiting couples, and with the staff on a very personal level. We felt this was extremely beneficial, because it kept us in touch with the agency, and occupied during an anxious time, and also allowed us to get to know the other couples, making them friends instead of "competition." This has the added benefit of our son growing up knowing other adopted children.

Most of all, we LOVED that Genesis offers service to help women parent their children, if they choose. This means that every woman has been thoroughly counseled on every course of action available to her. Because of this, those women are able to be more effective parents, and are given tools and education that allow them to really change their lives. It also means that the women who do decide that adoption is the best option for them, are very confident in their decisions, which is extremely reassuring to potential adoptive parents, especially in a state which has one of the longest revocation periods for the consent to adopt. Working with Genesis felt nothing like a business transaction, but as though the staff there genuinely cares about making families that are healthy and in the best interest of the child, always.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Take advantage of advertising to make their services offered more well-known within the community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I are in the process of adopting a wonderful baby through Genesis. It has truly been an amazing process getting involved in this organization and meeting all of the people associated with it. Through our volunteer work we have met so many great people and we are really amazed by how much good this organization does all throughout the community. We are so fortunate to have been referred to this organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Personally, I feel that this organization is great, but probably understaffed. I wish that we had time to help out more, or they could hire more volunteers and full-time employees.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2012

We adopted our baby through Genesis of Pittsburgh. My husband and I also volunteer with this organization. One of the things I really like about Genesis is their personal touch. I felt like they know ... more

October 16, 2012

Genesis helped us adopt our infant son. The people who work there are wonderful and could not be more helpful and supportive. They change lives for the better. God Bless.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We adopted our baby through Genesis of Pittsburgh. My husband and I also volunteer with this organization. One of the things I really like about Genesis is their personal touch. I felt like they know us and care about us-we are just a client or a donation to them. Genesis is like a family. I did not feel this way with other adoption agencies we investigated.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We are working through our third adoption with Genesis of Pittsburgh and can not express in words the happiness that Genesis has brought into my wife and I's lives. Our house is rarely quiet(usually in a good way) and it is through the kind hearts and hard work of Carole, Nancy and everyone involved with Genesis that it has been possible. They have a passion for their work which comes through, genuinely care about everyone involved in and with the organization and make you feel like a part of a large family within Genesis. ne of the great parts about Genesis is the bonds that you form with other adoptive families and the exposure to other adopted children that your own children receive. Very happy that we chose Genesis nearly 9 years ago as the agency that we went through our adoption journey with.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Miracles still come true. In 1991 and 1995 my wife and I were contacted by GENESIS of Pittsburgh Executive Director Carole McMahon for meetings to discuss our volunteer activities. Over several years we had Chaired the Furniture and Equipment program for the agency. We had Chaired several Adopted Family Fellowship Picnics and Breakfasts with Santa in Eastern Allegheny County. Both of us served as tutors in the Education Program to keep GENESIS residents up with their classmates. These two meetings were different than most. At the end of the 1991 meeting, Carole pulled out a set of footprints and said "I'll be back tomorrow with your son." After the 1995 meeting Carole said "I'll be back tomorrow with your daughter." These two magical sentences changed our lives forever. After years of trying to have children and to adopt children, these two sentences made us parents and created a family. GENESIS of Pittsburgh has spent over thirty years making dreams come true.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers