Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.897965
Write A Review
June 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Genesis of Pittsburgh Inc. has provided my family with so many special gifts. First, it helped us understand that there are many ways to become a family. They provided us with hope, understanding and knowledge about the journey of adoption. Nancy and Carol have dedicated themselves to helping mothers make the decisions that are right for them and their child. They provide these mothers with a safe place to live during their pregnancy and often knowledge,skills and even supplies to be a parent. When the birth mother decides that they are unable to parent they help them to be comfortable and enter into an adoption that they feel is best for the child they brought into this world. My family is blessed with 2 children that we adopted through Genisis. We are thankful for this orgination and the part they have played in so many lives. We are lucky enough to be mom and dad because of Genesis of Pittsburgh Inc.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 8, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have been associated with Genesis of Pittsburgh over 30 yrs and have seen support that Genesis offers to individuals to be life changing. Being young , pregnant, scared and no where to go with no money can be very devastating. Genesis is there with no questions asked to take these girls by the hand and offer support such as shelter, food, medical assistance, counseling to help them make the decision as to keep their babies or if they choose to place them with a loving family in the event they cannot care for them. We happen to be a family who was lucky enough to take in a beautiful baby boy 25 yrs ago. We know how hard it was for the mom to give up her precious baby. Genesis was there for her to help assist her before , during and after the baby was born. She was able to go on with her life knowing her baby would have a good home. We want to thank Genesis for all the great things they do in helping these young Moms find their way and for putting smiles on the many faces of families who were not able to have children of their own.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Not only did Genesis help me give up a baby I had when I was a teenager too young to care for it, when I got my first apartment at age 17 they furnished it for me for free. And years later when I was ready to start a family, they gave me everything I needed for all three of my boys including furniture, clothes, food, toys, coats at Christmas. Every chance I get, I give back because I know everything goes to who really needs it and appreciates it. Nothing goes to waste. They make such a difference, and I will never forget them! I recommend them to everyone in need and ask that friends and family donate to them every chance I get.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had the priveledge of tutoring young pregnant mothers who were residing at Genesis House. The staff at Genesis were wonderful to work with and the teenage girls were a delight. The experience as a whole was very rewarding. I also had the opportunity to assist with planning some of their annual golf outings. The event was very successful and provided much needed money for the agency to help young women in need. This opportunity was also very rewarding as well as fun!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My husband and I hoped to build our family through adoption and had heard wonderful things about Genesis of Pittsburgh.

We liked the idea that Genesis depended on prospective adoptive couples like us to volunteer their time and services to the organization. The folks at Genesis wanted to
get to know us so that they could make the best possible match for everyone involved.

My husband and I jumped into Genesis with both feet. We rolled up our sleeves and worked on fundraisers, organized an adoptive family picnic, helped out with fashion shows, baked special treats for the girls living at the House and stuffed envelopes. We did everything and anything. We made so many friends and we felt that we might be making an impact — making a difference in the lives of these young women.

Through our work with Genesis, we started to see adoption from the birthmothers’ point of view. These young women absolutely love their babies and always will.

We were overwhelmed with the commitment, time and energy that the Genesis staff gave to all the young women, children and families in need of help.

We finally became a family, thanks to Genesis. We adopted our son almost 11 years ago. We continue to be involved with this amazing organization and always will.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I work with Genesis of Pittsburgh in an educational basis. I hold an educational program for expectant mother's / parents to learn that they have options concerning their baby's cord blood. The staff at Genesis of Pittsburgh has always been gracious and very helpful when I have had interaction with them. They are very dedicated to the education of the expectant mother's / parents that they work with. It is a pleasure to be around them and work along side them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 23, 2011

My husband and I started volunteering with Genesis about 5 years ago when we decided we wanted to adopt a baby. We have met alot of lifelong friends that are very dear to us along the way. They are ... more

June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Genesis changed our lives forever! We adopted our beautiful baby girl in 2009. Many of the vounteers that we have met along the way we still keep in touch with and consider many of them and their adopted children part of our extended family! We had the pleasure and privilege to get to know the Genesis staff very well. carole, Nancy and Tricia were so helpful, understanding and very compassionate through the whole process. I would highly reccommend volunteering for Genesis. The rewards of helping them is truly amazing!!!

