Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.897965
Write A Review
September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Genesis of Pittsburgh helped my husband and I become a family through their adoption services. We have volunteered for Genesis and always felt a feeling of family at every event. It just seems to be woven into the fibers that make up Genesis of Pittsburgh. No one is ever turned away and help always seems to multiply to make the lives of children and families so much better for having used Genesis' services. Genesis of Pittsburgh helped us realize our dreams to become parents and brought 4 very special children into our lives. For this and so many other reasons, Genesis will always hold a special place in our hearts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

I have volunteered for many years off and on, in many capacities. Services are given to EVERYONE that needs them and in the best and most professional ways. No client is ever turned away. Professional people of all arenas come together and give of themselves for the full benefit of the client, and always with understanding and compassion.

This organization is the most giving I have ever worked with as everyone has and shows their passion in what they are doing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Want them to get more exposure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Genesis is such a great organization that helps young mothers, children and families.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Genesis is a wonderful organization that has done a lot of great things for the community. They have raised a lot of funds throughout the years which has resulted in: Genesis House helps provide housing and education for pregnant mothers in need. They assist with adoptions with the birth mothers and the volunteers which fulfill dreams of raising a healthy, happy baby. The volunteering & fund raising events that I have participated in have been very great experiences for me and my family. I have met a lot of very nice people throughout my journey with Genesis, which I will hold close to heart for eternity. Carole, Nancy & Tricia are the Angles of Genesis which makes the organization even more wonderful to be a part of. Love,
Brenda Stanley

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a volunteer tutor for Genesis House, I see the organization as a 'boost' for young women who've made some poor choices but want to do better. The House's and Center's commitment to making sure these young women finish their high school education and pursue further educational goals to enrich their lives makes it easy for me to volunteer my time and energy to help. Genesis provides tutoring and educational support not only for the women who come to them for a place to stay, but other women in the area who have a home but find they need a helping hand to finish school (or move on to the next level). I highly recommend getting to know Genesis better and supporting their ministry.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been associated with Genesis of Pittsburgh over 30 yrs and have seen support that Genesis offers to individuals to be life changing. Being young , pregnant, scared and no where to go with no money can be very devastating. Genesis is there with no questions asked to take these girls by the hand and offer support such as shelter, food, medical assistance, counseling to help them make the decision as to keep their babies or if they choose to place them with a loving family in the event they cannot care for them. We happen to be a family who was lucky enough to take in a beautiful baby boy 25 yrs ago. We know how hard it was for the mom to give up her precious baby. Genesis was there for her to help assist her before , during and after the baby was born. She was able to go on with her life knowing her baby would have a good home. We want to thank Genesis for all the great things they do in helping these young Moms find their way and for putting smiles on the many faces of families who were not able to have children of their own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had the priveledge of tutoring young pregnant mothers who were residing at Genesis House. The staff at Genesis were wonderful to work with and the teenage girls were a delight. The experience as a whole was very rewarding. I also had the opportunity to assist with planning some of their annual golf outings. The event was very successful and provided much needed money for the agency to help young women in need. This opportunity was also very rewarding as well as fun!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My husband and I hoped to build our family through adoption and had heard wonderful things about Genesis of Pittsburgh.

We liked the idea that Genesis depended on prospective adoptive couples like us to volunteer their time and services to the organization. The folks at Genesis wanted to
get to know us so that they could make the best possible match for everyone involved.

My husband and I jumped into Genesis with both feet. We rolled up our sleeves and worked on fundraisers, organized an adoptive family picnic, helped out with fashion shows, baked special treats for the girls living at the House and stuffed envelopes. We did everything and anything. We made so many friends and we felt that we might be making an impact — making a difference in the lives of these young women.

Through our work with Genesis, we started to see adoption from the birthmothers’ point of view. These young women absolutely love their babies and always will.

We were overwhelmed with the commitment, time and energy that the Genesis staff gave to all the young women, children and families in need of help.

We finally became a family, thanks to Genesis. We adopted our son almost 11 years ago. We continue to be involved with this amazing organization and always will.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My father and I worked with this company for years. We've done everything from pick-ups, remolding their kitchen, to sometimes having the opportunity to spend time with the girls. Genesis has also helped me in my personal life by assisting a friend of mine with donations. Genesis is a wonderful organization ran by people who genuinely care about the support they provide. Genesis is by far one of my favorite oganizations out there, mostly due to the fact they have never deviated from a personal plan of an action with the girls they assist. If your are in need of help, or are looking for a place to invest your time and your money to a good purpose, genesis is a great place to deem success. Not to mention how essential they are to modern society.
Jennifer Zokaites

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I was able to do my internship with Genesis of Pittsburgh this summer and I feel that I have grown both personally and professionally. My supervisor, Amanda Newill, challenged me to maintain and protect the integrity of the clients at all times, allowed me to teach parenting classes, encouraged me through difficult client situations and spent time educating me on pregnancy and parenthood. I had the opportunity to spend quality one on one time with clients, and educated them on decision-making and relationship skills. While most of my internship was spent with clients and with Amanda, I had the opportunity to have many interactions with the other Genesis employees, all of whom genuinely care for each client that walks through the door. I could not have asked for a better internship or served under a better organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my professional and personal life. Professionally, I learned the importance of client confidentiality in and out of the workplace. Personally, I learned new ways to interact and find even more compassion for clients with perspectives different than my own.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want them to have more employees for interns to intern under so that even more interns could be able to serve at Genesis of Pittsburgh!

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers