Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.961545
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I moved to this area in May and one of the first things I did was look for a pregnancy resource center. I had volunteered at one in my home town and knew I wanted to continue volunteering. Upon walking into the center the first time I was greeted warmly and shown around the center. When I expressed my desire to volunteer I was set up with the director and began the application process. Within days I was working as a part of this group. In the short time I have been there, I have seen the genuine care and concern they have for every woman who walks in the door. The dignity and respect they show these women is evident. I have also noticed that EVERY request for help is earnestly met with the resources the organization has or referrals to other organizations that can meet the needs.

As a volunteer I have understood the value of my time with plenty of opportunities to take on new tasks and be a part of a wonderful life-affirming team. This organization is not only wonderful for clients, but for volunteers as well.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Harrisburg is lucky to have such a wonderful caring place that ministers to women during what maybe an incredibly stressful time. The staff and volunteers are so kind, loving, and supportive!
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

GATE is a loving and caring place for women to come together and find help and information about their pregnancy and/or their baby. A place where they can learn, laugh and share about life as a mom. Anything a new mom would need for her baby (up to one year old) is available to her family. Even though I have only been here a short time, I can see that everyone here has a heart for these ladies and their family.
Mary Fainn

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I feel so honored to be able to write a review for GATE PRC, what a great ministry this has become in the last 8 years! This is a wonderful caring place where young women come together and receive support with material resources, pregnancy test, weekly classes, and most importantly love. One never enters the door of GATE PRC without leaving and feeling listen to and loved.
What a life-changing organization.

What a blessing this community has!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

it runs very smoothly

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about Gate from a volunteer of Gate's at one of their yard sales. I had gotten divorced and was using credit cards to get by when I first walked into Gate. I knew that my financial situation was getting worse and having a baby was going to cause things to get even worse and I wanted to try to figure out what to do. I walked into Gate not knowing what to expect. I had never needed help before and I felt a little strange about it. The people who run Gate and the volunteers were so helpful to me. They worked with me on my financial situation along with all the other things Gate does. The resources - baby formula, baby clothes, wipes, diapers, etc. have helped me tremendously to make ends meet in times when I was really struggling. I am so glad I walked into Gate and decided to find out what they are all about. Now I am about to age out as my son will be 1 year old before too long and I feel sad that I will be leaving the program. The classes have helped me to bond with other women, whatever situations we are in. All of us, as clients, want to be the best parents we can be. It's been just a joy to see babies be born and grow and relationships be built. The classes also are a tremendous aid. There are just too many benefits to mention. If you are out there and are having a baby at whatever age, whatever income, please contact someone at Gate and learn more about how they can help you through your pregnancy, birth and raising your child.
February 18, 2014

more

February 18, 2014

I am a client.This center has helped in so many ways. This center gives hope, love, peace of mind, and understanding. I was afraid at first because a lot of centers judge you and make you feel worst than you started before entering. I know for certain this group of workers have a passion for their work. This center is one of the most safe and confidential places that provide help for expecting moms. I would have never accomplished over half the things I done without this team of caring professionals. I thank God for them and I wish and pray that every hand that interacts with this ministry prospers in all walks of life. Thanks for all you all have done.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand this location and put one in every city in the world with more caring staff like this location in Harrisburg N.C.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 16, 2013

more

August 16, 2013

As of September of this year, I will have been a volunteer at GATE for two years. In those two years I have been beyond blessed to serve the mothers and children that come into the doors. I know that GATE is a blessing to others, but it is also a blessing to me: watching young women become inspired to continue to be great mothers is a privledge. I am honored to be part of this wonderful ministry.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more

August 15, 2013

I have volunteered at GATE since the first day the doors were opened. I had my expectations of the impact that it would have on clients and our community, but it has far exceeded my expectations. It is a joy and a blessing to me to serve the wonderful clients that walk through our doors and to work with the dedicated staff and volunteers. This center is truly a bright light to both the clients and the volunteers and I see it on the face of each client that I have the opportunity to serve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

It would be nice for more people to be aware of the Center and the services provided there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 10, 2013

more

August 10, 2013

I was a client over 5 years ago. Gate was there to help with everything I needed for my daughter. I really appreciated everything the ladies have did for me and my children.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

August 9, 2013

more

August 9, 2013

I am a single mother and without Gate I'm not sure what I would have done to prepare for my twins. I was given the opportunity to be one of the first mothers into a really nice consignment sale, not only that, they had given me $70 to shop with! I came out with gently used things for my babies and I was 3 months ready for their arrival. Not once have the wonderful women that volunteer here turned me away, and not once have I felt unloved. They made sure I knew their was no struggle to hard for God in the bible study classes. They also opened the door to other mothers with similar life stories, and some with completely different stories for me to learn from. Most of the women have no idea which ways they motivate and inspire me. My kids are doing great and I am very thankful I have a place to not only help me financially but mentally as well. The volunteers are blessed and I am blessed my family and I can say they are our friends!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help work in our Resource room every Tuesday and Thursday morning or evening.