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Adopting our little girl in 2009.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more information available about adoption and bring back the monthly meetins for families waiting to adopt. they were very helpful for us and made waiting more bareable.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

a freind heard the advertisement on the radio.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To be the best parent I can be.

April 23, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I started volunteering with Genesis about 5 years ago when we decided we wanted to adopt a baby. We have met alot of lifelong friends that are very dear to us along the way. They are people that have been through what we have with infertility and it is so nice to have such a wonderful support group. Not only did we benefit throogh Genesis by adopting our beautiful little girl we got to help a wonderful organization. Our daughter is now 21 months old and we are still involved with the genesis family. Carole, Nancy and Tricia couldn't be more helpful. Carole is referred to as an "angel" in our family.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

We adopted our beautiful daughter through Genesis.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more meetings for the families waiting to adopt and the ones that already have . I loved hearing the stories of the families that were brought together while we were waiting for our miracle.

June 5, 2012

more


1 previous review
April 28, 2011

I have been involved with Genesis for 24 years in varying capacities. I have been a volunteer, an adoptive parent and most recently on the Board of Directors. it is difficult to put into a few words... more

June 5, 2012

I have been involved with Genesis for over 25 years. My nephew, Dan, was adopted through Genesis and he just turned 25 in April! Subsequently, years later, I found that I too could not have children, so both of my children, Christina 17 and Anthony 15 are adopted through Genesis. This organization is amazing to say the least. They are very pro-active to change as the needs of the girls change. I have the privilege of tutoring and counseling some of the girls in the program. The girls are the priority and they are treated with respect, dignity and love. They have made the choice to complete their pregnancy against all odds, whether they choose to parent or place for adoption. That is very brave and hard place to be. Genesis is by their side every step of the way from, housing, to tutoring, to parenting classes to providing clothing, food, diapers, car seats and cribs. They are supported physically, emotionally, spiritually and mentally. I have been proud to be a part of this organization and continue to see the fruits of their love every time I am there. Your support of this organization will help to create a legacy that goes way beyond your highest expectations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Genesis for 24 years in varying capacities. I have been a volunteer, an adoptive parent and most recently on the Board of Directors. it is difficult to put into a few words the impact Genesis has made on my life, my families life and the clients it serves. I have two beautiful teenagers that I adopted through Genesis as babies just a few days old. What a blessing in our lives. I have counseled many girls over the year in various capacities. Some have chosen to parent their children, while others choose to place their children for adoption. The gratitude they express to Genesis fills my heart. From housing, to education, to counseling, to supplies, to lifelong friendships. Just last year (2010) Genesis Counseled 5200 girls!!!! We will never know the complete impact this organization has had on individuals and families this side of heaven. I am honored to serve on the board of an organization with such love, compassion and integrity. I look forward to maybe serving you in the future!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my personal family with two beautiful children that fill my home. I also am an aunt of a Genesis baby. My nephew Dan is 24 years. My best friend is also experiencing the joy of Genesis. She helped out with fostering for Genesis after having 4 grown daughters of her own. Her foster parenting, turned into full-time parenting as she adopted Devin and he is now 5 years old. Her husband, Jim, is having a great time having a son.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

put Genesis Centers in East and West of Pittsburgh too.

June 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My father and I worked with this company for years. We've done everything from pick-ups, remolding their kitchen, to sometimes having the opportunity to spend time with the girls. Genesis has also helped me in my personal life by assisting a friend of mine with donations. Genesis is a wonderful organization ran by people who genuinely care about the support they provide. Genesis is by far one of my favorite oganizations out there, mostly due to the fact they have never deviated from a personal plan of an action with the girls they assist. If your are in need of help, or are looking for a place to invest your time and your money to a good purpose, genesis is a great place to deem success. Not to mention how essential they are to modern society.
Jennifer Zokaites

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I became pregnant with my first Child in February of 2011. In 2008 I had lived in an Apartment building behind the center, and they came to mind when I found out I was going to have a baby. My Husband and I turned to them looking for help with obtaining a crib, car seat, and other supplies for my child. My Husband and I faithfully took classes there and where rewarded "baby bucks" for our participation. We received so many things from them including a brand new car seat, crib, and crib mattress. The Classes provided us with the knowledge we didn't have in order to be great parents. Genesis made a huge difference in my life. Without them I don't know what we would have done!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers