Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.428575
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
January 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization suffers from sever lack of leadership support and founder's syndrome. They lack consideration of their employees. No one should give this organization money or support!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Growing up black and gay in South Los Angeles, wasn't exactly the easiest thing to do. The GSA at my school influenced my life tremendously, I joined the GSA at a pivotal moment in my development which really helped me after i graduated. The acceptance and knowledge that the group provided me with allowed who i was on the inside to finally stand up and show himself on the outside. It inspired me to become an advocate in my community to ensure that other LGBT youth would have a voice as well as role model that looks like them. Thank you GSA!!!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

i am a youth involved with gsa network and volunteering with GSA network gave me a community. The people there care about me, and do so much to make sure that every person is comfortable and has their needs met while at traings. The work they do has amazing impact in schools and other communities, too. GSA network's help has definitely greatly increased how confident and comfortable I feel at school, not to mention making me a much more confident speaker and leader. GSA network is one of if not the thing in my life that I actually really like.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Connecting youth and offering the tools they need to make schools and other spaces safer for LGBTQ youth

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

GSA Network continues to do innovative work with youth and students--their impact is lasting as generations of young leaders further the message and movement of LGBT equality.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

GSAN is amazing! This organization has helped me so much in accepting myself. To go along with that it also gave me a major confidence boost and helped me develop leadership skills that I never had before. This organization has helped so many people and connected numerous lives together to create amazing friendships. I don't know where I would be without the GSAN.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 12, 2012

more

October 12, 2012

I cannot express how grateful I am for GSA network. As a 16 year old they helped me start a GSA at my high school. Today I am honored to serve as a board member. I continue to do the work by being an advisor at the high school where I teach and by serving the community through my masters research.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 29, 2012

more

September 29, 2012

GSA Network has been a leader in supporting LGBTQ and straight ally youth to create positive social change in their schools for years. I have known GSA Network for more than a decade - as a researcher I have been impressed by them because they have been an organization that consistently seeks to study / understand their impact -and adjust their strategies to best meet the needs of youth. They were talking about the role of youth in leading social change long before it was common in the field - and were essentially the first LGBTQ organization to take this lead. And their knowledge / collaboration with scholars has contributed to basic as well as practical knowledge about LGBTQ youth and youth development.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 28, 2012

more

September 28, 2012

My experience with GSA Network has been incredible, and life changing to say the least, from the moment I started working with them. I knew little about myself, and found myself into a depression where the internet was my only escape away from the oppression I had at home and in my hometown. It was through there that I heard about Day of Silence, Harvey Milk Day, and this grand organization called Gay-Straight Alliance Network. In the spring time, I applied to an event called GAYLA, and surprisingly was accepted. I knew nobody from the moment I came in, and four days later left knowing more about myself than I ever had, as well as with life long friendships. Few months later, I was asked to be a regional trainer, as well as sent a board of directors application, and my expectations for myself went flying for the roof. GSA Network does everything possible to make sure transportation is available for you, as well as moving any accommodations needed for you to understand what is going on at the time. Gay-Straight Alliance Network is a really great and empowering non-profit, especially the diversity it has and I cannot wait to see how even greater it turns out to be in the future!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Teens' lives: having the knowledge of power, rights as an LGBT student or ally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

reach out to the less represented areas of California

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Other non-profits via Internet

What is its top priority in the long run?

Empowering and educating youth

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

I am constantly impressed with the youth I meet through GSA Network. GSA Network trains them to be leaders, activist and change agents. It gives me hope for the next generation. Whether they are starting clubs at their school or lobbying at Sacramento, I think how lucky they are to have these experiences so early in their lives. I have great hope that they will continue to speak up and out. I also know that many other states have looked to GSA Network to help give them guidance to start statewide coalitions.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Meeting the youth who have started GSA clubs in their schools, went to activist camp, learned to lobby in Sacramento, went to the White House

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

A friend asked me to be on the host committee for a fundraiser

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers